We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
86
20
2
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
86
20
2
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommon roomthird floorgreat hostsparking passnewfoundland hospitalitythree nightshome away from homecomfortable bedexploring stbreakfast each morninglovely roomgeorge stwalking distancebalconyharbourdowntownregatta
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 112 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I booked a three-night stay at the Cantwell House B&B for the start of a nine-day holiday in Newfoundland and Labrador. The Cantwell House is quite well located in the city - within walking distance to the downtown and all those famous streets! Just be prepared for the steep climbs up and down the hills!.
The house itself is very comfortable - we were given the third floor bedroom - queen bed, shared bath, but no one else was on the third floor, so we had it all to ourselves. I believe the third floor is rented out to family groups usually. There is a living room on the third floor and a computer with printer available to visitors. The view form the third floor balcony is stunning - looking out to the harbour and Chain Rock at the harbour mouth.
Our very charming hostess, Mary, made our visit especially good - lots of stories about the old days in Newfoundland and lots of advice about where to go and how long it will take to walk there (always double the estimate!). Breakfast each day offered quite a lot of variety - cold cereals, eggs, fresh fruit, yogurts - no one could possibly go hungry!
Definitely a good way to start a holiday in Newfoundland and Labrador.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shannonvillegreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2012

A belated thank-you to Mary and Louis for showing us what Newfoundland hospitality is all about. What a way to start 2 fabulous weeks in your beautiful province.
My husband and I travelled to NL with friends the last week in May and first week in June. In all we stayed 8 days at Cantwell House and when we returned in the evening from a full day of sight-seeing, shopping and eating , it always felt like coming home. We were welcomed by Mary on our first night ( a very late arrival) and she was happy to point us in the direction of a 24 hour restaurant. The hot and cold breakfast every morning was a great start to the day and Louis did a masterful job of keeping things different every morning, no easy feat when you are there for a week. I loved the partridgeberry and bakeapple spreads!!
After 2 nights on the top floor next to the common room, we were moved down to Room #2. Both rooms were immaculate (thank-you Geraldine) with very comfortable beds However, the top room does not have an ensuite, but rather a bathroom across the hall. We were fine with both but did appreciate the ensuite when we moved. And the view.
We enjoyed our evenings in the common room or on the terrace when weather permitted. A bottle of wine and a spectacular view of Signal Hill and St. John's harbour was a very nice way to end the day.
Parking was no problem- Mary and Louis gave us a parking pass to hang from the rear-view mirror and we always found parking within a block of the house.
The house is well situated and we were able to walk everywhere- some walks longer than others. This included Signal Hill and North Head trail down to the Battery district, the village of Quidi Vidi as well as 5 minute trips to the Rooms and the Basilica and lots of shops and restaurants just minutes away. Be forewarned, though, that St. John's is hilly and you will get your work-out no matter where you walk.
The main attraction for us were the hosts- Mary and Louis. But they have preserved the wonderful Victorian charm of the house with all its nooks and crannies and creaks. We would love to go back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor have their own ensuite. Room #2 was perfect for us- lots of room for us as well as storage. Nice view.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurie-Frank88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I love this friendly, beautiful, well located B&B. Mary and Louie are so helpful and full of information and ideas for your Newfoundland travel - not just St John's! The historic house is perfectly situated if you are a walker or have a car - right in the centre of things on the hill. The 3 rooms are elegant and tasteful with a common room that has a balcony that overlooks the harbour. I loved to sip wine at the end of a busy sightseeing day out there.They make a hot breakfast with lots of variety. I stayed for several nights and they were very thoughtful about making sure I had different foods each day. St John's is a wonderful destination and Cantwell House made it fun and special.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely but I asked for the one with the view of the harbour. Rooms all have full bathrooms.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jturecki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed on the busiest day of the year -- St. John's Regatta Day. This place is spotlessly clean and they even provided us a parking pass and served a lovely full, hot breakfast to boot. Views over St. John's Harbour impressive! Friendly, helpful hosts made our stay special. Great downtown location near The Rooms and the huge Church (which we toured) and funky shops.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irisheyesvictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed at this B & B during the last week of July. It is a very peaceful setting, with wonderful views over St. John's harbour from the balcony. We were made to feel very welcome. The breakfasts were excellent and abundant. Mary, the hostess, was very kind and helpful.
We would highly recommend this B&B for its cleanliness, peacefulness, delicious breakfasts and especially the kindness of its owners.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hnry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews