We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveller rating
125
10
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
125
10
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews top floor gracious hosts queen bed excellent stay janet wrapping johns
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 137 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2019

Lovely family-run operation with generous breakfast and beautiful room. Lovingly restored townhouse walking distance to just about everywhere. Staff was terrific, very knowledgeable about local history and do's and don'ts in town. Bring slippers.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2018

My husband and I recently stayed at Wits Inn and loved our time there. James was very welcoming and full of good information about the area, The breakfasts were excellent and the little kitchen off the dining room had lots of extras for guests like a variety of teas and microwave popcorn. James graciously told us to take some breakfast items(fruit, cheese and pastries) for snacks during our day of site seeing. A great b&b.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cherylhughes2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2018

My wife and I stay in B&Bs whenever and wherever we can, and we have stayed in many. At Wit's Inn (love the name!) stands out as one of the nicest B&Bs we've ever stayed in. We were here for two nights, and our hosts, James and Janet, could not have been more welcoming. The location was ideal, mere minutes walk from downtown St. John's. We were given a parking pass to leave our car close by, so no worry about the limited parking time available on the street. James directed us to the best walking trails on Signal Hill, not to mention the best coffee in town (The Battery Cafe). The room was inviting and comfortable. There was a cozy, help-yourself "butler's room" for tea and coffee. And to top it off, perhaps the best, most delicious and varied breakfast you'll ever have in a B&B, both mornings of our stay. And when we inadvertently left town with our front door and room keys, Janet was very understanding and asked us not to rush to return them, which we did a short time later when we were back in town. Thanks, James and Janet, for your wonderful hospitality.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018

James has put a lot of thought into this B&B. He has made the B&B very welcoming. it is always good to have a lounge area to relax in.
It was well stocked with books and games. The food was excellent. The information about St John's and Newfoundland was good. a good insight into the quirky places to go. it was really good to have the parking permit as we had a hire car for our time in Newfoundland.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hian
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2018

We stayed here on July 25/18. The home is a period building and its interior is very warmly decorated and very clean and tidy. We were greeted by a very personable young lady named Kate who acquainted us with the residence and next morning served us a breakfast with plenty of variety. It was delicious and filling.This is our second time staying here and we enjoyed our stay very much. This is a very comfortable place to relax. You will regret not staying here when you are sitting in just another hotel room.

Room tip: All rooms are a delight.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Haweater2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews