We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (584)
Filter reviews
584 results
Traveller rating
193
219
122
40
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
193
219
122
40
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews front desk avalon mall fridge and microwave clean rooms up to date free wifi comfortable bed home away from home room was large business trip pj st downtown shuttle luggage newfoundland johns
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 584 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2018

What a great location, near the Avalon Mall. Room was huge. Comfortable bed. For such a large room, bathroom was a little small but enjoyed my shower nonetheless. Breakfast was delicious. Who wouldn’t want Toutons with molasses? Delish! Tea was terrible though. Front reception was beautiful, felt important almost movie style. However, the hallways could use a coat of neutral paint and not Grandmas Livingroom colours. Please get rid of the carpets, they harbour such allergens. I enjoyed my stay and would recommend. Hopefully they’ll update the hallways/carpets. But it’s a great place to stay.

Room tip: Rooms are Big. Breakfast is Delicious, order the Toutons with Molasses lol
Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank NickelCity2TheRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chayden2017, Manager at Ramada by Wyndham St. John's, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2018

Hello NickelCity2TheRock,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us and your fellow Trip Advisor travelers. We really appreciate your honest opinion and will take all suggestions into consideration in order to improve our guest experience. We're happy to see you enjoyed our oversized rooms as we made a conscious decision to provide our guests with the extra room to make them feel more comfortable. Come back and visit us again soon.

Regards,
Chris H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 18, 2018

This hotel is fantastic! Clean rooms, very friendly staff, and the meals at P. J. Billington's (the onsite restaurant) are great! Location is good even if you don't have a vehicle. Our average cab rides were about $20 including tip to get downtown. Would definitely stay here again!

Room tip: We were on the third floor and it was great, no issues at all. Ramp available from lobby to first floor and elevators.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank alfredisnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chayden2017, Manager at Ramada by Wyndham St. John's, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2018

Hello alfredisnot,
We are delighted to see you had such an outstanding visit with us and hope to see you again. Our central location is definitely appreciated by our guests as we're so close to shopping at the Avalon Mall, the university and hospital while being close yet just far enough away from the busy downtown. We will make sure to pass along your kind words to our wonderful staff.

Regards,
Chris H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2018

indeed it was a value addition to get a room fully equipped with kitchen. Ramada by Wyndham is value for money. Travelers who are restricted to vegetarian food are likely to suffer. At the hotel the complimentary breakfast is NOT provided. The staffs are friendly.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rmuralik1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chayden2017, Manager at Ramada by Wyndham St. John's, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2018

Hello rmuralik1972,
We're happy to see you had such an outstanding visit and were able to make use of our Efficiency Suites. Our long stay guests really love them as it affords them the ability to make their own meals as opposed to dining out all the time. While it is true we do not have breakfast included with our rate all guests do receive a voucher for $10 off breakfast which is also the starting point for our menu options. We hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
Chris H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2018

Got a great deal for 3 nights here. Room was big and had what we needed: fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Beds were comfortable. Ate at restaurant one morning and food was delicious. Asked for a late check out as we were catching a late flight and they accommodated us. So pleased with this stay!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Lpeddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chayden2017, Manager at Ramada by Wyndham St. John's, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2018

Hi LPeddle,
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with such a glowing review. We really appreciate the honest feedback as it allows us to celebrate our successes and identify areas for improvement. We are happy to see the fact we have fridges, microwaves and coffee makers in every room was of benefit to you. We hope to have you come back and stay with us again soon and/or dine at our on site restaurant, PJ Billington's.

Regards,
Chris H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2018

Room was big and spacious, beds are very comfortable,. Elevator needs a face lift.. Staff was friendly centrally located restaurant on site complimentary breakfast would have been great as most Wyndham offer this or a pool to entertain children

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 252sharlenew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chayden2017, Manager at Ramada by Wyndham St. John's, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2018

Hi 252sharlenew,
We're very happy to see you enjoyed your visit with us and that you enjoyed our famously comfortable beds. The only thing our guests love more than our beds are the amazing staff that we are lucky to have. Hopefully we get to see you again very soon.

Regards,
Chris H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews