We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view”
Review of East Coast Trail

East Coast Trail
Ranked #3 of 106 things to do in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore 26 wilderness paths along North America's easternmost coastline. The East Coast Trail unites genuine wilderness hiking with richly historic communities from Portugal Cove, to Cape St. Francis, to Cappahayden. There are over 300 kilometers of developed trail to explore. The paths of the East Coast Trail take you past towering cliffs and headlands, sea stacks, deep fjords, and a natural wave-driven geyser called the Spout. Experience abandoned settlements, lighthouses, ecological reserves, seabird colonies, whales, icebergs, the world's southernmost caribou herd, historic sites, a 50-metre suspension bridge, two active archaeological dig sites, and many more attractions.
Reviewed August 29, 2017

This is a must hike trail with stunning views. Comfortable clothing and shoes are a must. Not a difficult trail to hike

Thank Omar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Coast Trai... A, Marketing Student at East Coast Trail, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2018

Hello Omar,

Thank you for your review. We treasure those views, and hope you enjoyed them too! We always recommend comfy clothes and proper shoes, great point.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"la manche"
in 21 reviews
"witless bay"
in 22 reviews
"suspension bridge"
in 15 reviews
"bay bulls"
in 23 reviews
"sea stacks"
in 6 reviews
"avalon peninsula"
in 15 reviews
"day hike"
in 7 reviews
"chicken wire"
in 4 reviews
"experienced hikers"
in 5 reviews
"b bs"
in 4 reviews
"access points"
in 4 reviews
"great hike"
in 17 reviews
"irish loop"
in 7 reviews
"hiking boots"
in 7 reviews
"different parts"
in 4 reviews
"beautiful scenery"
in 16 reviews
"starting point"
in 5 reviews
Filter

52 - 56 of 427 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2017

OMG, what a great trail. It was a stunning, sunny, warm, breezy day when we embarked on this trail. One of the most beautiful in Newfoundland for sure. It was a thrill to sit out on a rock and watch the whales come near the shore and put on a show for us. Must go back.

1  Thank agoffredo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Coast Trai... A, Marketing Student at East Coast Trail, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2018

Hello,

Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad you enjoyed your time on our trail, hikers always love watching whales and icebergs! Glad you got to enjoy it too!

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2017

We did about 1.5 km of the trail, from Quidi Vidi village to just past Bawdens Highlands, just enough to see on the other side of the hill up there, looking north. Then turned around and came back down. None of the ECT trails are loops which is a bummer. Took us about 1 hour to get up, it's uphill all the way, there are some stairs but mostly you climb on dirt paths or rocks so I would say it is a strenuous hike. About 45 min to come back down. We had a sunny day, the views climbing and once you are up there are worth the climb, it was nice to do such a trail so close to St. John's.

Bring water!!

1  Thank busymothertoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Coast Trai... A, Marketing Student at East Coast Trail, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2018

Hello,

Thank you for your review. Unfortunately our paths are not loops, some however do have side trails that are not official ECT paths that can be used to complete as a loop, check them out on our maps. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed the trail and the view though.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2017

The East Coast Trail is an excellent system of trails and should be on the top of your to-do list in Newfoundland. We started in Witless bay, walked along the trail bordering the shore, saw breathtaking views and spotted copious amounts of whales! The trail is perfect for both families and hard core hikers because you can choose your own distance.

1  Thank dgrevatt2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Coast Trai... A, Marketing Student at East Coast Trail, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2018

Hello,

Thank you for your response, we appreciate your kind words. We agree, having a system of trails with different difficulty levels and features, makes it enjoyable and accessible to almost everyone! Hope you enjoyed your trip and please come back anytime :)

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2017

Beautiful hike along the coastline on a well groomed trail. I've done the Signal Hill and to Quidi Vidi route and finished up for lunch at Mallard Cottage. View was amazing along the coastline. Saw whales and a Bald Eagle with nest. Food and service was terrific. no washrooms along the trail.

Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Coast Trai... A, Marketing Student at East Coast Trail, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2018

Hello Elaine,

Thank you for your very kind review! Our volunteer trail crew team works very hard to keep our trail well maintained and groomed. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your hike and the beautiful scenery that comes along with it.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed East Coast Trail also viewed

St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Been to East Coast Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing