We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
88
20
2
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
88
20
2
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews common room third floor great hosts parking pass newfoundland hospitality three nights home away from home comfortable bed exploring st breakfast each morning lovely room george st walking distance balcony harbour downtown regatta
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 114 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2011

What a great find! Mary and Louie were the perfect host and hostess. We had the two rooms on the third floor and enjoyed the guest lounge and the balcony every day....great view of the city and the harbour...perfect for watching the boats come and go while enjoying a glass of wine. The rooms were spacious, very clean and comfortable and the breakfasts were yummy!!! We enjoyed great conversations with Mary and Tessa every morning and could have lingered all day sharing stories. They gave us great recommendations and even had a parking permit for us to use so we could park on the street without having to walk to far to the house. I would stay there again without hesitation and look forward to our next visit in St. Johns ... I would even stay on the third floor !!!! This B and B is a keeper!!!!

Room Tip: Staying on the third floor of this property was ideal. The guest lounged was right outside our bedroom door and the lounge led out to the balcony that overlooked the city and the harbour. It has like having your own special space even though we had to share it with other guests. We had both rooms on the third floor and shared a bathroom which worked out for us. If you were only in one room and sharing a bath with someone you didn't know this arrangement may not work so well. Third floor could also be a problem for someone that has trouble with stairs.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Gail D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We're a young couple traveling to NL for the first time with our 8 month old baby. We are grateful that Mary and Louie could accommodate us in their lovely historical b and b. Mary even set up a playpen for our baby in our room. We had room 2 on the second floor which had a wonderful view of signal hill. The breakfast was delicious. We had bacon and eggs one day and french toast topped with berries another day. There is a small guest lounge on the third (top) floor with wonderful books and some dvds. The guest lounge is attached to a balcony with spectacular views over the harbour (great for trying to catch the sunrise). Mary and Louie were gracious hosts and helpful with directions and recommendations. Wonderful!

Room Tip: Try to ask for Room 2 for the view of signal hill.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mintchoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We were fortunate enough to stay four nights at this wonderful bed and breakfast. Unlike some B and B's we stayed at the hosts lived on site. Mary and Louie were so hospitable and gracious and made us feel very welcome and at home. We stayed for three nights and liked it so much we changed our plans to stay a fourth night later in our vacation. We stayed in two different rooms that were equipped with a small fridge, television, etc. The rooms had ensuite bathrooms, were very well appointed and spotlessly clean. The view was breathtaking - this B and B was in the heart of St. John's and overlooked that Harbour so not only could we walk everywhere, we could see the Atlantic Ocean and the ships in the harbour. There was a common area that was equipped with a computer, all kinds of books etc. Off of this area was a large balcony that we sat out on every evening of our stay. We watched the ships in the harbour and had a clear view of Signal Point. Breakfasts were sublime ..... Tessa worked at the B and B and made some of the best breakfasts we had in Newfoundland! I can't recommend this B and B enough and we are looking forward to a return visit. Tracie O'Keefe and Paul McGoveran

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TracieOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2011

I got in at the last minute and I was glad I did. Mary and Louis took care of me like I was a guest, and not a customer. For travelling alone for the first time to St. John's, I was made to feel at home. It was a convenient location to go everywhere, and if I didnt know how to get there, Mary or Louis just took me there :D. Tessa was such a help as well, and very friendly.

Room Tip: Comfy beds and private baths, and awesome homemade breakfasts!
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SmyrnaGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Our stay at Cantwell House was wonderful for several reasons, but the top one was the ever helpful, always friendly and welcoming owner, Mary. She makes every guest feel like family and makes the entire Bed and Breakfast feel like your own home.

Room Tip: Room 3 is bright and airy, Room 4 is lovely and large, but on the street.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bytown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews