We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Fantastic trail system - what a resource!

We did various bits of the ECT with my party in various large and small configurations, We found... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
vogel421
,
London
Deadman’s Bay Path Trail Fort Amherst to Blackhead Exercise with views

This trail is part of the East Coast Trail system which features 26 well marked trails along 300 km... read more

Reviewed October 5, 2018
CatharineB
,
Ottawa, Canada
Read all 430 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around St. John's
from US$68.20
More Info
from US$55.20
More Info
Reviews (430)
Filter reviews
430 results
Traveller rating
353
67
7
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
353
67
7
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la manche witless bay suspension bridge bay bulls sea stacks avalon peninsula day hike experienced hikers irish loop hiking boots great hike beautiful scenery starting point fort amherst see whales petty harbour the cliff
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 430 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2017

We did about 1.5 km of the trail, from Quidi Vidi village to just past Bawdens Highlands, just enough to see on the other side of the hill up there, looking north. Then turned around and came back down. None of the ECT trails are loops which is a bummer. Took us about 1 hour to get up, it's uphill all the way, there are some stairs but mostly you climb on dirt paths or rocks so I would say it is a strenuous hike. About 45 min to come back down. We had a sunny day, the views climbing and once you are up there are worth the climb, it was nice to do such a trail so close to St. John's.

Bring water!!

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank busymothertoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Coast Trai... A, Marketing Student at East Coast Trail, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2018

Hello,

Thank you for your review. Unfortunately our paths are not loops, some however do have side trails that are not official ECT paths that can be used to complete as a loop, check them out on our maps. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed the trail and the view though.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2017

The East Coast Trail is an excellent system of trails and should be on the top of your to-do list in Newfoundland. We started in Witless bay, walked along the trail bordering the shore, saw breathtaking views and spotted copious amounts of whales! The trail is perfect for both families and hard core hikers because you can choose your own distance.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank dgrevatt2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Coast Trai... A, Marketing Student at East Coast Trail, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2018

Hello,

Thank you for your response, we appreciate your kind words. We agree, having a system of trails with different difficulty levels and features, makes it enjoyable and accessible to almost everyone! Hope you enjoyed your trip and please come back anytime :)

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 17, 2017

Beautiful hike along the coastline on a well groomed trail. I've done the Signal Hill and to Quidi Vidi route and finished up for lunch at Mallard Cottage. View was amazing along the coastline. Saw whales and a Bald Eagle with nest. Food and service was terrific. no washrooms along the trail.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Coast Trai... A, Marketing Student at East Coast Trail, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2018

Hello Elaine,

Thank you for your very kind review! Our volunteer trail crew team works very hard to keep our trail well maintained and groomed. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your hike and the beautiful scenery that comes along with it.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2017 via mobile

This sequence of trail segments stretches over 300 miles with some of the best views in the world, fresh air, layers and layers of history going back to 1497, and other unique features. I really like the fact people can pick segments that fit their abilities and interests, can sleep in soft beds out of the weather every night, and through hikers can easily connect one segment to the next.
One big suggestion I have is to research your hike segments before you go, and look for historical pictures. Then you can post before and after pics while gaining an appreciation of how hard life used to be in Newfoundland.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank K T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Coast Trai... A, Marketing Student at East Coast Trail, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2018

Hello,

Thank you for your kind review. One small correction, our trail is actually 300 km long!
Lots of history, our first official 25 km of trail was built by eighty volunteers back in 1994. However other trails that are apart of the ECT were once used by communities and individuals to travel from town to town and one path in particular was used for the Miners. We love to hear when people take an interest in this information. Thanks again.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 15, 2017 via mobile

My friend and I traveled to Newfoundland to hike segments of the East Coast Trail. It was awesome. Very doable to rent a car, park it at trailhead, hike a segment and taxi back to your car on most segments of the trail. We witnessed icebergs, dramatic cliffs, bald eagles, little lakes, sea stacks, puffins, whales galore on each segment and very friendly people. We did Witless Bay to Bay Bulls, La Manche suspension bridge) area and Fort Amherst (right out of St Johns) to Blackhead. If you also have time and a car, hiking the Skerwink trail was spectacular but is a couple of hours +- from St. Johns area. Hope to go back and do more segments!

Date of experience: July 2017
4  Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Coast Trai... A, Marketing Student at East Coast Trail, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2018

Hello Dawn,

Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad you and your friend had a great trip to Newfoundland and enjoyed our Trail! We are glad to hear that you found transportation doable, we have a lot of questions and concerns about this, and it is always nice to hear when hikers have good experiences.
One small correction, the Skerwink Trail is actually not an ECT path. We have a Spurwink Island path which is located in Aquaforte to Port Kirwan. Many people get those two confused, however, The Skerwink Trail is a part of the Hike Discovery Trail in Trinity and Port Rexton. We are glad you enjoy that too.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews