We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs to be updated”
Review of Capital Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Capital Hotel
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in St. John's
Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Needs to be updated”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Was there on business.
Check-in was quick.
Room was ok but nothing special. It seemed to be clean but didn't really look it which maybe was the carpet.
Food was good at the Jack's restaurant but service was not very fast and there were a couple mistakes on the orders.
The group meal / buffet they served was pretty tasteless.
Like another review says it's a typical Steele Hotel.

Room Tip: Not sure there is a room that is better than another.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T-Pev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    33
    22
    7
    6
See reviews for
28
24
11
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newfoundland, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

This hotel is very conveniently located near major shopping centres, and business centres. The staff are exceptional. We found the food at the restaurant very good. The staff at the restaurant and front desk have worked there a long time and remember their customers. The rooms were always clean.

Room Tip: If you like the quiet as for a room at the back of the hotel instead of facing Kenmount Road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

This is a review of Jack's, the restaurant at the Capital Hotel.

Went there on a Thursday night for prime rib. Took 17 minutes after being sat and given a menu before anyone took our order, Another 20 minutes before a seafood chowder appetizer showed up, and a the food didn't arrive until a little over an hour and twenty minutes after we arrived. The restaurant wasn't that busy, and there appeared to be plenty of staff working. While the chowder was very nice, very creamy and lots of fish, the prime rib was like shoe leather. We ordered either rare or medium rare, while it was pink, there was no juice on the plate or in the meat, it was so dry, it was difficult to eat. The bake potato was great, as were the steamed vegetables. For a party of 2, without drinks, $75.00 for what we got seemed a little steep. Also I was put off that we were not told about the specials, we could of had a similar meal much cheaper, we over heard them from other tables that were sat after we ordered. I would suggest eating anywhere else, avoid this place if possible, even if you are staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bart_1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I was staying here for two nights, booked by customer so didnt have a choice. The rooms themselves are decent at first glance as this Hotel isn't all that old. The bathroom drain was broke and I had to use pocket knife to drain the tub each time. The cold water tap on vanity would jam and wife couldnt turn on if I didnt loosen it. The main concern I had from a previous stay was noise level. This place was built cheaply and as a result the insulation and noise barrier was skipped. You hear everything going on in rooms next to you, hallway and across the hall. This visit was the same. Worse actually becuase we kept getting woke up by a high pitched steel type squeel. Turned out it was the elevator 5 doors down the hallway and the noise was going through the HVAC vents.

Internet....what can I say except they have none worth using. 5 floors and one single wireless router. 3rd floor and up you cant connect to it and even when you do its dead slow and I was unable to even get access to email, maps for restaurant hunting etc. In this day and age where a router is 60 - 100 third party installed this is absolutley unexusable. They provided a wired connection but that did not work either and they didnt know why. So if you need Internet, stay elsewhere. In the three days I had internet for 15 minutes.

Beds were small. Im 6'1 (Not overly tall) and my feet stuck out the bottom almost 8 -10 inches.

Restaurant was pretty good and service seemed ok the three times i ate there.

Room Tip: If you need Internet ask them where their wireless router is located and get close as possible to it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrevorMNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephenville, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Was here for a conference. Screwed up my booking and then spent the 2 nights in a room next to the squeeky grinding elevator... Resturant is way overpriced and the location is far from anything in the city unless you are looking to buy a car. Towels are good to use as sandpaper. Room was clean. Bed was very uncomfortable. Would not reccommend this hotel

Room Tip: one away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amphibious M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
259 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Restaurant was good - a good place to go. Especially for breakfast. The location etc, however, is unremarkable and pretty much "away" from most interesting parts of the city.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Buchans79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarenville, NL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We have stayed at the Capital on a couple of occsions in the last 2 months. The price was the initial attraction. It's a decent room at a great price. Jack's restaurant downstairs is amazing. The food is great and the service is even better. The bar is also fairly nice. The front desk staff is adequate. I plan to stay there for a conference in August. The one drawback for us is the distance from downtown. I would recomend the Capital. It's an average hotel, clean and a good price.

Room Tip: Book online for the best price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LorneGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 22 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Ramada St. John's
#9 of 22 in St. John's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#15 of 22 in St. John's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 22 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Hotel

Property: Capital Hotel
Address: 208 Kenmount Rd, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1B 3R2, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Capital Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hotel St Johns
Capital Hotel Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing