We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the best long-distance trails in the world”
Review of East Coast Trail

East Coast Trail
Ranked #3 of 105 things to do in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore 26 wilderness paths along North America's easternmost coastline. The East Coast Trail unites genuine wilderness hiking with richly historic communities from Portugal Cove, to Cape St. Francis, to Cappahayden. There are over 300 kilometers of developed trail to explore. The paths of the East Coast Trail take you past towering cliffs and headlands, sea stacks, deep fjords, and a natural wave-driven geyser called the Spout. Experience abandoned settlements, lighthouses, ecological reserves, seabird colonies, whales, icebergs, the world's southernmost caribou herd, historic sites, a 50-metre suspension bridge, two active archaeological dig sites, and many more attractions.
Reviewed August 16, 2017 via mobile

This sequence of trail segments stretches over 300 miles with some of the best views in the world, fresh air, layers and layers of history going back to 1497, and other unique features. I really like the fact people can pick segments that fit their abilities and interests, can sleep in soft beds out of the weather every night, and through hikers can easily connect one segment to the next.
One big suggestion I have is to research your hike segments before you go, and look for historical pictures. Then you can post before and after pics while gaining an appreciation of how hard life used to be in Newfoundland.

1  Thank K T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Coast Trai... A, Marketing Student at East Coast Trail, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2018

Hello,

Thank you for your kind review. One small correction, our trail is actually 300 km long!
Lots of history, our first official 25 km of trail was built by eighty volunteers back in 1994. However other trails that are apart of the ECT were once used by communities and individuals to travel from town to town and one path in particular was used for the Miners. We love to hear when people take an interest in this information. Thanks again.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"la manche"
in 21 reviews
"witless bay"
in 22 reviews
"suspension bridge"
in 15 reviews
"bay bulls"
in 23 reviews
"sea stacks"
in 6 reviews
"avalon peninsula"
in 15 reviews
"day hike"
in 7 reviews
"chicken wire"
in 4 reviews
"experienced hikers"
in 5 reviews
"b bs"
in 4 reviews
"access points"
in 4 reviews
"irish loop"
in 7 reviews
"hiking boots"
in 7 reviews
"great hike"
in 16 reviews
"different parts"
in 4 reviews
"beautiful scenery"
in 16 reviews
"starting point"
in 5 reviews
Filter

53 - 57 of 424 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2017 via mobile

My friend and I traveled to Newfoundland to hike segments of the East Coast Trail. It was awesome. Very doable to rent a car, park it at trailhead, hike a segment and taxi back to your car on most segments of the trail. We witnessed icebergs, dramatic cliffs, bald eagles, little lakes, sea stacks, puffins, whales galore on each segment and very friendly people. We did Witless Bay to Bay Bulls, La Manche suspension bridge) area and Fort Amherst (right out of St Johns) to Blackhead. If you also have time and a car, hiking the Skerwink trail was spectacular but is a couple of hours +- from St. Johns area. Hope to go back and do more segments!

4  Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Coast Trai... A, Marketing Student at East Coast Trail, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2018

Hello Dawn,

Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad you and your friend had a great trip to Newfoundland and enjoyed our Trail! We are glad to hear that you found transportation doable, we have a lot of questions and concerns about this, and it is always nice to hear when hikers have good experiences.
One small correction, the Skerwink Trail is actually not an ECT path. We have a Spurwink Island path which is located in Aquaforte to Port Kirwan. Many people get those two confused, however, The Skerwink Trail is a part of the Hike Discovery Trail in Trinity and Port Rexton. We are glad you enjoy that too.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2017

We hiked different parts of the East Coast trail. We saw beautiful views. Some of the moderate trails were difficult and some of the moderate trails were easy!!

Thank shrink516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Coast Trai... A, Marketing Student at East Coast Trail, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2018

Hello,

Thank you for your kind review.
We have rated our paths based on such things as the length, the average time to complete and the difficulty of terrain. Hope this helps any confusion.
We are glad you enjoyed your hikes, and hope you will return.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2017

The views, the trails, the people and the sights, all spectacular. Some sections of the trails offer more technical hikes, others offer a more leisurely trail, and never be in a hurry, your camera phone will get quite the workout!

1  Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Coast Trai... A, Marketing Student at East Coast Trail, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2018

Hello Gary,

Thank you for your kind review. We love to hear when people enjoy our trails, communities, and scenery. The people of course add to the culture and the beauty of this province. You are correct, each path on our trail offers its own terrain level for those who are more or less experienced in hiking. Something for everyone, especially the camera phone.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2017

Signage not great so rest assured there is an easier route to the top than I took. You don't have to walk straight up the mountain. . However you get to the top, the vistas are outstanding

Thank htd2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Coast Trai... A, Marketing Student at East Coast Trail, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2018

Hello,

Thank you for your review. We work hard to ensure our signage is clear and open for hikers, especially visitors to our province. We will pass this information on and bring it to our team for further evaluation. We also always suggest if you are not familiar with our trail to purchase our mapset or single maps to ensure you have backup if you do get lost or confused.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed East Coast Trail also viewed

St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Been to East Coast Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing