We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We stayed there a few weeks ago. The...”
Review of Cabot House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cabot House
Ranked #19 of 24 St. John's B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
torntojimmy
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“We stayed there a few weeks ago. The...”
Reviewed 20 July 2010

We stayed there a few weeks ago. The hosts, Mike and Irena were very welcoming and made us feel right at home. The rooms were very nice and were very clean. Regarding location, not bad, a short walk to everything downtown.

Jim in Toronto

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank torontojimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard C, Public Relations Manager at Cabot House, responded to this review, 30 May 2017
Thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    18
    17
    9
    8
See reviews for
4
49
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2010

What an estate. I thought Newfoundland was supposed to be a have not Province. I sure got a glimpse of how the have(s) lived. My bedroom must have been 700 sq feet with double Javcuzzi, walk in closet, ornate leaded crystal windows. I think the cieling was perhaps 12 feet high with ornate plaster

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterCraneMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2009

Not the experience we were expecting from a Newfoundland B & B. There was no one around most of the time and when there was, they were not friendly and helpful at all. Breakfast was disgusting, no effort went into at all. The host who cooked the breakfast was very negative about St. John's in general. We would not go back there.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newfie_at_Heart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard C, Public Relations Manager at Cabot House, responded to this review, 30 May 2017
We are very sorry that we didn't meet your expectations.

We have ended our hot breakfast service and have changed over to a more convenient self serve continental breakfast between 7:30 and 9:30. Dietary habits have changed so much in recent years with many people preferring not to have the smell of cooked pork products or of fishcakes even on the premises. There is a major supermarket complex just around the corner where guests with lactose or gluten intolerance can pick up foods to meet their specific dietary needs. These can be stored in our guest fridge. We should mention, as a cautionary alert, that we often have peanut butter or hazelnut spreads as condiments.

For persons preferring a made to order hot breakfast with multiple selections there is an exquisite restaurant "Hungry Heart Café" just a few hundred feet away from our front door where award winning professional chefs prepare excellent meals at very reasonable prices.

We do not provide front desk services, and make that clear in all of our advertising and listings, but we do have a live in caretaker / concierge on site available to assist guests with luggage during their scheduled working hours.

The providing of tourist information is an ever changing target and best left to professionals. Our guests are provided with City and downtown maps as well as telephone numbers to City and Provincial tourism offices whose staffs have been on familiarization tours to most sites and know their hours of their operation which change by the season, provincial, and municipal holidays. We do provide restaurant recommendations in our comprehensive Guest Manual by price range and type of foods served as well as their telephone numbers for checking their being open or making reservations. These recommendations were compiled from guest feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St. John's hotels

ottawa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2009

We stayed here and it was the first and last time... The so called host was absentee, the place was misrepresented and other guest, who stayed at this place a while ago said that it had a bad rep... I can see why.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gay_guy_travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard C, Public Relations Manager at Cabot House, responded to this review, 1 June 2017
Two legitimate negative reviews in one month.

Regrettably our live in Manager / Operator was on vacation.

The temporary staff member (breakfast cook) was having personal problems.

When it came to our attention, and we realized that there was no likelihood of improvement, he was dismissed.

We have no idea what was misrepresented. We have tried to have the coined phrase "Bed and Breakfast" removed from advertising. We are more a cross between a high end Guest House and an Inn than a conventional Bed & Breakfast. Ours is not a Mom and Pop operation where guests receive tea biscuits and shared access to a bathroom down the hall.

We have also made changes to our policies.

We have ended our hot breakfast service and have changed over to a more convenient self serve continental breakfast between 7:30 and 9:30. Dietary habits have changed so much in recent years with many people preferring not to have the smell of cooked pork products or of fishcakes even on the premises. There is a major supermarket complex just around the corner where guests with lactose or gluten intolerance can pick up foods to meet their specific dietary needs. These can be stored in our guest fridge. We should mention, as a cautionary alert, that we often have peanut butter or hazelnut spreads as condiments.

For persons preferring a made to order hot breakfast with multiple selections there is an exquisite restaurant "Hungry Heart Café" just a few hundred feet away from our front door where award winning professional chefs prepare excellent meals at very reasonable prices.

We do not provide front desk services, and make that clear in all of our advertising and listings, but we do have a live in caretaker / concierge on site available to assist guests with luggage or household matters during their scheduled working hours.

The providing of tourist information is an ever changing target and best left to professionals. Our guests are provided with City and downtown maps as well as telephone numbers to City and Provincial tourism offices whose staffs have been on familiarization tours to most sites and know their hours of their operation which change by the season, provincial, and municipal holidays.

We do provide restaurant recommendations in our comprehensive Guest Manual by price range and type of foods served as well as their telephone numbers for checking their being open or making reservations. These recommendations were compiled from guest feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulf Islands, British Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2009

This B & B is a lovely old Victorian house with a relaxed atmosphere. It was very quiet and comfortable, clean and modernized. A cook came in each morning and made a hot breakfast, but time was limited to 45 minutes each day to get the meal. Monkstown Road is fairly busy, but our back room was quiet and faced other interesting old homes. About my only complaint would be the pillows, which were flat, and the bedding, although of good quality, was getting quite worn. Our room was elegantly proportioned with large windows. The key was left in the front hall for us, and we didn't have to pay until we had breakfast the following morning. They also provided a phone in the front hall with taxi and emergency contact numbers. It was an interesting experience, as we hadn't done a B & B before.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 18karatgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard C, Public Relations Manager at Cabot House, responded to this review, 30 May 2017
We thank you for your kind comments.

We have ended our hot breakfast service and have changed over to a more convenient self serve continental breakfast between 7:30 and 9:30. Dietary habits have changed so much in recent years with many people preferring not to have the smell of cooked pork products or of fishcakes even on the premises. There is a major supermarket complex just around the corner where guests with lactose or gluten intolerance can pick up foods to meet their specific dietary needs. These can be stored in our guest fridge. We should mention, as a cautionary alert, that we often have peanut butter or hazelnut spreads as condiments.

For persons preferring a made to order hot breakfast with multiple selections there is an exquisite restaurant "Hungry Heart Café" just a few hundred feet away from our front door where award winning professional chefs prepare excellent meals at very reasonable prices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#15 of 22 in St. John's
389 reviews
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 22 in St. John's
568 reviews
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#6 of 22 in St. John's
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 22 in St. John's
280 reviews
Downtown
The Elizabeth Manor Guesthouse
Downtown
Gower Street House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabot House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabot House

Property: Cabot House
Address: 26 Monkstown Rd | Newfoundland and Labrador, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 3T3, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabot House 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer quiet rooms in a refurbished mansion with modern amenities and off street parking for small to mid size cars only. We are pretty much dead center downtown and a ten to 15 minute walk would take you anywhere from the Sheraton in the east end to the Delta Convention Center / Mile One in the west end with most of the cathedrals, museums, art galleries and restaurants in between. Our expanded self serve continental breakfast runs from 7:30 to 9:30. Express check in and check out. Free TV; WiFi; and telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cabot House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabot House Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing