We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful start to Newfoundland Vacation”
Review of Cantwell House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. John's
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cantwell House
Ranked #9 of 25 St. John's B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Mary and Louis made our first stop in Newfoundland very memorable. Great welcome,large room, comfortable bed, super breakfast, wonderful view from third floor deck. Location could not have been better for walking the downtown ,waterfront , the Rooms and Basilica.
We were there during a hot spell so our windows were wide open and we did find it a bit noisy late into the night (weekend).
Would recommend this B & B to our friends

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kadecd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed four days and wished it could have been longer. The weather was cold and foggy but the warmth of our hosts made our visit to St Johns memorable. Every morning was a treat with a wonderful breakfast accompanied by tales of Newfoundland. We were with friends and we were lucky enough to have the two rooms on the top floor. The view from the balcony ( when the fog cleared ) was spectacular and the use of the sitting room and computer was great. I would go back in a heartbeat and would recommend this place to anyone. The location was quiet but within easy walking distance of most amenities.

Room Tip: The top floor has easy access to the balcony and has a small sitting room too, with use of a compute...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annwoodrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Wonderful location, hosts, rooms and view! The breakfasts were also huge and delicious! Would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emilie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Our stay at Cantwell House was fantastic. Mary and Louie are terrific ambassadors for St. John's and Newfoundland in general. They both spent time chatting with us and offering suggestions for places to visit/eat and Louie even drove us a short distance to Quidi Vidi so we wouldn't struggle finding a place to park. The B & B was perfect for our two night stay; both rooms were spotless and well appointed and the beds were comfy. The house is lovely and full of character and located within very easy walking distance to everything. The top floor lounge and deck is great. Breakfasts were delicious and all we would want to start our day (loved the bowl of fresh fruit salad). I would go back to Cantwell House in an instant!

Room Tip: Room #2 has a lovely view of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KimmyK09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Mary and Louie are great hosts and run a wonderfully comfortable B&B. I'd stay there again without hesitation. I was satisfied with location, breakfast, and the bedrooms. I don't think you'll regret staying here.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
Thank Iryna I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Mary and Lou were the most gracious hosts. Rooms spacious and spotless! Yummy breakfasts! Loved the old house and all it's character. Felt like walking up my Nanny's stairs.
The view form the deck was the best. Facing east, the sunrise, the harbour and Signal Hill, Can't think of a better way to start and end the day watching the boats come and go.

Room Tip: private bath's for the second floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lulustreeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

This was our second visit to Cantwell House. The hosts, Mary and Louis, couldn't have been more welcoming or helpful. They are just the nicest people, and "real" Newfoundlanders. The rooms are lovely, clean as a whistle, with comfortable beds and great bathrooms with luxurious towels, everything you could ever need. The top floor has a great deck with big chairs that looks out over the beautiful St. John's harbour. The dining room is one big table so that guests can meet and exchange experiences, and the breakfast--what can I say? Eggs Benedict! Delicious. Cantwell House is within walking distance of museums, shops, and George Street. This is the best B and B we have ever stayed at. I'd recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rodmaryk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#16 of 23 in St. John's
406 reviews
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 23 in St. John's
614 reviews
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#6 of 23 in St. John's
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Delta by Marriott St. John's Conference Centre
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 23 in St. John's
337 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cantwell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cantwell House

Address: 25 Queens Road, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 2A4, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's > Downtown
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in St. John's
Price Range: $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Cantwell Hotel St Johns
Cantwell House Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing