We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
89
20
2
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
89
20
2
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews common room third floor top floor great hosts parking pass newfoundland hospitality three nights home away from home front of the house comfortable bed exploring st breakfast each morning lovely room breakfast was excellent hot breakfast george st walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 115 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2016

Our May/June visit to Newfoundland began in St. John’s with a four night stay at Cantwell House. The B&B is ideally situated, within walking distance of St. John’s downtown restaurants and pubs, and many points of interest. Our room was clean and comfortable, and the breakfasts were delicious. Audrey and Kayla made us feel welcome, and we enjoyed our morning chats and their suggestions of places to visit and things to see. A plate of freshly baked cookies left near the entrance was a welcome daily treat as we returned from our days’ adventures.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank StaryGosc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 19, 2016

Cantwell House is within walking distance of so many sights, including Jellybean Row, The Rooms, shops and restaurants. If you are a hiker, as one of our party is, you can easily get to Cape Spear on foot as well. This is a lovely old house, lovingly preserved, with all the amenities. Comfortable beds, extremely clean. Audrey is a wonderful, warm, friendly host, and she'll give you any local info you need. Her breakfasts are sumptuously delicious. But the back deck - ah, it is to die for! A breathtaking view of the harbour, where we sang to the full moon (or perhaps bayed at the moon is more of an accurate description of our singing skills). Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Third floor has a shared bathroom, which works for families.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 18, 2016

We so enjoyed our stay at Cantwell House in St. John's!! It's a lovely bed and breakfast right in the heart of the downtown! Everything was in walking distance. The room was just right for us and we really enjoyed going up to the third floor and sitting on the little balcony overlooking the city and water! Audrey is an excellent host and very hospitable! She went out of her way with my food allergies as well! Everything was perfect and we will definitely be back next time we're in St. John's!!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank doll40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 16, 2016

Look no further for the best B&B in St. John's! It is a historic, elegant, Southcott style home with high ceilings, hardwood floors located in the heart of downtown. One of the best features for me was the third floor balcony overlooking downtown , Signal Hill and the Narrows. Incredible sunrise views! Audrey and Beverly are both very gracious hosts! Breakfasts were excellent with lots of choices. The rooms beautifully decorated. Very comfortable bed. A small fridge in each room was helpful to keep drinks cold. Loved our 2 night stay here, was reluctant to leave and would love to visit again! Thanks Audrey!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jzjsolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2016

We have stayed here several times over the years. It is our go-to place in St. John's due to it's prime location, excellent breakfasts, and wonderful staff.

Audrey and Beverly did everything they could to make our 3-day stay in St. John's a memorable one. They are both very sweet and charming. And the breakfasts were soooo good! We chose the same room as always---second floor with a view towards Signal Hill. We were pleasantly surprised that they have added small fridges to the rooms.

We'll definitely stay there again on our next trip.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews