We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great value, will stay there again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn Airport
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Glace Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
175 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great value, will stay there again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Stayed at the Comfort Inn Airport St John's on mar 12/12. Check in was very quick with very friendly staff. My wife and I had a room with a king bed. Room was outfitted with modern furniture and was clean and fresh. The bed was very comfortable and provided a good night sleep. No issue with noise from other rooms or hallway. Hotel has an onsite restaurant which is quite nice. Location is only a few minutes from the airport.Overall, we were very pleased with the stay and will come back again

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinjspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    119
    53
    11
    10
See reviews for
48
94
26
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
416 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

I have stayed here many times. The location is EXCELLENT in that it is right near the airport. Just about 2-3 minutes from the airport. Great shuttle service at the hotel to get you to and from the airport. Even though it is near the airport, I have never had a problem with noisey airplanes at night.

Hotel is also very near the Trans Canada.

I tried the business class rooms and the new rooms in the new extenstion they put on the hotel recently. No windows that open. I have had to stay in the regular rooms in order to get some fresh air.

The breakfast in the morning is VERY BASIC. Not much to it. If you have an early morning flight, it is great to get something to eat since they start at something like 4 a.m. but clean up by 8 a.m. The 8 a.m. close up for the breakfast is a real problem if you want to sleep in a bit! To me that is a major down side.

The hotel restaurant is fine for breakfast and lunch. Dinners are not that great. Service at this restaurant is really slow. You need to let them know that you have time constraints in order to hurry things along.

The hotel recently put in an elevator system...........fantastic........since many Comfort Inns in Canada do not have elevators.

Very friendly staff. Comfortable beds. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler06232009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

My husband and I stayed here for three nights in January 2012. Overall it was a positive experience, with just a few minor glitches.

We had a king room in the "renovated" section - we requested that based on other TA reviews. The room was large, very clean, and attractively furnished. The mattress, pillows, and linens were all very comfortable. There was a large flat-screen TV with full cable. The bathroom was a reasonable size, though the towels were a bit small and thin.

We found it very quiet in the hotel. We didn't hear any other guests when we were in our room, and we didn't hear any airplane noise at all. However the heater fan normally cycles on and off every 10-15 minutes, so if you're a lighter sleeper I'd recommend you use the "continuous fan" setting at night so that the sound will be constant rather than starting and stopping.

Between our first and second nights the room was totally cleaned, towels replaced (even though we'd hung them up), and even new bars of soap provided. However between the second and third nights the towels were replaced but the tub and sink definitely weren't cleaned. Not a huge deal - however we thought it was a bit odd.

The free breakfast bar was ok, but a bit mediocre. There was toast, bagels, muffins, cold cereal, cold hard boiled eggs, apples, and oranges. One of of the three mornings they ran out of butter and the staff didn't bring more. The coffee was good. The free breakfast bar stops at 8am however you could buy something more at the restaurant as they had longer hours.

The staff were generally very friendly and helpful, with just one exception. There was only one bathrobe in the room - which seemed unusual, but didn't really matter to us as we don't usually use them. However we wanted to be sure that one wasn't missing, as we didn't want to risk getting charged for it. We asked the front desk if there was supposed to be just one, and the staff person got very defensive with us - "king rooms only come with ONE bathrobe - ONE!" Other than that one person though, the other staff seemed great.

We had one supper in the hotel restaurant "Clancy's". It was pretty mediocre both in terms of food and service. It was very slow to arrive (with no explanation), and the quality-check came so late that we had nearly finished our food. The waitress didn't offer drink refills even when she saw that we had empty glasses. The vegetable side-dishes were barely luke-warm, and the flavours of the food in general were quite bland. I'd recommend eating elsewhere if possible.

The one other problem we had was that we had to have our room cards re-keyed twice, which was a bit annoying as it was a long-ish walk from our room to the front desk. The first time they realized that they had only programmed our cards for one night (instead of three). I have no idea what happened the second time.

There's a free shuttle to and from the airport which is very handy. The hotel is very close to the airport, but not very close to anything else.

Overall I would recommend this hotel if you need to be close to the airport - just go somewhere else to eat supper if possible.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the "renovated" section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EllaCat11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
310 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

I had an early flight out of St Johns Airport, so booked this rather dated but fine airport hotel. Had to return rental car and rather than wait for the shuttle just walked the rather bleak 700 meters back to the Hotel. reception was friendly and accomodating and I got a very large room down one remote wing beyond the restaurant. Had fridge and anything I would want, vintage 1984 but well maintained. It is not cheap, but I got an OK internet rate and it was fairly good value considering the rather high hotel prices in St John. Likely not a very convenient base for the city itself...worth paying C$20-30 more and ataying closer to the centre. Quick shuttle to airport at 4:45 am next day.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UKbanker33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Ronge, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

Being close to the airport should be your only reason to stay at this hotel. It's out of the way of everything else, and it's expensive for what is offered. Rooms & bathrooms are decent, restaurant on site, internet, free parking. Basically an average hotel that over charges because it's right near the airport. If you're travelling to St. John's for tourism and activities, stay somewhere closer to the city core or area where you plan to spend most of your time. This hotel is good for super early flights out of town, and for super late night arrivals. That's about it, because there's nothing to do at or near the hotel itself.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gulliver80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarenville, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

I recently stayed at the Comfort Inn Airport for two nights while attending meetings. The second night I stayed on my own dime just for a little R & R. The room was large but dated. I liked the fact that they have a small fridge in the room. The bed was huge and very comfortable. Unfortunately there was a fire alarm at 7:30 AM that woke everyone, including the pets that I was unaware stayed in the hotel. There were other minor issues related to the fire alarm that caused some incovenience but were certainly forgivable under the circumstances. The food was good, service was great and the people first rate.

Room Tip: They do have newer rooms but I was not offered one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RockyWaters69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pearl, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

I found that the service and friendliness of the staff of the Comfort Inn in St. John's, Newfoundland, to be of excellent quality. Extremely friendly, polite, professional, courteous,and helpful. Their attitude toward the customer is genuine and greatly appreciated. The hotel itself is close to the airport which makes it a convenience when travelling for a long time. When you want to rest, there is no long wait to get to the hotel itself.

Room Tip: The entire hotel is a perfect place to stay. All rooms are just as quiet as the next.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JosephLinehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
1.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites St. John's Airport
2.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton St. John's Airport
5.1 km away
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#14 of 24 in St. John's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Extended Stay Canada - St. John's - Downtown
6.0 km away
Ramada St. John's
Ramada St. John's
#10 of 24 in St. John's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
5.6 km away
Murray Premises Hotel
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 24 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Airport

Property: Comfort Inn Airport
Address: 106 Airport Rd | P.O. Box 21142, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1A 4Y3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Canada, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Comfort Inn Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Airport Hotel St. John`s
Comfort Inn St Johns
St Johns Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn St. John's
St. John's Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Airport Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing