We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ramada by Wyndham St. John's(St. John's)(Great Value!)
US$106
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland(St. John's)(Great Value!)
US$160
US$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
JAG(St. John's)(Great Value!)
US$126
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Super 8 by Wyndham St Johns(St. John's)(Great Value!)
US$91
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
US$110
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$180/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$137
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$129
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
85
17
2
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
85
17
2
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommon roomthird floorgreat hostsparking passnewfoundland hospitalitythree nightshome away from homecomfortable bedexploring stgeorge stwalking distancebalconyharbourdowntownregattalounge
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 108 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2017

Centrally located. Great top floor deck overlooking the city. Clean. Audrey is a great host. Definitely recommend. Would have liked a bigger breakfast (since we don't do lunch). Croissant with egg and avocado first morning, French toast morning 2 and a scrambled egg with bacon day three. Selection of cold cereals, fresh fruit and yogurts

Room Tip: I'm sure all are good
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank agoffredo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2017 via mobile

The Cantwell House definitely has everything going for it. We stayed for three nights while exploring St. John's during the busy regatta and festival days and found that we could walk to most venues from this location. Our room was very clean with a comfortable bed and an ensuite bathroom with the "best towels in the world". The third floor lounge and balcony are a real bonus offering great views of the harbour and quiet repose after a day out. Last, but definitely not least, is Audrey and her wonderful breakfasts and winning hospitality. She sets a great table and creates an atmosphere that can't help but make friends out of strangers around the breakfast table. Audrey, it was a pleasure. Keep up the good work.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gumby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 14, 2017 via mobile

We stayed out first 3 nights in St. John's and then again at the end of our trip. Audrey epitomizes all that is said about Newfoundland hospitality. Breakfasts were varied and plentiful rooms with character and the view of the harbour and colourful saltboxes just below us.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank LindaBTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 28, 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at Cantwell House. We arrived on a late flight and found an envelope with our name on it that included needed information and a parking pass. Our "pink" room was very spacious with a sofa to sit on, as well as the comfortable queen size bed. Our pink towels were very soft and fluffy. :-) Breakfast was served downstairs. Our hostess, Audrey, was great. The location of the B & B is central and very good for walkers as we were able to walk to everything we wanted to see.
Overall, no hesitation in recommending this B & B.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank LonyM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 2, 2017 via mobile

Thanks Audrey for a great experience. We had a third floor room with a common room that had a balcony. Breakfast was varied all three days and very delicious, often more than we can eat. Audrey is friendly and helpful. Our bed comfortable, wifi worked pretty good. We walked the 1 km or less to George street. The harbour is only a few blocks away.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ss987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews