We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Fantastic trail system - what a resource!

We did various bits of the ECT with my party in various large and small configurations, We found... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
vogel421
,
London
Deadman’s Bay Path Trail Fort Amherst to Blackhead Exercise with views

This trail is part of the East Coast Trail system which features 26 well marked trails along 300 km... read more

Reviewed October 5, 2018
CatharineB
,
Ottawa, Canada
Read all 430 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around St. John's
from US$56.00
More Info
from US$69.20
More Info
Reviews (430)
Filter reviews
430 results
Traveller rating
353
67
7
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
353
67
7
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la manche witless bay suspension bridge bay bulls avalon peninsula day hike chicken wire experienced hikers irish loop b bs access points great hike different parts beautiful scenery starting point fort amherst natural beauty
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 430 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2017 via mobile

My friend and I traveled to Newfoundland to hike segments of the East Coast Trail. It was awesome. Very doable to rent a car, park it at trailhead, hike a segment and taxi back to your car on most segments of the trail. We witnessed icebergs, dramatic cliffs, bald eagles, little lakes, sea stacks, puffins, whales galore on each segment and very friendly people. We did Witless Bay to Bay Bulls, La Manche suspension bridge) area and Fort Amherst (right out of St Johns) to Blackhead. If you also have time and a car, hiking the Skerwink trail was spectacular but is a couple of hours +- from St. Johns area. Hope to go back and do more segments!

4  Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Coast Trai... A, Marketing Student at East Coast Trail, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2018

Hello Dawn,

Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad you and your friend had a great trip to Newfoundland and enjoyed our Trail! We are glad to hear that you found transportation doable, we have a lot of questions and concerns about this, and it is always nice to hear when hikers have good experiences.
One small correction, the Skerwink Trail is actually not an ECT path. We have a Spurwink Island path which is located in Aquaforte to Port Kirwan. Many people get those two confused, however, The Skerwink Trail is a part of the Hike Discovery Trail in Trinity and Port Rexton. We are glad you enjoy that too.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2017

We hiked different parts of the East Coast trail. We saw beautiful views. Some of the moderate trails were difficult and some of the moderate trails were easy!!

Thank shrink516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Coast Trai... A, Marketing Student at East Coast Trail, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2018

Hello,

Thank you for your kind review.
We have rated our paths based on such things as the length, the average time to complete and the difficulty of terrain. Hope this helps any confusion.
We are glad you enjoyed your hikes, and hope you will return.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2017

The views, the trails, the people and the sights, all spectacular. Some sections of the trails offer more technical hikes, others offer a more leisurely trail, and never be in a hurry, your camera phone will get quite the workout!

1  Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Coast Trai... A, Marketing Student at East Coast Trail, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2018

Hello Gary,

Thank you for your kind review. We love to hear when people enjoy our trails, communities, and scenery. The people of course add to the culture and the beauty of this province. You are correct, each path on our trail offers its own terrain level for those who are more or less experienced in hiking. Something for everyone, especially the camera phone.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 9, 2017

Signage not great so rest assured there is an easier route to the top than I took. You don't have to walk straight up the mountain. . However you get to the top, the vistas are outstanding

Thank htd2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Coast Trai... A, Marketing Student at East Coast Trail, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2018

Hello,

Thank you for your review. We work hard to ensure our signage is clear and open for hikers, especially visitors to our province. We will pass this information on and bring it to our team for further evaluation. We also always suggest if you are not familiar with our trail to purchase our mapset or single maps to ensure you have backup if you do get lost or confused.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 9, 2017

This trail is a must-do. You can choose an easy trail, or a difficult trail....it's up to you. But you won't find a better place than Newfoundland for hiking, and the East Coast Trail has been prepared for all levels.

2  Thank B6595XGdonnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Coast Trai... A, Marketing Student at East Coast Trail, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2018

Hello,

Thank you for your review of the ECT. We take great pride in having paths (sections of our trail) rated from easy - moderate - difficult for all hikers out there. Everyone deserves that hiking trail they can comfortably finish at their own pace.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews