We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (245)
Filter reviews
245 results
Traveller rating
59
85
63
23
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
85
63
23
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews medical appointment small kitchenette minute walk bar fridge room was spacious microwave downtown st treadmill sink units johns muffins proximity harbour
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 245 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2016

The reviews were mixed for this hotel, but we wanted to stay in St. Johns for several days for less than $150.00/night.

I did my research by reading many reviews so when we were checking in I made sure our room was on the backside of the property so we did not have to contend with smokers out front. Also made sure we were far from the front door so as not to have to hear the entry bell. With those 2 annoyances taken care of, we had an enjoyable 4 night stay.

The lack of housekeeping is a minor inconvenience. We approached the maid each day to top off our supplies as required and were no worse for wear.

The location is great, it is never more than an 8 buck cab ride to get to the bars or restaurants.

The front desk staff were friendly almost to a fault, so talkative that the check in process took about 20 minutes, but then we found that all over the island.

Modern, clean, quiet, reasonably priced. Good wifi. Plentiful free parking. Don't go there with unrealistic expectations and you won't be disappointed.

Room tip: Stay away from the front doors where the smokers go, and a bell rings, twice, every time the door opens.
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LOUDWORLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay Canada - St. John's - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2016

Thank you for posting your kind review of Extended Stay Canada - St. John's - Downtown. We are glad that you liked our parking facility, affordable rates and your clean room. It is also good to read our housekeeping service was to your satisfaction and that our convenient location was perfect for your needs. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2016

We were quite comfortable, the bedding was nice, the hotel clean and the front desk attendants professional and friendly. Its very close to George St only $6.50 for an entertaining taxi ride. We stay the first 2 night on our arrival to NFL and then 1 night before our departure. Reasonably prices and good location. PS I forgot all my toiletries in the room and upon my return to the hotel they were returned to me. I am grateful for the housekeepers honesty in turning in my belonging to the front desk. Thank you for wonderful memories.

Room tip: We had read that the hotel was noisy. We were on the main level and all was quiet
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mitchyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay Canada - St. John's - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2016

Thank you for your wonderful feedback about your visits to Extended Stay Canada - St. John's – Downtown. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and were pleased with your comfortable bedding, affordable pricing and especially our staff. Each department plays a part and they all work hard to ensure every guest has an amazing experience while they are away from home. It's nice to hear they made a positive difference. We will be sure to share your encouraging comments with them. Thank you again for your business, please come back and see us again soon.

Sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 23, 2016

Booked through Hotwire hot deal. Was happy with this location for my daughter and her friend to visit St johns and celebrate her birthday. If you are planning on using the kitchen check with hotel first because there were no dishes in this unit.

Room tip: check for dishes before using kitchen.
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rollercoasterride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay Canada - St. John's - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2016

Many thanks for the kind feedback about your recent stay at Extended Stay Canada - St. John's - Downtown. We are glad to read that our location was perfect for your family’s needs. Regarding the kitchenware, I would like to inform you that, to ensure cleanliness of the utensils upon check-in, brand standards require us to make these items available at the front desk rather than leaving them in the suites. Our team gladly delivers them to your room. Your feedback is appreciated, and we will remind our front desk to communicate this more clearly going forward. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest, and we look forward to seeing you and your family again!

Sincerely,
General Manager





Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2016 via mobile

Spent a night here at the extended stay while attending the wine show. Accommodations were very reasonable and the bed quite comfortable. Very clean as well. Room had an efficiency unit so very practical. Not a luxury hotel but would certainly recommend staying here at this price point. Reception was very friendly and the location is perfect and close to downtown.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank tilleybishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay Canada - St. John's - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2016

Thank you for your review of Extended Stay Canada – St. John's - Downtown. We are glad you enjoyed a comfortable stay with us and our clean suites, friendly service and convenient location were to your satisfaction. We appreciate you recommending us to others and look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2016 via mobile

Unexpected stay in st John's Newfoundland and I didn't expect this stay gave us a wonderful experience. Everything is just right on the spot. I should've give the five stars, but the price is just a little over priced. Will stay again in the future. Strongly recommend it.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jornine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay Canada - St. John's - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2016

We are delighted you chose to stay at Extended Stay America St. John's - Downtown. We thank you for the wonderful comments and are happy to read that our location was perfect for your needs. We appreciate you recommending us and look forward to seeing you soon!

Sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews