We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great introduction to Newfoundland”
Review of Cantwell House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. John's
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cantwell House
Ranked #9 of 25 St. John's B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2012

A belated thank-you to Mary and Louis for showing us what Newfoundland hospitality is all about. What a way to start 2 fabulous weeks in your beautiful province.
My husband and I travelled to NL with friends the last week in May and first week in June. In all we stayed 8 days at Cantwell House and when we returned in the evening from a full day of sight-seeing, shopping and eating , it always felt like coming home. We were welcomed by Mary on our first night ( a very late arrival) and she was happy to point us in the direction of a 24 hour restaurant. The hot and cold breakfast every morning was a great start to the day and Louis did a masterful job of keeping things different every morning, no easy feat when you are there for a week. I loved the partridgeberry and bakeapple spreads!!
After 2 nights on the top floor next to the common room, we were moved down to Room #2. Both rooms were immaculate (thank-you Geraldine) with very comfortable beds However, the top room does not have an ensuite, but rather a bathroom across the hall. We were fine with both but did appreciate the ensuite when we moved. And the view.
We enjoyed our evenings in the common room or on the terrace when weather permitted. A bottle of wine and a spectacular view of Signal Hill and St. John's harbour was a very nice way to end the day.
Parking was no problem- Mary and Louis gave us a parking pass to hang from the rear-view mirror and we always found parking within a block of the house.
The house is well situated and we were able to walk everywhere- some walks longer than others. This included Signal Hill and North Head trail down to the Battery district, the village of Quidi Vidi as well as 5 minute trips to the Rooms and the Basilica and lots of shops and restaurants just minutes away. Be forewarned, though, that St. John's is hilly and you will get your work-out no matter where you walk.
The main attraction for us were the hosts- Mary and Louis. But they have preserved the wonderful Victorian charm of the house with all its nooks and crannies and creaks. We would love to go back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor have their own ensuite. Room #2 was perfect for us- lots of room for us as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurie-Frank88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2012

I love this friendly, beautiful, well located B&B. Mary and Louie are so helpful and full of information and ideas for your Newfoundland travel - not just St John's! The historic house is perfectly situated if you are a walker or have a car - right in the centre of things on the hill. The 3 rooms are elegant and tasteful with a common room that has a balcony that overlooks the harbour. I loved to sip wine at the end of a busy sightseeing day out there.They make a hot breakfast with lots of variety. I stayed for several nights and they were very thoughtful about making sure I had different foods each day. St John's is a wonderful destination and Cantwell House made it fun and special.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely but I asked for the one with the view of the harbour. Rooms all have full bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jturecki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed on the busiest day of the year -- St. John's Regatta Day. This place is spotlessly clean and they even provided us a parking pass and served a lovely full, hot breakfast to boot. Views over St. John's Harbour impressive! Friendly, helpful hosts made our stay special. Great downtown location near The Rooms and the huge Church (which we toured) and funky shops.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irisheyesvictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed at this B & B during the last week of July. It is a very peaceful setting, with wonderful views over St. John's harbour from the balcony. We were made to feel very welcome. The breakfasts were excellent and abundant. Mary, the hostess, was very kind and helpful.
We would highly recommend this B&B for its cleanliness, peacefulness, delicious breakfasts and especially the kindness of its owners.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hnry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Mary and Louis made our first stop in Newfoundland very memorable. Great welcome,large room, comfortable bed, super breakfast, wonderful view from third floor deck. Location could not have been better for walking the downtown ,waterfront , the Rooms and Basilica.
We were there during a hot spell so our windows were wide open and we did find it a bit noisy late into the night (weekend).
Would recommend this B & B to our friends

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kadecd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed four days and wished it could have been longer. The weather was cold and foggy but the warmth of our hosts made our visit to St Johns memorable. Every morning was a treat with a wonderful breakfast accompanied by tales of Newfoundland. We were with friends and we were lucky enough to have the two rooms on the top floor. The view from the balcony ( when the fog cleared ) was spectacular and the use of the sitting room and computer was great. I would go back in a heartbeat and would recommend this place to anyone. The location was quiet but within easy walking distance of most amenities.

Room Tip: The top floor has easy access to the balcony and has a small sitting room too, with use of a compute...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annwoodrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Wonderful location, hosts, rooms and view! The breakfasts were also huge and delicious! Would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emilie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
The Elizabeth Manor Guesthouse
The Roses Heritage Inn
#2 of 25 in St. John's
166 reviews
Rendell - Shea Manor
#1 of 25 in St. John's
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
At Wit's Inn
At Wit's Inn
#3 of 25 in St. John's
114 reviews
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 24 in St. John's
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cantwell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cantwell House

Address: 25 Queens Road, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 2A4, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's > Downtown
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in St. John's
Price Range: $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Cantwell Hotel St Johns
Cantwell House Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing