We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“I love this hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in St. John's
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I love this hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

I stay in St. John's frequently for work, and the Sheraton is my favourite hotel by far. Beautifully appointed rooms, excellent service, a great kitchen, and amazing views. St. John's itself is a gem, and the Sheraton is the best place from which to explore. Easy walk to the restaurants and shops of Water St. and Duckworth, (and the pubs of George St.!). The hotel itself is lovely and the staff extremely friendly and accommodating. No complaints after many stays here!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sp00kyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    248
    102
    38
    18
See reviews for
77
142
32
273
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newfoundland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

This was our second stay at the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland. Upon arrival, there was a line-up of several guests but the check-in was no more than ten minutes which was suitable. If you show up a little before or after 3 PM you could avoid the line-up.

The hotel was beautifully decorated for the holidays, especially the hotel's famous atrium.

I requested a porthole room and was happy to also get a harbour view. It was lovely to wake up and look out at the Narrows and Signal Hill. The room was quite spacious, and very modern and clean.

We ate at both of the hotel's restaurants, Bivver and Oppidan. As usual, the dining was of excellent quality and reasonably priced. The waiter at Bivver allowed me to order from the Oppidan lunch menu, and the bartender went out of her way to get us a late night snack even though the kitchen was just closing. Breakfast at Oppidan was very tasty. Our waiter, Billy, who has served us before, was a pleasure as always. It's really too bad the condo development across the street has blocked the restaurant's view of the harbour.

I still think the pool is way too cold for my liking. Though, I do understand it's for those using the gym facilities.

If this hotel has one downfall (and it's more the fault of Starwood than the property itself), it's the occasionally confusing and misleading booking process. We wanted to avail of a two night deal that was clearly posted on the hotel's website but Sheraton refused to honour the deal, as did the hotel when contacted directly. A shift manager said that the price given was for demonstrative purposes only, even though this was not stated, and the same deal for other properties listed different prices. He took my information and said he would contact me but never did. In the end, we simply stayed for one night. Not very good business in my books. This is not the first time we encountered misleading offers from Starwood, but it was our first encounter with bad service.

Despite the above-mentioned issues, we had a great stay overall, as always!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BranAndKrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
153 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

The location of the Sheraton Newfoundland is as good as it gets. You can walk to many restaurants and shops and still have the great view of the harbor. My favorite view was at night when all of the lights of St. John's shimmered in the moonlight.

We were upgraded to floor 6 where the club lounge is located so we were able to get free breakfast until 9:30 a.m. There is also a TV and lots of chairs and tables. The club lounge has a lot of drink options as well including cranberry juice. The fruit was fresh and tasty and there was an array of cheese options as well as scrambled eggs, bagels, muffins, etc. They also have Starbucks coffee and tea.

I love how the Sheraton provides free Wifi which is something many hotels charge for nowadays.

The Sheraton Newfoundland also has a gym with a pool, Jacuzzi, cardio equipment (treadmill, elliptical, bikes) and weights with free weights and some machines. All of the that is free and it's open 24 hours a day. How awesome is that? The only downside is that you'll have no excuse not to exercise.

There is plenty of parking and this, too, is free. I honestly can't believe how many free things the Sheraton includes knowing that other large chain hotels charge for every little thing.

When we needed a taxi, there was one there immediately and the taxi drivers were all nice and friendly and personable.

The room we stayed in was clearly updated and nice but my one complaint is that the toilet was not adhered to the floor properly and as such it wobbled around. All toiletries are provided as well including shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, bar soap, a loofah scrunchie, Q-tips, a mini nail file, cotton balls. There was also a clean, comfy robe in the room, an iron and ironing board and a hair dryer.

We were able to watch American TV shows on TV and the king size bed was extremely comfortable.

But the best part about the Sheraton Newfoundland (as if there aren't enough fabulous things already) is the service we received from Imelda McDonald. I don't think I've ever met anyone as helpful, lovely, friendly, welcoming, sweet, and informative as her.

I highly recommend the Sheraton Newfoundland if you're visiting the St. John's/Mt. Pearl area.

Room Tip: Ask to be upgraded to a room on the club lounge floor and a view of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BloatedBelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LDelurey, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, 11 December 2011
What a wonderful review and Thank you for taking the time to share. You have painted a perfect picture with your descriptive words, listing everthing to a T. This is most appreciative. With all of our offerings, location, service and known as, "the hotel'' we feel we have a great product for any guest to enjoy. If you are doing business, joining a conference or just on pleasure. We welcome all guests.

Thank you as well for mentioning Imelda, she is our door person and sure is an ambassador for our hotel. We receive many compliments on Imelda highlighting her warm and welcoming service. We are very proud to have her on our team as she provides fantastic great service and is a person I have to say, "loves greeting and taking care the needs of guests". Guest satisfaction is her number one priority. I will certainly pass along your compliment to her and will share with our Management Team as well.

I am sorry to hear you had a issue with your toilet and trust that it was reported and dealt with in a timely manner.

Again, Thank you for all your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Laura Delurey, Guest Services Supervisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

I agree with the previous postings. We have been coming to this site for a few decades on business. We mourn the old Fairmont corporate management style. What corporate guru closed the major restaurant and made it into an internet cafe? This morning we went for breakfast and were told it was the Santa parade and they were overbooked with reservations. Many of the tables remained empty during our breakfast...so why the big deal and not just sit us. Menu came after half an hour and had to be asked for. Food came another half hour later. The staff made it clear they were overworked.

Room Tip: Stay at the hotel but go elsewhere for your meals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Icelandvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Stonington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

I travel a lot and I know I stay at a good hotel when it feels like I am staying at my own home. Well Sheraton Newfoundland you did it! I loved the service from the front desk, amazing people, friendly and always willing to help! This aesthetically pleasing hotel should be your first choice when staying in St. John's, Newfoundland.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 391bustrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

Upon arriving we got 'up graded' to a room with a king bed and a view of signal hill. The problem was the room was tired and musty smelling. The next day we went back to the desk to see if there was anything better. Hilary at the desk hooked us up with a nicer renovated room, same great view & king bed.

So ask for an upgraded room, you'll know if u have one by the leather tiled wall. The view doesn't hurt either!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaritimeExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

Sheraton Newfoundland is the best place to stay when you visit St. John's NL.
You'll enjoy the harbor view (must ask before you go to your room), its near water & George Streets (a must see in town), staff are very very friendly and helpful, and you'll enjoy the hotel shops.

Room Tip: choose harbor view rooms and floor 4 and above!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lumamahdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#2 of 24 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 24 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#15 of 24 in St. John's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland

Property: Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
Address: 115 Cavendish Sq, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 3K2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#6 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking St. John's historic harbour, Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland offers travelers a wealth of amenities all within easy reach of the historic city's myriad attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton St Johns
Sheraton Hotel St Johns
Fairmont St. John's
St. John's Fairmont
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing