We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$151
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland(St. John's)(Great Value!)
US$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$124
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$151
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$138/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ramada by Wyndham St. John's(St. John's)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$121
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 by Wyndham St Johns(St. John's)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$145
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
JAG(St. John's)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$143
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (237)
Filter reviews
237 results
Traveller rating
59
83
63
19
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
83
63
19
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall kitchenettemedical appointmentminute walkbar fridgeair conditioningyogurttiffanymicrowavedowntownsttreadmillhousekeepingunitssurgeryjohnsproximityharbour
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 237 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2017 via mobile

We found this hotel on a random Hotwire search and again were disappointed with its proximity to the action for a “downtown” hotel. It was clean and safe and full of workers in the area who lived at the hotel, long term. The kitchenette was useful but our basement suite window looked out onto the parking lot right at the entrance to the hotel so we could see everyone checking in (and they could see us). It was a fair hike to downtown and the harbour, and it was a bit of a sketchy journey to take after dark.

Overall, great for a business traveller, but not the best choice for couples or families hoping to explore the heart of the city.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00esa, Manager at Extended Stay Canada - St. John's - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2017

Stuart, we are sorry we missed meeting your expectations. We appreciate you sharing your feedback as it will help us better serve our guests. We hope you will consider choosing us again so that we can provide you with an improved experience.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 19, 2017

A good budget hotel with prices way below similar hotels. Has everything you need and in a quite ok distance to downtown, a bit far to walk for a dinner, but not much for a taxi. They don't have a restaurant, but arrange for takeaway if required

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TTeig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00esa, Manager at Extended Stay Canada - St. John's - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2017

Thank you for being our guest and for letting us know you loved the value we offer. However, we regret if any inconvenience was caused while being here. We appreciate you choosing us and hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2017

Notes from my recent visit (I checked out on Sept. 26):

- A reasonably good facility. One unexpected characteristic: The hotel was apparently built without air conditioning in the rooms, so they subsequently put in portable air conditioners. These are the size of a large suitcase, sit on the floor by the window, and have a vent pipe (the same as your dryer at home, about 4" in diameter) to transfer heat to the outside. The solution works, but arguably they should have instead put in through-the-wall A/C units.

- There aren't any PCs and printers available to guests. This isn't a problem unless you get to St. John's by air and leave the same way. In my case, I had to go to a Staples location about 15 minutes away to print out my boarding passes for my return flights. (If you use a smartphone for boarding passes, of course, no need for paper documentation.)

- No newspapers available at the hotel, but adequate shopping is available about 2-10 minutes away from the hotel.

- Very helpful staff facilitated connecting my tablet PC to the hotel's WiFi.

- Housekeeping seems okay.

- Dishes and silverware available on request. The hotel provides a kit in a plastic storage box. The rooms have a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, and toaster.

- Fitness center good for those of us who use the treadmill for walking.

- Limited continental breakfast available 6-10 AM daily.

- Location is about 5-10 minutes from the downtown area. I agree with the previous review that says it's a good home base for exploring St. John's and the Avalon Peninsula. (Take your GPS app or separate device.)

- Guest laundry available. $6 Canadian needed for each load ($2 each for soap, washer, and dryer).

- TV service is okay. The PBS network is available (unusual for any hotel), along with both Canadian and US cable news outlets.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlennW0147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00esa, Manager at Extended Stay Canada - St. John's - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2017

Glen, thank you for your great comments and review of your visit to our hotel. We pride ourselves on delivering exceptional service to our guests and it sounds like the 'first impressions' were great. However, we apologize we did not fully meet your expectations during your stay. Our goal is to provide the highest customer service, and we continually strive to improve our efforts. We have addressed your concerns with the facility, and we have shared the feedback with the management in an effort to have the future enhancement. Thank you for being our guest, and we would love the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 26, 2017

Place was clean, staff were fine. Large parking lot with lots of space. I had this eerie feeling that I might get mugged walking across it in the night. Not a thing I can say wrong with the property. Just didn't click with me

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank petesnow123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00esa, Manager at Extended Stay Canada - St. John's - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased your stay with us was comfortable. It was good to have you here, and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2017

We stayed here 10 days while exploring the Avalon Peninsula. A good location within walking distance of the harbor and close to the TCH. The kitchen is adequate with a small grocery/drugstore 1 block away and a supermarket/liquor store a 3 min. drive away. The free breakfast is well stocked and clean.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor with a view toward the harbor. Recommended.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank old_wayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay Canada - St. John's - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2017

It was our pleasure having you as our guest at Extended Stay Canada. We are thrilled to know you enjoyed many aspects of your trip, especially the cleanliness of our property and our location which was convenient for your needs. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews