We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous St. Johns stay”
Review of Cantwell House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. John's
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cantwell House
Ranked #9 of 25 St. John's B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2015

We were delighted with our 4 night stay at Cantwell House. The location was perfect;easily walkable to downtown, The Rooms, and other local sights. It was great to have a parking pass so we could park right outside on the street. Our upstairs room was beautifully appointed: the bed was deliciously comfortable and the bedding gorgeous. Everything was perfectly clean and thoughtfully presented. Audrey was the perfect host- she appeared to have all the time in the world to chat with us and she was a great resource for things to do and see. Breakfasts were varied and bountiful and delicious. The nighttime treats of freshly baked cookies were such a bonus!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank GreyGanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2015

Cantrell House was a welcoming place to stay. It is spotless and very comfortable. Breakfast left us full and satisfied! The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because it is a bit pricey. If you don't mind spending extra for a great location, comfort and cleanliness, then this is your place!

Stayed: August 2015
1  Thank roxanne r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2015

We stayed for 5 nights during sour honeymoon & Audrey + Kayla made our visit one we will never forget. Breakfasts were outstanding.. Beds very comfortable & the view from the patio was breath taking. We met many friendly visitors there too & every day learned more great tips. Each afternoon when we returned another yummy treat was waiting! Thanks, Kerry & Andy Walsh

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 996kerrya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2015

everything about our stay at cantwell was over and above what we were expecting. audrey was welcoming and courteous, and our main level room was spacious and very clean, as well as nicely decorated. we stayed four nights in late june, and audrey helped many times with recommendations. breakfast was different each morning, and delicious each time. it was fun getting to know other tourists (and we happened to meet some a few times more as our trip progressed).
we are planning another trip to newfoundland next summer and will definitely book again with cantwell for our time in st john's.


Room Tip: i heard many say that you have to take the top floor rooms for the view of the common area, but sinc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Joel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2015

We stayed four nights with at Cantwell House and found the location convenient for exploring St John's on foot. Our room was large and comfortable, the breakfasts were wonderful and Audrey, our relaxed host created a great ambience and provided helpful comments about what to see and even helped us get a dinner reservation.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jeannettek172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2015

Excellent accommodations and the breakfast was outstanding...The friendliness of Audrey and her boyfriend was a wonderful experience on our first day in Newfoundland..I would definately stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank irishojos1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2015

The Cantwell House was an excellent place to stay! It was a very clean, comfortable and at home house! Audrey was a friendly host who was very helpful answering any questions we had about the area. The Cantwell House is kept in a wonderfully inviting manner. The top floor has a common lounge area from which you can view the St John's harbor and Signal Hill, There is free WiFi and delicious breakfasts! Parking is free on the street and very convenient to park. All in all the location is perfect and is in walking distance to Waters and Duckworth Streets. You won't regret staying here.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Donna1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
The Elizabeth Manor Guesthouse
The Roses Heritage Inn
#2 of 25 in St. John's
166 reviews
Rendell - Shea Manor
#1 of 25 in St. John's
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
At Wit's Inn
At Wit's Inn
#3 of 25 in St. John's
114 reviews
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 24 in St. John's
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cantwell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cantwell House

Address: 25 Queens Road, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 2A4, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's > Downtown
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in St. John's
Price Range: $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Cantwell Hotel St Johns
Cantwell House Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing