We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Townhouse-like setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hometel on Signal Hill
Ranked #8 of 23 St. John's B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Townhouse-like setting”
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We spent 6 nights at this facility on a combination business/pleasure trip. The rooms are immaculate and quiet. You do have to exit the townhouse to go to the main reception or to the breakfast (self-serve) area. Although a small way away from downtown it's worth the walk (15 minutes). Complimentary breakfast is provided. Manager Norma is attentive and welcoming. If you dislike the cookie-cutter hotel feeling this is the place to stay. Modern, clean, and well located.

Room Tip: There are no elevators in this townhouse-like facility so if you have trouble negotiating stairs ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZbigniewBlott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    90
    23
    16
    5
See reviews for
20
89
20
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saanich, Canada
Level Contributor
155 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

It's nice - beds very firm though, Think about it as your friends bedroom in a two year old spec house - you know the single guy who doesn't think its bad to leave the fry pan laying on the stive for a week. "breakfast area" stinks of burnt bacon as the cooker is left uncleaned sitting on the counter with yesterday's muffins and stale bread (this is at a 7 pm check in). The interior designer has a good visual sense however does not value the power of halogen lighting - man is this suite HOT!!. The bath room has three 100w halogen lights - radiation burns anyone ? ;)

I have been in the room with the air conditioner on now for 2 hours - still 38' C with all lights off exceptTV... and this is night and the outside temp is 15c. Heat rises - so bring your bikini as nighty toon stay on top floor . SO it's clean etc.but would i stay here again - probably - not. Undecided. But the real hotel is really looking good .. for the rest of our stay

Room Tip: Ask for main floor - cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobFarr2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2011

My husband and I enjoyed staying in a brownstone building. We came to St. John's for a wedding and ended up staying in 2 different rooms in this hotel (we had gone touring and had to check out for one night). Both rooms were clean and well suited our needs. What we found to be great was the continental breakfast that was included in our stay (fresh ground coffee made every 10 to 15 minutes, cold boiled eggs, breads and bagels, yogurt, fruit, assorted muffins), as well as the wonderful people who staffed the hotel. We found we could walk to the pubs, restaurants and shops from our hotel - and because we are used to walking we found are trips into downtown to be easy and refreshing.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margot R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
169 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

First , you need to know the concept. This is a townhouse with 4 rooms . 2 on the ground level and 2 on the 3rd floor. The 2nd floor is common area (living room with TV , dinning room).

The room was very nice and clean. The breakfast is served on the 2nd floor of the main unit. It is a bit crowded if you all arrive at the same time.Because of the concept , there is no fancy looby or even a restaurant on site.

It is located very close to Signal hill so it is very convenient if you like to take a good walk up the hill . The view is just amazing up there , please GO .

If you are a person that likes privacy, this is definately a good place to stay . I would recommended it.

Room Tip: Go for the higher level rooms and you will have more privacy . The ground level room will hear the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farm2099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Stayed at Hometel with my extended family for a wedding and have to say it was the most ideal setting we could have ever asked for. We all enjoyed our own private guest rooms and had a full brownstone to share with the rest of our family. They let us use a barbeque and we had a full kitchen, living room, and dining room to enjoy with our family and have as a party space. The staff there was very accomodating and the breakfast they served is usually held in their breakfast room but because we had a full house they allowed us to load up wicker serving trays and bring our breakfast back to all of our family and enjoy it in our own home. Overall it was better then expected and if you are travelling to Newfoundland with a group this is the place to go!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebecca s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2011

The service and the cleanliness of Hometel was superb. I would highly reccommend Homtel to anyone travelling either business or personal. It is a great concept in accommodation for all types of travellers and the staff is ready to serve you to meet your any need 24 hours a day. The complimentary breakfast was a great save to our trip cost and a delicious start to our day each morning. Thank you Hometel. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krista G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vila Velha, ES
Level Contributor
407 reviews
302 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

The Hometel claims to offer Luxury Apartments. Since we are not from Canada I hope that luxury means something else in this part of the world. The rooms are not bad but there is nothing luxurious about them. Our room was equipped with regular practical furniture and was pretty small. The bathroom is also small and nothing fancy. The really bad part of our stay was the horrible self service brekfast with rubber bread and awful coffee. The second day we did not bother to go to the breakfast. The location is okay but is not that close to downtown as other reviews suggest. And Signal Hill itself is a hike away up the mountain. All in all we exspected more. Sorry.
One tip: Go the "Oliver's Restaurant" Great food in cozy atmospehre with very good service. It is located at:160 Water Street St. John's, NL

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 22 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 22 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#14 of 22 in St. John's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#6 of 22 in St. John's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hometel on Signal Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hometel on Signal Hill

Property: Hometel on Signal Hill
Address: 10 St. Joseph's Lane, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1A 5V1, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hometel on Signal Hill 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled safely downtown on historic Signal Hill - Newfoundland's # 1 Tourist attraction. Steps to Cathedrals, Theatres, Museums, Fine Restaurants, Shopping and St.John's Harbour. Flexible check-ins, luxurious bathrooms with extensive lighting, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, soaker tubs, hi-speed internet, computers and faxes, luxurious linens, scrumptious breakfast, free long distance. free local calls, free parking, air conditioning, ultimate cable 62 channels, in-room mini fridge, free daily local and national newspapers. Unbeatable off season rates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hometel on Signal Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hometel On Signal Hill Hotel St. John`s
Hometel On Signal Hill Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing