We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (708)
Filter reviews
708 results
Traveller rating
409
213
64
15
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
409
213
64
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews exposed beams towel warmer george street electric fireplace national historic site historic hotel the gypsy tea room continental breakfast water street jacuzzi tub downtown st cookie cutter free parking light bulbs boiled eggs lots of character fourth floor
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 708 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The Newfie charm is oozing all over this place. To start with the reception staff. Giving us a quick history at check in about the building that had no business being a hotel but it is and personally, I'd say done very well. The room was quite spacious and comfortable having everything I needed. Attached to the hotel were two different options for restaurants if you didn't want to go far. Or, in a short distance were many others still to choose from. In the morning they had a continental breakfast available for all guests. Downstairs prior to checkout there was a small room off to the front lobby that is a quiet and cozy place to relax outside of your room if you just need another space to be in. We all enjoyed out stay and would love to spend more than a night.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank LadyDashnay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve D, General Manager at Murray Premises Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for sharing such a kind review with your fellow TripAdvisor travelers!

I appreciate you taking the time to go through your experience at the Murray Premises Hotel in such detail, this is tremendous feedback for us as a team. I am so happy to read that from check-in, through your stay, and on to departure, you experienced the unique mix of historic charm and friendly service that define our hotel!

We appreciate you choosing to stay with us, I hope we have the chance to host you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Steve Denty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is our second time now that we stayed at the Murray Premises. We have to say the first trip was good but the second trip was even better. The front desk staff were very friendly the room was very clean and comfortable and the staff left a little Happy 50th Birthday surprise for us in our room. The smallest of touches make the difference and we will most certainly be returning.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank RoxanneDowney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve D, General Manager at Murray Premises Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

What a wonderful review, thank you so much for sharing!

You know what they say about...second impressions?! So happy that your return visit to the Murray Premises Hotel was even better than your first! I am so pleased to read that our staff took a moment to acknowledge a milestone event in your life, thank you for recognizing their efforts.

Thanks for choosing to stay with us, I hope we get to welcome you for stay three in the not to distant future!

Kind Regards,

Steve Denty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 1, 2019

After a disastrous experience at the Duckworth (see our review of that Marx Brothers stateroom debacle), we got to Murray Premises and had a wonderful three night stay on Regatta weekend during a heat wave (95F/35C). Room was huge (a ground level accessible room with a very big walk-in shower bigger than the entire Duckworth room), the bed luxurious, the double sink a delight, the air conditioning (in St. John's!) a pleasure. It was across the dock area from the tour boat wharf, one street from Water Street restaurants and shops, two streets from George Street (if you like that sort of thing), straight uphill to The Rooms, and an hour's walk through St. John's to Quidi Vidi lake. Parking is free and available in front or to the side of the hotel. Breakfast included was a buffet on the second floor - a bit crowded on this summer weekend, but the coffee, muffins, croissants, and fruit were fine. We loved our short visit, and will stay here again.

Room tip: "Old" east wing is renovated. Soundproofing excellent. Upper rooms have views of harbor or city - your choice.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twoinmaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve D, General Manager at Murray Premises Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2019

Thank you for leaving such a kind review, we appreciate it!

I am pleased that we were able to provide you with a comfortable home base as you explored historic St. John's during what was a busy time in the city. We pride ourselves on our prime downtown location and our first class services and amenities. It is heartwarming to read that these features resonated with you and enabled you to have such a positive experience!

Thanks again for choosing the Murray Premises Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back again the future!

Kind Regards,

Steve Denty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 29, 2019

Stayed at Murray Premises Hotel for one night and really enjoyed the hotel. The front desk staff was very welcoming and friendly. The room was clean and the layout/ceiling was nice and unique. The hotel provided breakfast and it's centrally located next to the harbor and restaurants.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank R2Rondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve D, General Manager at Murray Premises Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2019

What a great review, thank you for taking the time to share with your fellow travelers on TripAdvisor!

Thank you very much for the kind comments about our service, cleanliness, and location. It is wonderful to read that the Murray Premises Hotel team made you feel welcome and at home while you visited St. John's.

We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and thank you for leaving such terrific feedback, I hope we have the chance to host you again in the future!

Kind Regards,

Steve Denty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 24, 2019

Stayed here for three overnights in September in Room 218. What a lovely comfortable room with a beautiful rustic décor. Close to the harbour and The Keg Steakhouse (just across the road). In the heart of St John's
and pretty much close to everything you'd want. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve D, General Manager at Murray Premises Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2019

What a wonderful review, thank you for sharing!

I am so happy that your three night stay in September was a special one, and that you were able to enjoy all that beautiful downtown St. John's has to offer! It is comforting to read that you would recommend our hotel to your fellow travelers on TripAdvisor, it really means a lot to us.

Thanks again for choosing the Murray Premises Hotel and for leaving such great feedback, I hope we have the opportunity to host you again in the future!

Kind Regards,

Steve Denty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews