We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (244)
Filter reviews
244 results
Traveller rating
59
85
63
22
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
85
63
22
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews medical appointment small kitchenette minute walk bar fridge air conditioning room was spacious microwave downtown st sink treadmill housekeeping units johns muffins harbour
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 244 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2016 via mobile

My husband and I were relocating to St. John's and chose this hotel because of its pet friendly listing. What you are not told is that if you have a pet, you will be placed in the basement and your room will never be serviced. We struggled with keeping a clean litter box for our cat and not having our trash picked up. We asked if we could access the outdoor trash to dispose of the litter, but that is not allowed. We were told to leave our trash just outside the door and the maids would pick it up, 20 minutes after doing so, we were told to not put trash outside of our room. We had several mixed messages like this when it came to cleaning our room and the cat. After 5 days we were a bit desperate and arranged to take the cat out of our room the next morning and have the room cleaned properly. After waiting 30 minutes past the set time, I called to see if someone was actually coming. They showed up immediately after, took out the trash and replaced the towels. Didn't touch the bedding, or vacuum the floor. We were scheduled to stay for another week, but after this, opted to stay in our empty house on an air mattress instead. As mentioned by another guest, the breakfast is very minimal. Bagels, toast and cereal. I would suggest maybe trying to add some fruit? Apples, bananas?

I've also just found out that our cat has fleas, I can't confirm for certain that he got them at the hotel, but he did not have fleas before coming to Canada.

The location is very good if you have a car, and the staff are very friendly and attempt to be helpful. The rooms upstairs are very nice and open. If you don't have a pet, this would he a great set up for a couple or single needing an extended stay room.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay Canada - St. John's - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2016

Thank you for being so specific in your evaluation of our hotel. Although you found our location convenient, it seems we missed the mark on providing you with the high quality comfort and service we strive to provide. We apologize for the inconsistent information shared by our staff and the confusion it caused. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we will use it to better our hotel for future guests. It is our hope you will consider another stay in the future so we may provide you with the stay you deserve.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2016

Stayed here for 3 days. With breakfast being included in the price, it seemed like good value. The breakfast - no protein, no dairy, no fruit and the worst coffee ever! Taste like dishwater. If you want to fill up on bread, then this is the place for you. We ended up going out every day for breakfast - just to get a decent cup of coffee.
Room was okay except for that noisy in room air conditioner. Bed was okay. You do have a kitchenette so having a larger fridge is nice.
Yes you can walk to downtown in about 10-15 minutes but it is so steep! And walking back up was exhausting. It's not as convenient as they make it sound. It is $7 for a cab ride from Water Street.
Staff at front desk were very helpful.

Room Tip: No real views so wouldn't know what to recommend.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beleafer27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay Canada - St. John's - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2016

We appreciate you being our guest and providing your feedback. We know how important it is to start your day off right with a good breakfast, so we are sorry our selections at our complimentary grab-and-go breakfast didn't live up to your expectations. We will certainly convey your feedback to the appropriate team regarding food and beverage selections at our hotel. We also apologize for the issue you encountered with the air conditioner of your accommodation. We have shared your feedback with our maintenance department to fix the issue. Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you back soon to provide you with the excellent experience you deserve.

Sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights and wouldn't go back. Our room was vey drab, painted brown with a brown carpet. The fridge made this on-and-off loud humming sound all night long. You can hear everything through the walls so sleeping in is impossible. Downtown is about a 15 minute walk away which was fine except that it was all uphill coming back.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank sunny n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay Canada - St. John's - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2016

Sunny,
It's always good to know our guests had an overall good stay with us. We are sorry that you were looking for a suite which was more modern and fresh, and that you were disrupted by noise. We are located in a convenient location and are happy our hotel met your location needs. Will all the positive aspects of your stay overshadowing the minor issues we hope to have you back as our guest again soon.
Thank you for your feedback.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 30, 2016

All good with the exception of the A/C. A/C units were loud and old.... unable to adjust fan speed. Great location for the price. Helpfull staff with a great attitude. Complimentary breakfast was good but not replenished on a regular basis.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bck51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay Canada - St. John's - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2016

Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to review your experience at Extended Stay Canada - St. John's - Downtown. We are glad that you liked our convenient location, helpful associates, the breakfast we served, as well as the great value we offer for the price. However, please accept our apology for the air conditioner not working properly and for the inconvenience this may have caused. Unfortunately, maintenance issues do arise from time to time, and once identified we work as quickly as possible to get everything fully operational. It was our pleasure serving you, and we hope to have you back with us soon.

Sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 30, 2016

No central air - just a noisy portable unit in the room. The breakfast is as cheap as you can get. Dry cereal, milk, toast. The coffee is incredibly weak and there is no fruit whatsoever. The front desk was efficient but told us right off the bat that there was no fruit at breakfast. Mid price range is too high for this place.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank SarahEOttawa_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay Canada - St. John's - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2016

We appreciate you being our guest and providing your constructive feedback. We are disappointed you felt the cost of your stay was not in line with the value you received and apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the air-conditioning unit in your room. We are also sorry our selections at our complimentary grab-and-go breakfast didn't live up to your expectations. We will certainly share all your concerns and observations to the respective departments. Additionally, we regularly review the rates of our suites to make sure they are appropriate relative to other extended stay hotels in our area. We offer affordable nightly rates with discounts for longer stays. We strive to create memorable stays and work hard in meeting every guest’s needs, so we hope you will give us another chance to serve you and provide you with a better stay.

Sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews