We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trusted hotel in Newfoundland, great view of the Harbour but the food is lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level Contributor
140 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Trusted hotel in Newfoundland, great view of the Harbour but the food is lacking”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I travel to this hotel for business. It has been in St Johns for many years and has a good reputation. The big plus for this hotel is the staff. Everyone is very friendly and will go out of their way to do anything for you. This is definately their best asset.
The rooms are a good size with very, very comfortable beds and very clean. WIFI also in the room with extra facilites in the main lobby.
The hotel bar is also very friendly and as a women travelling on her own on business I feel comfortable sitting there. You can get bar meals in the bar which is a better option than the restaurant which is very overpriced for poor quality food.
Overall a good business hotel to stay at.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the higher floors as you get an excellent view of the harbour. I also bele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottkelly53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LDelurey, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Good Day and Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We are happy to read for the most part that you enjoyed your stay and have passed along some great feedback. Thank you for your continued business as we appreciate this very much. Our staff are a big part of our overall success and it is comforting to know that our guests feel the same way. The size of our rooms and the WIFI is definately an asset and ones that many guests express positively about. We are sorry to hear of your displeasure with the food quality/price in our restaurant. We have received many compliments on our restaurant and the quality of food so this is concerning that you did not have this same experience, as well. Again, Thank You for your review and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Laura Delurey, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    286
    109
    42
    19
See reviews for
86
154
36
336
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
228 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed here for three nights and look forward to returning again in the future. We booked a harbor view room which was worth it. They upped our room to a higher floor and we loved the complimentary food in the hospitality room which was excellent.
Staff was friendly and helpful. We booked the deal for regular price one night and the following two nights for price of age, which worked out to a bargain for a hotel of this quality.
Our only complaint was that the hot tub was approaching a sauna or hot springs in temperature, and even after two nights it stayed the same. They apologized and said they were working on it. Other than that, the entire stay was perfect. It was a pleasure to have a room without any problems and the area of the hotel we booked in was quiet as we asked. I checked other hotels on trip advisor and chose this one after looking at all of them. My husband and I loved it here. Thank you Trip advisor for all the reviews!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from elevators, soda machines, and party areas- and as high up as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank augweddedbells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I have stayed at over half a dozen different hotels in St Johns and this is by far the best in terms of service, cleanliness and value for money.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmtreloar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LDelurey, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, 12 February 2012
Thank you taking the time to post you comments on your experience at our hotel. It's important to us to know how our guests feel. We look forward to Welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Stayed for six nights – business travel.

Pros:

Renovated room, facing the harbour – spectacular view and standard Sheraton in-room amenities. Friendly front desk staff.

Every area of the hotel, from lobby, to lounge, to rooms was impeccably clean.

Good restaurants nearby and felt safe for female to walk along to and from hotel in evening.

Cons:

Room service, meeting catering and the restaurant food is quite frankly, some of the worst I and my work colleagues have ever been served. It became a joke over the course of our stay if someone was desperate enough to order room service more than once (I unfortunately was one of them). We all quickly learned where the closest Tim Hortons was located.

You will wait. Wait for someone to appear at the front desk, wait for someone to help with shipping or luggage, wait for a server, wait for the elevator, wait to have meeting room opened ….

If you stay: insist on renovated, harbour view room.

If your business is not downtown, you might find the same level of comfort and service closer to your business area and in motel style accommodations – better value for your dollars.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mauigal06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LDelurey, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Hello, and thanks for your feedback.
We appreciate hearing both pros and cons of your stay.
We are glad to hear you enjoyed the view from your room. Our staff is our pride; we are certainly glad to hear of your praise for them! While we cannot take credit for it, it’s also very nice to know you felt safe walking around in our city.

If I may take a moment to apologize for the downside of your stay. We do our best to keep wait times in all aspects of our hotel to a minimum. It does not seem we lived up to this in your case. In busy times, waits can increase, though hopefully not substantially. We do our best to keep them to a minimum. It is unfortunate you did not find this. Efforts are being made to rectify this matter.

Quality of food is as well important to us, so we encourage such concerns to be bought to our attention for immediate follow up.

We feel we offer the best value on the dollar in the city. Our location and accessibility are second to none. We’re 15 minutes drive from any location in the city including Memorial University, downtown and government buildings. No one else offers the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper system, easily the best night’s sleep you’ll have away from home!

Once again, thank you for your feedback. It is our hope the positives outweighed the negatives and we hope you’ll visit us again and note improvements in the areas you feel we were lacking.

If you would like to discuss furhter, we welcome your call.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Newfoundland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We have stayed here numerous times and we are writing to say there was an improvement and share a couple tips.
We stayed here New Years and given the time of the year and date it was a great stay. The food and staff continue to be amazing, Club level continues to be well worth the money.
One improvement since our last review was better enforcement at the pool. Staff were actively ensuring the maximum capacity was not exceeded and keeping the parents (thus children) in check.
Tips
When staying at any hotel New Years Eve, bring some ear plugs!
Lastly, the hors d'oeuvres in the Club Lounge are just that. They're for everyone and not supposed to be a main entree that's piled high.

Room Tip: Club Level IS worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UberDINKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LDelurey, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, 14 January 2012
Excellent comments and Thank you for sharing. Thank you as well for choosing our hotel for New Year's Eve and delighted to know you enjoyed your stay. Feedback is so important as it lets us know how our guests feel and think of our hotel and service. We are proud of our hotel and the service we provide. Particularly our Club floor and happy to see you enjoyed it as well. The offering of extra amenties such as the Deluxe Continental Breakfast, hot and cold hors d'oeuvre, private lounge, snacks, Club concigere etc. makes it very worthwhile and an experience that's sure to be memoriable. We are happy your experience in the pool was positive and the approach we took this year worked better for everyone. New Year's Eve is becoming more and more a family event and as a hotel we like to think that we accomodate all and that everone's expectations are met. Again, Thank You for your feedback and hope we can look forward to welcoming you back soon. Laura Delurey, Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

My family and I spent three nights as this hotel. On the first morning, we went downstairs for breakfast. There were no staff in the restaurant, but a few people eating. Our son helped himself to fruit loops and I took a croissant. We all took some orange juice. The lady serving appeared and we asked for some eggs, bacon and toast for three. When I picked up my croissant, it was so hard, if I threw it at the window the glass would have shattered. The lady returned and informed us that because we had taken some items from the buffet-style table she would have to charge us for breakfast twice, each!!! We ended up paying nearing $100.00 for a few eggs, fruit loops, toast and bacon. A totally extortionate price for what was really a rather poor meal.

Overall, the hotel was clean and comfortable. The staff were nice, but when I complained about the breakfast at checkout the woman at the desk did nothing other than state that she agreed that their breakfast was not particularly good. Another complaint, there is no milk in the rooms to use for your morning coffee, and instead you get coffee whitener, which is not very nice at all.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank P L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LDelurey, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, 14 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and I would like to sincerely apologize for your experience. I can assure you this is certainly not typical for our restaurant and we are very concerned with this happening. The quality of our food and service is first and foremost therefore your concerns are been taken very sersiously. I welcome an opportunity to discuss in person if you would like to contact me. Laura Delurey, Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarenville, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed at the Sheraton for New Year's Eve by chance as it was the only downtown hotel that we could get at the last minute, but we are really glad we did. The hotel itself had a beautiful atmosphere, very clean and inviting. The room was clean, comfortable, and spacious with a nice harbor view. The staff during check-in and out was very friendly and efficient (no long wait despite a very busy day at the hotel). The same can be said for the room service and lounge staff. We would have liked to have spent more time at the hotel and try the fitness center/pool area and check-out some of the other amenities at the hotel, but we had plans for the evening. The location was perfect for walking down to Quidi Vidi Lake to see the fireworks and then head downtown for some dancing. The Bivver lounge had a nice, relaxing atmosphere to enjoy a few cocktails, but unfortunately we were pressed for time so, stayed for just one. The food we had for room service was really good with a nice portion size, although the desserts were quite small (not uncommon for upscale hotels). All and all, a great experience and we are already booked for two separate occassions at the club level in the near future.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor with a harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LDelurey, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, 14 January 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We are happy to know we could accomodate you on New Years Eve and that you were able to enjoy the evening and festivities. It's also great to know that your check- in, check-out, visit to the lounge and taking advantage of In Room dining were all posiitive. We are proud of our hotel and the product and service we offer. It's great feedback to read and always reinforces the great service our staff are known for. Being in the downtown area makes us a great location to stay for New Year's Eve as we are close to the Fireworks which is a very important event of the evening. Overall we are delighted to know that your stay was enjoyed and we look forward to being of continued service. Laura Delurey, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#2 of 22 in St. John's
268 reviews
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 22 in St. John's
556 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#15 of 22 in St. John's
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland

Property: Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
Address: 115 Cavendish Square, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 3K2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. John's
#6 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history and built on the site of the old Fort William, our downtown St. John’s hotel captures the vibrant and colorful atmosphere of one of the oldest cities in North America. Overlooking historic St. John's harbor, the Narrows and at the base of Signal Hill the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland is the premiere location for business, conference and leisure travelers alike. Situated on the doorsteps of Jellybean Row and within walking distance of all the boutique and local craft shops and the legendary George Street our position is unrivalled in the city. The Sheraton Newfoundland also boasts the Oppidan Restaurant and the Bivver Bar serving the most sought after local cuisines and even Iceberg Beer. For the active work out in our state-of-the-art fitness center or take a dip in our indoor pool. Whatever your reasons for travelling to St John’s the Sheraton Newfoundland is your place to call home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton St Johns
Sheraton Hotel St Johns
Fairmont St. John's
St. John's Fairmont
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing