We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland(St. John's)(Great Value!)
US$110
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$143
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$145/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ramada by Wyndham St. John's(St. John's)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$113
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$119/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Super 8 by Wyndham St Johns(St. John's)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$98
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$145
US$130
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
JAG(St. John's)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$121
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$132/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveller rating
49
78
68
29
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
78
68
29
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskids eat freewater slidescoffee makerup to datethe ground floormini fridgesignal hillairportdowntownstcanadawashroom
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 232 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2017

Despite it's convenient location (for those with a car) and friendly staff, this place is worn and dirty. Furnishings have chips, dents, and stains. Bed sheets and towels have been surpassed their useful life. Housekeeping is abysmal -- besides forgetting things like a bathmat for several days, I was particularly disturbed that my room was not vacuumed for 2 consecutive days. Public areas in the hotel are even worse. All outdoor spaces are littered with cigarette butts. Providing ashtrays or regular cleaning would easily alleviate this problem. Guests who arrive through the front door are greeted with a garbage can at the lobby entrance that is overflowing every night. Simply emptying it more often would remedy this offensive welcome. Similarly, trash and recycling bins in the hotel Business Centre were not emptied for at least a week. Trash from hotel rooms cleaned by Housekeeping sits in all day in a visible area on each floor. This hotel doesn't seem to care about basic cleanliness and makes me wonder what other shortcuts they take. To add insult to injury, WIFI, which in 2017 is as important as a flush toilet, worked only about 20% of the time. If you're a family with screaming kids who like to run up and down the halls, you'll love this place. If you want peace and quiet, you may be out of luck. This hotel could get its act together with a few thoughtful changes that would cost little to no money to implement. Until that happens, I'll look elsewhere for accommodations in St. John's.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank torontojay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon-D-HI, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2017

Hi torontojay,

Thank you so much for providing your feedback.

We are saddened to hear of your concerns mentioned in your review.

We are truly sorry to hear of the condition in which you found the room and how it was cleaned. There is an expectation that when staying in any of our hotels that you are given a room that is clean and comfortable. We apologize we failed you on this occasion. We assure you we, including our housekeeping staff, pride themselves on their work ethic. We will ensure this feedback is forwarded to our Executive Housekeeper for follow-up.

Please be assured that your feedback has not gone unheard. We don’t want your last experience to be indicative of what we’re known for. We welcome you back again to stay with us where we know we can deliver the service known for and the service you expect and deserve.


Warm regards,

Shannon D.
Operations Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2017 via mobile

We have been staying here for last 4days.The topography is perfect ,rooms facing the long sky .The staff here are sensitive and responsive! Has a long parking space and like many other high ended hotel has facilities for laundry ,self driven ,apart from a huge lobby and a restaurant.The only problem for vegetarians like US is limited availability of food ,to be content with breads ,fruits and juices ,never mind !
Had a peaceful,relaxed stay !

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank ANMahusudan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon-D-HI, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2017

Hi ANMahusudan,

Thank you for your comments.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our amenities offered as well as our staff being responsive to your needs. Thank you for your feedback regarding the restaurant selection, we will ensure to pass along the suggestions.

We look forward to your next visit with us!

Warm regards,

Shannon D.
Operations Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 3, 2017

We ended up here for a week after our camping option at Pippy Park failed to meet expectations and we’d splurged for a night at the Sheraton. So we were initially a bit shell-shocked. Some areas of this hotel look a bit old and tired, there are definitely maintenance issues. But the biggest initial difference is the staff. Whilst they try to be as helpful as possible, were very friendly and responded well to all requests for assistance, I’m not sure the professional attitude and attention to detail is there to make this a great stay rather than a good or ok stay. The person who checked us in moaned about computer issues and other staff. Other reception staff directed us across town to a supermarket and two days later we discovered one two blocks from the hotel in the opposite direction. We asked about bus routes near the hotel and again were given incomplete information. If the price point of this hotel does not stretch to a concierge, the least the management could do is provide a “cheat sheet” to staff to enable them to accurately respond to guest queries.
Similarly, there is information everywhere advising guests to keep valuables safe, not left in your car or in your room, but our room didn’t have a safe. When we enquired about putting our laptop in the reception safe for the day whilst we were out, we were told it wasn’t big enough. Not sure how they expect you to keep valuables safe then?
We were pleased to see an environmental policy in place regarding the changing of towels only on request. Unfortunately, the staff seemed to ignore this policy and refreshed the room with new towels and toiletries every time they came into the room to clean.
Having said all that, the hotel is in a good location with good transport links, a great bed, tv, plenty of space, a fridge, microwave on request and our stay was still definitely good value for money compared to the alternatives. So, a reasonable, if flawed, travel stop.

Room Tip: some rooms face Kenny's Pond with a view up to Signal Hill e.g. 453
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DadandCab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon-D-HI, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2017

Hi DadandCab,

Thank you so much for your comments and feedback.

We are saddened to hear of your disappointments during your stay with us. It is through valuable feedback such as yours that offer us insight and growth. This is certainly not the impression we want any guest to have and is not indicative of our hotel standards.

While we are happy to hear that you found our staff very friendly and as helpful as possible we are saddened to hear of the shortcomings in regards to your queries and check-in experience.

We have forwarded all feedback to the appropriate teams to ensure all your concerns and suggestions are reviewed.

We trust your next experience with us with be indicative of the service and quality we are known for and strive to deliver.

We welcome you back again with us soon.


Warm regards,

Shannon D.
Operations Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 2, 2017

Great value for the cost. Enjoyed the waterslide and pool with the kids for 2 days and the kids ate supper and breakfast buffet for free when adults had their meals. Really enjoyed our stay and had a comfortable night stay. Great for families.

Room Tip: 1st floor is closer to the pool & seemed popular with families who wanted access to the pool/waterslides.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon-D-HI, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2017

Hi Samantha B,

Thank you for your comments and 5 star review!

We are delighted to hear you had a great stay with us and your kids enjoyed the water slide and pool. We are also happy to hear you took advantage of our Kids Eat Free program.

We welcome you and your family back again with us soon!


Warm regards,

Shannon D.
Operations Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2017

I was there with a team of 25 young women and we really enjoyed the experience. The accommodation was very good and the staff were warm and friendly. The only negative was the breakfast buffet. It is expensive and truly inadequate. No fresh fruit, no pastries and the eggs every day were watered down. Not worth the $15 person

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveKMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews