We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real classy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn St. Johns
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in St. John's
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

We have been staying here for last 4days.The topography is perfect ,rooms facing the long sky .The staff here are sensitive and responsive! Has a long parking space and like many other high ended hotel has facilities for laundry ,self driven ,apart from a huge lobby and a restaurant.The only problem for vegetarians like US is limited availability of food ,to be content with breads ,fruits and juices ,never mind !
Had a peaceful,relaxed stay !

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank ANMahusudan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon-D-HI, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Hi ANMahusudan,

Thank you for your comments.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our amenities offered as well as our staff being responsive to your needs. Thank you for your feedback regarding the restaurant selection, we will ensure to pass along the suggestions.

We look forward to your next visit with us!

Warm regards,

Shannon D.
Operations Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn St. Johns
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2017

We ended up here for a week after our camping option at Pippy Park failed to meet expectations and we’d splurged for a night at the Sheraton. So we were initially a bit shell-shocked. Some areas of this hotel look a bit old and tired, there are definitely maintenance issues. But the biggest initial difference is the staff. Whilst they try to be as helpful as possible, were very friendly and responded well to all requests for assistance, I’m not sure the professional attitude and attention to detail is there to make this a great stay rather than a good or ok stay. The person who checked us in moaned about computer issues and other staff. Other reception staff directed us across town to a supermarket and two days later we discovered one two blocks from the hotel in the opposite direction. We asked about bus routes near the hotel and again were given incomplete information. If the price point of this hotel does not stretch to a concierge, the least the management could do is provide a “cheat sheet” to staff to enable them to accurately respond to guest queries.
Similarly, there is information everywhere advising guests to keep valuables safe, not left in your car or in your room, but our room didn’t have a safe. When we enquired about putting our laptop in the reception safe for the day whilst we were out, we were told it wasn’t big enough. Not sure how they expect you to keep valuables safe then?
We were pleased to see an environmental policy in place regarding the changing of towels only on request. Unfortunately, the staff seemed to ignore this policy and refreshed the room with new towels and toiletries every time they came into the room to clean.
Having said all that, the hotel is in a good location with good transport links, a great bed, tv, plenty of space, a fridge, microwave on request and our stay was still definitely good value for money compared to the alternatives. So, a reasonable, if flawed, travel stop.

Room Tip: some rooms face Kenny's Pond with a view up to Signal Hill e.g. 453
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DadandCab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

Great value for the cost. Enjoyed the waterslide and pool with the kids for 2 days and the kids ate supper and breakfast buffet for free when adults had their meals. Really enjoyed our stay and had a comfortable night stay. Great for families.

Room Tip: 1st floor is closer to the pool & seemed popular with families who wanted access to the pool/wat...
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

I was there with a team of 25 young women and we really enjoyed the experience. The accommodation was very good and the staff were warm and friendly. The only negative was the breakfast buffet. It is expensive and truly inadequate. No fresh fruit, no pastries and the eggs every day were watered down. Not worth the $15 person

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveKMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

Spend one night , my room was even colder than outside (6 C) and AC was at full blast...
Decoration is a little dating...
Breakfast in the morning is a rip-off at Mario's... 20$ for freaking eggs and toast+ bacon...
Had to wait more than 5 minutes as the lady at the reception was eating donuts in the back office and speaking with a colleague.
requested specifically a quiet location and they gave assigned me a room next to the elevator.. What is the point of making special requirements if they are not taken into account???
Will definitely stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GUYGEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

Not impressed. I use to love this place but it's really starting to show its age, it needs a complete overhaul except the pool and fitness room which is new. The room smells musty, Bathrooms are dirty, the thermostats are so old they are in Fahrenheit. No hand sanitizer in any of the dispenses in the building, the two part bathroom sucks and is so small I can't even sit on the toilet with the TP rolls there, and I can't stand up in there or my head will hit the shower curtain rod which angles out past the tub over the toilet. I tried to use the freezer part of the bar fridge and it was blocked with frost. Maybe never defrosted and cleaned. I will not be returning here again!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Mountainmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon-D-HI, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Hi Mountainmax,

Thank you so much for your feedback.

We are saddened to hear of your overall experience with your visit. I do apologize for the delay in replacing the hand sanitizer as it was a delay in receiving an order. I am happy to announce that all dispensers have been refilled. As our hotel was build in the 60's it was based on a European model which had the split bathroom/wash basin area.

I am truly sorry to hear of the short falls during your last stay but certainly encourage you at any time to reach out to our Guest Services, which is staffed 24 hours, should you require anything or have any concerns.

We do welcome you back again, where I'm sure we can provide the service expected and that we are known for.

Again, thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback, it indeed is invaluable.


Warm regards,

Shannon D.
Operations Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017

We enjoyed this hotel—We had only planned to stay one night but we were impressed with the good service and friendly staff so we stayed an extra night—The hotel is conveniently located close to downtown St. John’s and near many attractions and we enjoyed our view of Signal Hill. The hotel also has a most impressive swimming pool with a large indoor slide for kids. It looks like fun. The restaurant offers a good selection of tasty food and good happy hour prices. We enjoyed our meal and service.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ramada St. John's
#9 of 22 in St. John's
541 reviews
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#15 of 22 in St. John's
404 reviews
Comfort Inn Airport
#10 of 22 in St. John's
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn St. Johns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn St. Johns

Address: 180 Portugal Cove Rd, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1B 2N2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in St. John's
Price Range: $141 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn St. Johns 3.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer Pool & Water Slides Hours: Water Slides: Monday-Friday 5pm-9pm, Saturday/Sunday 9am-9pm Pool: Daily 9am-9pm The Hotel is located just minutes from St. John’s International Airport (YYT) and local Government Offices including the Confederation Building. If you plan on heading into the heart of St. John’s, we are just a short drive to Downtown St. John’s. On site amenities including two 165 Ft waterslides, indoor swimming pool, fitness centre, on-site guest laundry facilities, complimentary parking and high-speed internet access. Thinking of dining options? Stop into East Side Mario’s, our on-site restaurant. As always with the Holiday Inn brand, Kids Under 12 Eat Free (ask hotel for details). Travelling with your trusty companion? Our hotel is pet-friendly so you can bring the entire family along. The Holiday Inn St. John’s is situated near Janeway’s Children’s Hospital and the Health Sciences Centre. If you are in the area to visit the Marine Institute, we are conveniently located 5 minutes away. Other local places of interest include, Memorial University, Pippy Park and Fluvarium. Whether you are travelling on business or leisure, the Holiday Inn St. John’s Conference Centre is the perfect place to stay while you visit the St. John’s area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn St. Johns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St. Johns Hotel St. John`s
Holiday Inn St. John's
St. John's Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn St. Johns Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing