We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn St. Johns
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in St. John's
Reviewed 4 March 2017

I came here with my four children because of the water slide and nice pool. I fully expected them to be packed full but the weekday crowds were okay. The children love it for this and the water slide was one to remember. For the adults it was a holiday inn like any other, exactly what you would expect. Breakfast was busy even on a weekday, but good food. Noise was a little issue, but the service took good care of it. This was a very affordable and enjoyable stay in SJ's very close to Cape Spear.

Room Tip: Stay away from the Elevators to keep away the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Silver C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman V, Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Hi Silver C,

Thank you so much for your feedback.

We are delighted to here you enjoyed your stay with us and your children were able to take advantage of our pool and dual water slides. It is definitely popular for both kids and adults alike. As well happy to hear that despite breakfast time being busy that you did enjoy your meal.

We welcome you back to our hotel in the future!


Warm regards,

Shannon D.
Operations Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

I've been at the hotel for 6 days and have had great service. The staff are really nice and pleasant. The shower and toilet is a little dated but really clean. My room has a mini fridge built in to the entertainment-dresser media console and up to date. The only thing that I have not liked is the lack of movie channels and quality cable TV. The TV is a lower quality Phillips but has reasonable HDTV. The heating is thermostatically controlled and is very accurate and really quite. Overall I would recommend this hotel for business travelers and families alike.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
Thank Norm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman V, Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Hi Norm H,

Thank you so much for your comments.

We're so happy to hear that our staff are friendly, we will be sure to pass along the kind feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the HDTV despite lacking any of your favorite channels. So delighted that the heating in your room was quiet and very accurate, your quality of sleep is very important to us and we're happy that we were able to meet your needs.

We welcome you back again in the future!


Warm regards,

Shannon D.
Operations Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017

My daughter recently stayed at your hotel with a group visiting Newfoundland for a skating clinic. Her stay was supposed to be 2 nights but was extended to 5 nights due to poor weather and flight cancellations. We heard nothing but good things about how wonderful your staff was in accommodating this group of children for several days. You went above and beyond to ensure that their extended stay was a great experience. Wonderful hospitality !

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bdn440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

Even though we made reservations long in advance not one employee we interacted with advised us of the breakfast that is served at the East Side Marios. We had to learn that the on our last night from other guest. The new pool was nice but a poor design each time anyone comes down the slide a pool of water is left on the floor building up until staff have to move it with brooms to drains. Never been impressed with the staff at this location.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Nunatsuak27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman V, Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2017

Hi Nunatsuak27,

Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts and experiences of your recent stay with us.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortfalls in you not being made aware of the restaurant hours including breakfast.

I am surprised to hear of an issue with water being splashed onto the floor after sliding as we recently did a re-design to prevent this from happening. We will certainly investigate this further.

As well I would encourage at any time during your stay to contact our Guest Service department which is staffed 24 hours for your convenience for anything you may need or any issues you may have. Alternatively I welcome any feedback to be directly to our management team to ensure a quick resolve.

We welcome you back in the future where we can fully exceed your expectations.


Warm regards,

Shannon D.
Operations Coordinator



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2017

I find it convenient when I visit SJ to stay here. the service and accommodations are consistent as well as very good. Check in and out is very quick and efficient. lots of convenient parking space near enough to the business community.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman V, Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2017

Hi Brent C,

Thank you so much for your comments. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and pleased with the service and accommodations as well as the parking.

We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback and welcome you back in the future.


Warm regards,

Shannon D.
Operations Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

The best thing about this hotel is the super friendly staff! They will answer any question and full fill any need! We had a problem with our bathtub and they sent the plumber immediately! Though the rooms really need renos, the bathrooms and sink area are just way too small a bigger person might find it uncomfortable!
The beds were comfortable and nice pillows

Room Tip: View of the pond and park in the back is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lucy Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman V, Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2017

Hi Lucy Q,

Thank you so much for your comments. We are thrilled to hear you found our staff super friendly and able to fulfill your needs during your stay. I am saddened to hear of the trouble with your bathtub but am glad to hear it was rectified immediately.

We are excited to announce we will be beginning renovations in the spring that will see a new fresh look to the rooms and lobby.

Again, thank you so much for taking the time to provide your feedback.

We look forward to seeing you in the future!


Warm regards,

Shannon D.
Operations Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2016

This is an older facility that needs a renovation but in spite of that I would still rate this as an excellent hotel simply because of the staff we encountered during our one week stay. They really understand pleasing the customer!

The first room that we were placed into on the fourth floor had a worn bed that made it difficult to get a good sleep and a tiny washroom. We mentioned this to the front desk staff in the morning and without prompting they offered to switch rooms. The second room was much better; comfy beds, quiet and much larger washroom.

Our room was cleaned, the beds remade and things restocked daily by the cheerful housekeeping crew. These employees left a positive impression too.

Their business center is equipped with two desktop computers and a couple of empty desks in case you need to connect your laptop to the printer that is in the center.

The attached restaurant, East Side Mario's, was a disappointment and I would not recommend eating there. One meal would be good, the next poor and one was inedible. Even the wonderful wait staff could not compensate for the food.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bacchus56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman V, Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2016

Hi Bacchus56,

Thank you so much for your comments. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you received great service from our staff and that they were able to re-accommodate you to a more comfortable room. We are saddened to hear of your experience with our attached restaurant. We will ensure your feedback is provided to our Food and Beverage team.

Again, thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.


Warm regards,

Shannon D.
Operations Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Ramada St. John's
#9 of 24 in St. John's
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#5 of 24 in St. John's
862 reviews
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 24 in St. John's
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn St. Johns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn St. Johns

Address: 180 Portugal Cove Rd, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1B 2N2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in St. John's
Price Range: $137 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn St. Johns 3.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer Pool & Water Slides Hours: Water Slides: Monday-Friday 5pm-9pm, Saturday/Sunday 9am-9pm Pool: Daily 9am-9pm The Hotel is located just minutes from St. John’s International Airport (YYT) and local Government Offices including the Confederation Building. If you plan on heading into the heart of St. John’s, we are just a short drive to Downtown St. John’s. On site amenities including two 165 Ft waterslides, indoor swimming pool, fitness centre, on-site guest laundry facilities, complimentary parking and high-speed internet access. Thinking of dining options? Stop into East Side Mario’s, our on-site restaurant. As always with the Holiday Inn brand, Kids Under 12 Eat Free (ask hotel for details). Travelling with your trusty companion? Our hotel is pet-friendly so you can bring the entire family along. The Holiday Inn St. John’s is situated near Janeway’s Children’s Hospital and the Health Sciences Centre. If you are in the area to visit the Marine Institute, we are conveniently located 5 minutes away. Other local places of interest include, Memorial University, Pippy Park and Fluvarium. Whether you are travelling on business or leisure, the Holiday Inn St. John’s Conference Centre is the perfect place to stay while you visit the St. John’s area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn St. Johns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St. Johns Hotel St. John`s
Holiday Inn St. John's
St. John's Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn St. Johns Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing