We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Cantwell House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. John's
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cantwell House
Ranked #9 of 25 St. John's B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Audrey has the most amazing B&B. The bedding and towels are luxurious, the furnishings are beautiful and then there are Audrey's breakfasts...you will need to walk the hills of St. John's for sure. You are close to all of downtown with the shops, art galleries, restaurants and of course George St. - all in walking distance. And then there is Audrey herself....she makes you feel like you're at home, she's full of tourist information and she's just a warm person. Thanks Audrey!

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2017

Centrally located. Great top floor deck overlooking the city. Clean. Audrey is a great host. Definitely recommend. Would have liked a bigger breakfast (since we don't do lunch). Croissant with egg and avocado first morning, French toast morning 2 and a scrambled egg with bacon day three. Selection of cold cereals, fresh fruit and yogurts

Room Tip: I'm sure all are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank agoffredo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

The Cantwell House definitely has everything going for it. We stayed for three nights while exploring St. John's during the busy regatta and festival days and found that we could walk to most venues from this location. Our room was very clean with a comfortable bed and an ensuite bathroom with the "best towels in the world". The third floor lounge and balcony are a real bonus offering great views of the harbour and quiet repose after a day out. Last, but definitely not least, is Audrey and her wonderful breakfasts and winning hospitality. She sets a great table and creates an atmosphere that can't help but make friends out of strangers around the breakfast table. Audrey, it was a pleasure. Keep up the good work.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gumby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed out first 3 nights in St. John's and then again at the end of our trip. Audrey epitomizes all that is said about Newfoundland hospitality. Breakfasts were varied and plentiful rooms with character and the view of the harbour and colourful saltboxes just below us.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank LindaBTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at Cantwell House. We arrived on a late flight and found an envelope with our name on it that included needed information and a parking pass. Our "pink" room was very spacious with a sofa to sit on, as well as the comfortable queen size bed. Our pink towels were very soft and fluffy. :-) Breakfast was served downstairs. Our hostess, Audrey, was great. The location of the B & B is central and very good for walkers as we were able to walk to everything we wanted to see.
Overall, no hesitation in recommending this B & B.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank LonyM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017 via mobile

Thanks Audrey for a great experience. We had a third floor room with a common room that had a balcony. Breakfast was varied all three days and very delicious, often more than we can eat. Audrey is friendly and helpful. Our bed comfortable, wifi worked pretty good. We walked the 1 km or less to George street. The harbour is only a few blocks away.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ss987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016

My wife and I traveled around eastern NL during the last two weeks of Sept 2016 staying in B & Bs. We would have no hesitation returning to any of them. We loved the look and feel of Cantwell House the moment we pulled the car up in front. This was amplified as we were welcomed inside by Audrey. Our room was up one flight of stairs and was appointed well. We had enough room to open luggage and move about. It was good to have a large window that we could open for fresh air, and we weren't disturbed by any city noise. There is a fine looking common room with a balcony on the third floor. The location of Cantwell House makes visits to downtown an easy walk. Audrey served us fruit, toast and an omelette for breakfast, plus there was a selection of dry cereals. We enjoyed having Audrey tell us a little about herself as we were finishing our meal.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 24 in St. John's
342 reviews
Downtown
The Elizabeth Manor Guesthouse
Rendell - Shea Manor
#1 of 25 in St. John's
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
At Wit's Inn
At Wit's Inn
#3 of 25 in St. John's
114 reviews
The Roses Heritage Inn
#2 of 25 in St. John's
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cantwell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cantwell House

Address: 25 Queens Road, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 2A4, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's > Downtown
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in St. John's
Price Range: $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Cantwell Hotel St Johns
Cantwell House Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing