We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality (baby-friendly too...)!”
Review of Cantwell House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. John's
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cantwell House
Ranked #9 of 25 St. John's B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We're a young couple traveling to NL for the first time with our 8 month old baby. We are grateful that Mary and Louie could accommodate us in their lovely historical b and b. Mary even set up a playpen for our baby in our room. We had room 2 on the second floor which had a wonderful view of signal hill. The breakfast was delicious. We had bacon and eggs one day and french toast topped with berries another day. There is a small guest lounge on the third (top) floor with wonderful books and some dvds. The guest lounge is attached to a balcony with spectacular views over the harbour (great for trying to catch the sunrise). Mary and Louie were gracious hosts and helpful with directions and recommendations. Wonderful!

Room Tip: Try to ask for Room 2 for the view of signal hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mintchoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2011

We were fortunate enough to stay four nights at this wonderful bed and breakfast. Unlike some B and B's we stayed at the hosts lived on site. Mary and Louie were so hospitable and gracious and made us feel very welcome and at home. We stayed for three nights and liked it so much we changed our plans to stay a fourth night later in our vacation. We stayed in two different rooms that were equipped with a small fridge, television, etc. The rooms had ensuite bathrooms, were very well appointed and spotlessly clean. The view was breathtaking - this B and B was in the heart of St. John's and overlooked that Harbour so not only could we walk everywhere, we could see the Atlantic Ocean and the ships in the harbour. There was a common area that was equipped with a computer, all kinds of books etc. Off of this area was a large balcony that we sat out on every evening of our stay. We watched the ships in the harbour and had a clear view of Signal Point. Breakfasts were sublime ..... Tessa worked at the B and B and made some of the best breakfasts we had in Newfoundland! I can't recommend this B and B enough and we are looking forward to a return visit. Tracie O'Keefe and Paul McGoveran

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TracieOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

I got in at the last minute and I was glad I did. Mary and Louis took care of me like I was a guest, and not a customer. For travelling alone for the first time to St. John's, I was made to feel at home. It was a convenient location to go everywhere, and if I didnt know how to get there, Mary or Louis just took me there :D. Tessa was such a help as well, and very friendly.

Room Tip: Comfy beds and private baths, and awesome homemade breakfasts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SmyrnaGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Our stay at Cantwell House was wonderful for several reasons, but the top one was the ever helpful, always friendly and welcoming owner, Mary. She makes every guest feel like family and makes the entire Bed and Breakfast feel like your own home.

Room Tip: Room 3 is bright and airy, Room 4 is lovely and large, but on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bytown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2010

While in Australia, we made our booking directly with Cantwell House and were definitely not disappointed. Mary and Louis were extremely friendly and hospital.
Our intention was to start our trip visiting each province and St John's was the beginning with three nights at Cantwell House.

Cantwell House is an older style building with three levels. The rooms are large and homely. Within a short time of arriving, our hosts took us to a country western concert at the nearby Gower United Church. The weather was cool with light showers however we took very opportunity possible to see as much as St John's as possible.

Each morning, we had a lovely home cooked breakfast as this is a B&B.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UniquePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

The view of the harbour was fantastic. The house was withing walking distance to downtown and most attractions. The hosts were very informative about things to see and do. Would highly recommend Cantwell House B & B.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ngaudet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

Our host Mary was gracious and helpful. The accommodations were tidy, comfortable and spacious. The room we stayed in was great with a good mattress on the foldaway couch. The two breakfast's were generous in their portions and featured a wide variety of local foods as well as normal breakfast staples. A highlight were the fresh baked goods and fruits. Location is good as you are walking distance to the downtown and not too far from any of the tourist attractions of St. John's. We truly felt at home during our stayeat Cantwell House

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cantravel14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 24 in St. John's
342 reviews
Downtown
The Elizabeth Manor Guesthouse
Rendell - Shea Manor
#1 of 25 in St. John's
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
At Wit's Inn
At Wit's Inn
#3 of 25 in St. John's
113 reviews
The Roses Heritage Inn
#2 of 25 in St. John's
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cantwell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cantwell House

Address: 25 Queens Road, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 2A4, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's > Downtown
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in St. John's
Price Range: $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Cantwell Hotel St Johns
Cantwell House Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing