We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
88
20
2
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
88
20
2
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews common room third floor great hosts parking pass newfoundland hospitality three nights home away from home comfortable bed exploring st breakfast each morning lovely room george st walking distance balcony harbour downtown regatta
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 114 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Wonderful location, hosts, rooms and view! The breakfasts were also huge and delicious! Would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emilie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Our stay at Cantwell House was fantastic. Mary and Louie are terrific ambassadors for St. John's and Newfoundland in general. They both spent time chatting with us and offering suggestions for places to visit/eat and Louie even drove us a short distance to Quidi Vidi so we wouldn't struggle finding a place to park. The B & B was perfect for our two night stay; both rooms were spotless and well appointed and the beds were comfy. The house is lovely and full of character and located within very easy walking distance to everything. The top floor lounge and deck is great. Breakfasts were delicious and all we would want to start our day (loved the bowl of fresh fruit salad). I would go back to Cantwell House in an instant!

Room Tip: Room #2 has a lovely view of the harbour.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Mary and Louie are great hosts and run a wonderfully comfortable B&B. I'd stay there again without hesitation. I was satisfied with location, breakfast, and the bedrooms. I don't think you'll regret staying here.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
Thank Iryna I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Mary and Lou were the most gracious hosts. Rooms spacious and spotless! Yummy breakfasts! Loved the old house and all it's character. Felt like walking up my Nanny's stairs.
The view form the deck was the best. Facing east, the sunrise, the harbour and Signal Hill, Can't think of a better way to start and end the day watching the boats come and go.

Room Tip: private bath's for the second floor rooms.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lulustreeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2011

This was our second visit to Cantwell House. The hosts, Mary and Louis, couldn't have been more welcoming or helpful. They are just the nicest people, and "real" Newfoundlanders. The rooms are lovely, clean as a whistle, with comfortable beds and great bathrooms with luxurious towels, everything you could ever need. The top floor has a great deck with big chairs that looks out over the beautiful St. John's harbour. The dining room is one big table so that guests can meet and exchange experiences, and the breakfast--what can I say? Eggs Benedict! Delicious. Cantwell House is within walking distance of museums, shops, and George Street. This is the best B and B we have ever stayed at. I'd recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rodmaryk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews