We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely did not meet expectations...”
Review of Cabot Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cabot Guest House
Ranked #18 of 25 St. John's B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We intended to stay two nights in early August. I had booked online in July, and arrived to find that we were assigned to the basement and had no access to the upper part of the house. The owner did not show up until 9pm and spoke very little English. The basement accommodations included a bathroom built into the closet, complete with bifold door and noisy above ground toilet (installed to save the money and trouble of digging up the foundation). Breakfast was self-serve, with a list of provided food items on the fridge and a note that if the milk seems "off", to let the owner know and he'd replace it. Our sleep was disturbed at 4 am by a fellow guest having some kind of psychotic episode that lasted until we left at 8am and had us petrified... From what I could tell the guests on the upper floors had far superior accommodations, including breakfast prepared by the hosts...

Room Tip: If you feel you must stay here, call directly and insist that you get a room upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard C, Public Relations Manager at Cabot Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

This reviewer never booked at Cabot House.

This reviewer never stayed at Cabot House.

To the best of our knowledge this reviewer never saw inside Cabot House.

We have contacted Trip Advisor to have this review either proved or removed but their policy is to allow anybody to express an opinion whether true or false

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2010

We had a HUGE room in this beautiful B&B, which was great seeing as we were staying quite a while. Our only complaints would be that the linens were all washed with highly scented detergent, and the bed was almost too soft (not good for back problems). The breakfast was quite bad, and the hosts were not very friendly or welcoming at all. However, despite all that we still felt like we got our moneys worth because of how nice our room was and the general location within St. John's.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alkzk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard C, Public Relations Manager at Cabot Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

We are very sorry that we didn't meet your expectations.

We have ended our hot breakfast service and have changed over to a more convenient self serve continental breakfast between 7:30 and 9:30. Dietary habits have changed so much in recent years with many people preferring not to have the smell of cooked pork products or of fishcakes even on the premises. There is a major supermarket complex just around the corner where guests with lactose or gluten intolerance can pick up foods to meet their specific dietary needs. These can be stored in our guest fridge. We should mention, as a cautionary alert, that we often have peanut butter or hazelnut spreads as condiments.

For persons preferring a made to order hot breakfast with multiple selections there is an exquisite restaurant "Hungry Heart Café" just a few hundred feet away from our front door where award winning professional chefs prepare excellent meals at very reasonable prices.

We do not provide front desk services, and make that clear in all of our advertising and listings, but we do have a live in caretaker / concierge on site available to assist guests with luggage during their scheduled working hours.

The providing of tourist information is an ever changing target and best left to professionals. Our guests are provided with City and downtown maps as well as telephone numbers to City and Provincial tourism offices whose staffs have been on familiarization tours to most sites and know their hours of their operation which change by the season, provincial, and municipal holidays. We do provide restaurant recommendations in our comprehensive Guest Manual by price range and type of foods served as well as their telephone numbers for checking their being open or making reservations. These recommendations were compiled from guest feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

I lucked in because of a last minute cancellation. The City was full. I had the master suite. The only other room I saw this size was in Casa Loma in Toronto. It must have been in excess of a thousand square feet counting closet and washroom. I was told that this was the original master bedroom with the original ornate bevelled stained glass windows. Great location, tucked back between the massive Catholic Church and Government House on Military Road

Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
3  Thank AlexanderPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

We stayed there a few weeks ago. The hosts, Mike and Irena were very welcoming and made us feel right at home. The rooms were very nice and were very clean. Regarding location, not bad, a short walk to everything downtown.

Jim in Toronto

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank torontojimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard C, Public Relations Manager at Cabot Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2010

What an estate. I thought Newfoundland was supposed to be a have not Province. I sure got a glimpse of how the have(s) lived. My bedroom must have been 700 sq feet with double Javcuzzi, walk in closet, ornate leaded crystal windows. I think the cieling was perhaps 12 feet high with ornate plaster

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterCraneMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2009

Not the experience we were expecting from a Newfoundland B & B. There was no one around most of the time and when there was, they were not friendly and helpful at all. Breakfast was disgusting, no effort went into at all. The host who cooked the breakfast was very negative about St. John's in general. We would not go back there.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newfie_at_Heart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard C, Public Relations Manager at Cabot Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

We are very sorry that we didn't meet your expectations.

We have ended our hot breakfast service and have changed over to a more convenient self serve continental breakfast between 7:30 and 9:30. Dietary habits have changed so much in recent years with many people preferring not to have the smell of cooked pork products or of fishcakes even on the premises. There is a major supermarket complex just around the corner where guests with lactose or gluten intolerance can pick up foods to meet their specific dietary needs. These can be stored in our guest fridge. We should mention, as a cautionary alert, that we often have peanut butter or hazelnut spreads as condiments.

For persons preferring a made to order hot breakfast with multiple selections there is an exquisite restaurant "Hungry Heart Café" just a few hundred feet away from our front door where award winning professional chefs prepare excellent meals at very reasonable prices.

We do not provide front desk services, and make that clear in all of our advertising and listings, but we do have a live in caretaker / concierge on site available to assist guests with luggage during their scheduled working hours.

The providing of tourist information is an ever changing target and best left to professionals. Our guests are provided with City and downtown maps as well as telephone numbers to City and Provincial tourism offices whose staffs have been on familiarization tours to most sites and know their hours of their operation which change by the season, provincial, and municipal holidays. We do provide restaurant recommendations in our comprehensive Guest Manual by price range and type of foods served as well as their telephone numbers for checking their being open or making reservations. These recommendations were compiled from guest feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2009

We stayed here and it was the first and last time... The so called host was absentee, the place was misrepresented and other guest, who stayed at this place a while ago said that it had a bad rep... I can see why.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gay_guy_travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard C, Public Relations Manager at Cabot Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Two legitimate negative reviews in one month.

Regrettably our live in Manager / Operator was on vacation.

The temporary staff member (breakfast cook) was having personal problems.

When it came to our attention, and we realized that there was no likelihood of improvement, he was dismissed.

We have no idea what was misrepresented. We have tried to have the coined phrase "Bed and Breakfast" removed from advertising. We are more a cross between a high end Guest House and an Inn than a conventional Bed & Breakfast. Ours is not a Mom and Pop operation where guests receive tea biscuits and shared access to a bathroom down the hall.

We have also made changes to our policies.

We have ended our hot breakfast service and have changed over to a more convenient self serve continental breakfast between 7:30 and 9:30. Dietary habits have changed so much in recent years with many people preferring not to have the smell of cooked pork products or of fishcakes even on the premises. There is a major supermarket complex just around the corner where guests with lactose or gluten intolerance can pick up foods to meet their specific dietary needs. These can be stored in our guest fridge. We should mention, as a cautionary alert, that we often have peanut butter or hazelnut spreads as condiments.

For persons preferring a made to order hot breakfast with multiple selections there is an exquisite restaurant "Hungry Heart Café" just a few hundred feet away from our front door where award winning professional chefs prepare excellent meals at very reasonable prices.

We do not provide front desk services, and make that clear in all of our advertising and listings, but we do have a live in caretaker / concierge on site available to assist guests with luggage or household matters during their scheduled working hours.

The providing of tourist information is an ever changing target and best left to professionals. Our guests are provided with City and downtown maps as well as telephone numbers to City and Provincial tourism offices whose staffs have been on familiarization tours to most sites and know their hours of their operation which change by the season, provincial, and municipal holidays.

We do provide restaurant recommendations in our comprehensive Guest Manual by price range and type of foods served as well as their telephone numbers for checking their being open or making reservations. These recommendations were compiled from guest feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 23 in St. John's
613 reviews
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#16 of 23 in St. John's
406 reviews
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 23 in St. John's
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#6 of 23 in St. John's
846 reviews
Rendell - Shea Manor
#1 of 25 in St. John's
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabot Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabot Guest House

Address: 26 Monkstown Rd | Newfoundland and Labrador, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 3T3, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in St. John's
Price Range: $79 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cabot Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer quiet rooms in a refurbished mansion with modern amenities and off street parking for small to mid size cars only. We are pretty much dead center downtown and a 10 to 15 minute walk would take you anywhere from the Sheraton in the east end to the Delta Convention Center / Mile One in the west end with most of the cathedrals, museums, art galleries and restaurants in between. On Military Road, 557 feet to the south of Cabot House, you have: The Rooms Complex (museum, archives, Art Gallery, restaurant) The Colonial Building Commissariat House Government House St. Thomas's Church (the oldest Protestant Church in North America) The Basilica of St. John the Baptist Presentation Convent (housing the veiled Madonna) Breakfast services have ended. The Hungry Heart Cafe is a one minute walk from our front door and has a professional staff on site able to cater to any dietary requirement at modest cost Express check in and check out. Free TV; WiFi; and telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Cabot Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabot Guest House Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing