We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland(St. John's)(Great Value!)
US$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
US$93
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$137/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Book now, pay at stay
US$144
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$151/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada by Wyndham St. John's(St. John's)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$121
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 by Wyndham St Johns(St. John's)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
JAG(St. John's)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$143
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveller rating
49
78
68
29
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
78
68
29
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskids eat freewater slidescoffee makerup to datethe ground floormini fridgesignal hillairportdowntownstcanadawashroom
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 232 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2017

We ended up here for a week after our camping option at Pippy Park failed to meet expectations and we’d splurged for a night at the Sheraton. So we were initially a bit shell-shocked. Some areas of this hotel look a bit old and tired, there are definitely maintenance issues. But the biggest initial difference is the staff. Whilst they try to be as helpful as possible, were very friendly and responded well to all requests for assistance, I’m not sure the professional attitude and attention to detail is there to make this a great stay rather than a good or ok stay. The person who checked us in moaned about computer issues and other staff. Other reception staff directed us across town to a supermarket and two days later we discovered one two blocks from the hotel in the opposite direction. We asked about bus routes near the hotel and again were given incomplete information. If the price point of this hotel does not stretch to a concierge, the least the management could do is provide a “cheat sheet” to staff to enable them to accurately respond to guest queries.
Similarly, there is information everywhere advising guests to keep valuables safe, not left in your car or in your room, but our room didn’t have a safe. When we enquired about putting our laptop in the reception safe for the day whilst we were out, we were told it wasn’t big enough. Not sure how they expect you to keep valuables safe then?
We were pleased to see an environmental policy in place regarding the changing of towels only on request. Unfortunately, the staff seemed to ignore this policy and refreshed the room with new towels and toiletries every time they came into the room to clean.
Having said all that, the hotel is in a good location with good transport links, a great bed, tv, plenty of space, a fridge, microwave on request and our stay was still definitely good value for money compared to the alternatives. So, a reasonable, if flawed, travel stop.

Room Tip: some rooms face Kenny's Pond with a view up to Signal Hill e.g. 453
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DadandCab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon-D-HI, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2017

Hi DadandCab,

Thank you so much for your comments and feedback.

We are saddened to hear of your disappointments during your stay with us. It is through valuable feedback such as yours that offer us insight and growth. This is certainly not the impression we want any guest to have and is not indicative of our hotel standards.

While we are happy to hear that you found our staff very friendly and as helpful as possible we are saddened to hear of the shortcomings in regards to your queries and check-in experience.

We have forwarded all feedback to the appropriate teams to ensure all your concerns and suggestions are reviewed.

We trust your next experience with us with be indicative of the service and quality we are known for and strive to deliver.

We welcome you back again with us soon.


Warm regards,

Shannon D.
Operations Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 2, 2017

Great value for the cost. Enjoyed the waterslide and pool with the kids for 2 days and the kids ate supper and breakfast buffet for free when adults had their meals. Really enjoyed our stay and had a comfortable night stay. Great for families.

Room Tip: 1st floor is closer to the pool & seemed popular with families who wanted access to the pool/waterslides.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon-D-HI, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2017

Hi Samantha B,

Thank you for your comments and 5 star review!

We are delighted to hear you had a great stay with us and your kids enjoyed the water slide and pool. We are also happy to hear you took advantage of our Kids Eat Free program.

We welcome you and your family back again with us soon!


Warm regards,

Shannon D.
Operations Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2017

I was there with a team of 25 young women and we really enjoyed the experience. The accommodation was very good and the staff were warm and friendly. The only negative was the breakfast buffet. It is expensive and truly inadequate. No fresh fruit, no pastries and the eggs every day were watered down. Not worth the $15 person

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveKMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 17, 2017

Spend one night , my room was even colder than outside (6 C) and AC was at full blast...
Decoration is a little dating...
Breakfast in the morning is a rip-off at Mario's... 20$ for freaking eggs and toast+ bacon...
Had to wait more than 5 minutes as the lady at the reception was eating donuts in the back office and speaking with a colleague.
requested specifically a quiet location and they gave assigned me a room next to the elevator.. What is the point of making special requirements if they are not taken into account???
Will definitely stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GUYGEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2017 via mobile

Not impressed. I use to love this place but it's really starting to show its age, it needs a complete overhaul except the pool and fitness room which is new. The room smells musty, Bathrooms are dirty, the thermostats are so old they are in Fahrenheit. No hand sanitizer in any of the dispenses in the building, the two part bathroom sucks and is so small I can't even sit on the toilet with the TP rolls there, and I can't stand up in there or my head will hit the shower curtain rod which angles out past the tub over the toilet. I tried to use the freezer part of the bar fridge and it was blocked with frost. Maybe never defrosted and cleaned. I will not be returning here again!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Mountainmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon-D-HI, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2017

Hi Mountainmax,

Thank you so much for your feedback.

We are saddened to hear of your overall experience with your visit. I do apologize for the delay in replacing the hand sanitizer as it was a delay in receiving an order. I am happy to announce that all dispensers have been refilled. As our hotel was build in the 60's it was based on a European model which had the split bathroom/wash basin area.

I am truly sorry to hear of the short falls during your last stay but certainly encourage you at any time to reach out to our Guest Services, which is staffed 24 hours, should you require anything or have any concerns.

We do welcome you back again, where I'm sure we can provide the service expected and that we are known for.

Again, thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback, it indeed is invaluable.


Warm regards,

Shannon D.
Operations Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews