We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
14
26
8
2
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
26
8
2
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no elevator boutique hotel double vanity the hotel manager signal hill a great place to stay excellent location downtown pubs
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 62 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2017

The term 'hotel' is a stretch for this place. While the business is centrally located, and the rooms were clean, it was missing basic amenities that one would expect from a hotel: no front desk to speak of, very sparse accommodations and the towels, bedding and bathroom amenities left a lot to be desired. The nightly price was way too high for what you get.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikkiKay97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 17, 2017 via mobile

Visiting St. John's, was told the Franklin Hotel had served a sandwich that we all knew and love (Schwartzwald) we went in and asked if they served lunch and if they had it on the menu. The older man proceeded to tell us in a very biligerent tone that we were 1 of 5 people that asked for it in the last year. He was very rude and was verbally abusive. I called to complain and the same person answered. (Who we found out was the actual owner) he called me a name that cannot be repeated. Please avoid this place at all costs!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
9  Thank veepenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFranklin H, Owner at The Franklin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2017

This young lady came to our hotel reception where we were having a start of the day staff meeting which she broke into. She was not a hotel guest or a potential guest and we had never seen her before. She asked where the restaurant was. When told very politely that we did not have a restaurant she said , with a snarling and offensive tone, curled up lips and a dismissive don't talk to the hand gesture "so...just like that". We didn't understand her need for an argument but responded "not exactly just like that there has not been a restaurant here for some time but we now have a very nice coffee shop.". That seemed to set her off. There was no consoling this aggressive person who raised her voice and began ranting about how far she had come in the expectation of a chicken sandwich. Within minutes the bullying tactics began and she did what bullies do repeatedly phoning the hotel on both our land and cell numbers and now the internet. After her third call in five minutes this out of province traveler was informed in a positive manner that she should stop which she did. The terrorizing of both individuals and businesses by phone and online bullies is dear to our heart and always merits a response. Stop online bullies!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 17, 2017 via mobile

We popped in for a quick look to get some lunch. They happened to be closed which is fine enough as St. John's offers so many options.
We got verbally abused by the staff (and reportedly owner).
We called back to complain and even got more abuse and called derogatory names.
Anyways, with so many other places to choose from stay clear of this place at all costs.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
7  Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2017 via mobile

The Franklin Hotel is the place to stay in St.Johns. This hotel is located right downtown and walking distance to everything you need. Not only is it a great hotel but the owner is FANTASTIC which will make your stay a breeze.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank nelliepops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFranklin H, Owner at The Franklin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2017

Thank you very much. really appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 2, 2017

Lets start with the positives... the location can't be beat! The room was very spacious and had everything we needed. The room was clean, but carpets were stained... there was no top sheet which kinda creeped me out... The hotel management is very difficult to get hold of, we emailed/called multiple times to find out what time check in is but no one responded, check out we just slipped our key under the door. The owner/operator needs to brush up on hospitality/ customer service as it was lacking. Overall we really enjoyed our stay but if you have high expectations for hospitality I would go elsewhere.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews