We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
88
20
2
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
88
20
2
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews common room third floor great hosts parking pass newfoundland hospitality three nights home away from home comfortable bed exploring st breakfast each morning lovely room george st walking distance balcony harbour downtown regatta
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 114 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I love this friendly, beautiful, well located B&B. Mary and Louie are so helpful and full of information and ideas for your Newfoundland travel - not just St John's! The historic house is perfectly situated if you are a walker or have a car - right in the centre of things on the hill. The 3 rooms are elegant and tasteful with a common room that has a balcony that overlooks the harbour. I loved to sip wine at the end of a busy sightseeing day out there.They make a hot breakfast with lots of variety. I stayed for several nights and they were very thoughtful about making sure I had different foods each day. St John's is a wonderful destination and Cantwell House made it fun and special.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely but I asked for the one with the view of the harbour. Rooms all have full bathrooms.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jturecki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed on the busiest day of the year -- St. John's Regatta Day. This place is spotlessly clean and they even provided us a parking pass and served a lovely full, hot breakfast to boot. Views over St. John's Harbour impressive! Friendly, helpful hosts made our stay special. Great downtown location near The Rooms and the huge Church (which we toured) and funky shops.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irisheyesvictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed at this B & B during the last week of July. It is a very peaceful setting, with wonderful views over St. John's harbour from the balcony. We were made to feel very welcome. The breakfasts were excellent and abundant. Mary, the hostess, was very kind and helpful.
We would highly recommend this B&B for its cleanliness, peacefulness, delicious breakfasts and especially the kindness of its owners.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hnry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Mary and Louis made our first stop in Newfoundland very memorable. Great welcome,large room, comfortable bed, super breakfast, wonderful view from third floor deck. Location could not have been better for walking the downtown ,waterfront , the Rooms and Basilica.
We were there during a hot spell so our windows were wide open and we did find it a bit noisy late into the night (weekend).
Would recommend this B & B to our friends

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kadecd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed four days and wished it could have been longer. The weather was cold and foggy but the warmth of our hosts made our visit to St Johns memorable. Every morning was a treat with a wonderful breakfast accompanied by tales of Newfoundland. We were with friends and we were lucky enough to have the two rooms on the top floor. The view from the balcony ( when the fog cleared ) was spectacular and the use of the sitting room and computer was great. I would go back in a heartbeat and would recommend this place to anyone. The location was quiet but within easy walking distance of most amenities.

Room Tip: The top floor has easy access to the balcony and has a small sitting room too, with use of a computer. The rooms are clean, comfortable and quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annwoodrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews