We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
25
18
14
8
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
18
14
8
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews room was clean staff were wonderful stayed for nights stay there again kris beds newfoundland fridge housekeeping
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 75 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2017

We had a lovely time at the Guv'nor Inn. The price was reasonable, room clean and staff friendly. It was in a lovely quiet area and easy to drive to from airport in our rental car. Lovely meals at the attached Inn.

Room Tip: We like to have a bedside table each side of bed (for hotel feedback). Also...need more lighting for reading in bed.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FiveHappyTravellers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry W, Manager at The Guv'nor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2017

Thank You for the kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2017

While I haven't had the pleasure of staying at The Guv'nor Inn located in beautiful St. John's, NL I have had the pleasure of speaking with Larry a nice young man who was extremely helpful and accommodating with regards to my request..

I recently won a contest from OZ FM whereby the prize was dinner for two at The Guv'nor Inn, I was unable to use the prize and asked Larry if another family member could and without hesitation he said no problem and made the arrangements..

I'm definitely going to make The Guv'nor Inn my next hotel stay when visiting St. John's. Thank you Larry for being such a gentleman and providing such excellent service.

Cheers! Marlene Butler

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Service
Thank Bonavista2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RNeary, General Manager at The Guv'nor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2017

It was our pleasure to see that your request was taken care of in a timely manner. We look forward to seeing you when you visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2017

Well,promptly invited to sit where we wished, "Jonathan" out special server done an awesome job in taking care of us, in all our needs and took care of any issues professionally.
Done with what we expect ...with NFLD hospitality and with a smile we all come to expect as well .
Under new management,and the owner himself very efficient in making you welcome as well. Looking forward to a game of backgammon!!!!
Washrooms so clean, what a treat.
A good choice for us today ...yay

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank barbara p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RNeary, General Manager at The Guv'nor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2017

Thank you for your kind words....we will pass along the wonderful comments. We pride ourselves in our clean washrooms, thanks you for noticing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2017

The hotel and pub are both very English. Typical carpeting and decoration that reminds you of being in a tiny English pub/B&B. It will feel a bit outdated to most people, and a bit of a musty smell at first, but I personally believe that adds charm to the place. The staff are unbelievably helpful, we ended up in St John's on accident as a result of a medical emergency, and everyone was very kind, helpful, patient and ready to help us get a bite to eat and get a bed to sleep in...ordering a taxi was no problem. Real customer service, and friendly conversation. I would most definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a home feel. If you want sleek and modern this is obviously not the place, it doesn't pretend to be it either. They have roomy fridges in the rooms for plenty of things, and the air conditioners work well.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RNeary, General Manager at The Guv'nor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2017

We are sorry you had to visit under such circumstances, hope all is well. We work hard on trying to create the "English" feel both for the Pub and Inn. We are very fortunate to have a great staff that truly feel that customer service is so important.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 16, 2017

I selected this hotel because it was outside the conjested downtown area of St John's. Yes, I know, it is a very small city with few inhabitants, how can it be conjested? The streets are very narrow and wind along steep hills in a bewildering one-way pattern. Additionally, there are many intersections that do not meet in a modern T cross section, having instead, curves, and multiple roads meeting at various angles. Consequently, it is a pain in the a.... navigating the old city.
The Guvnor cannot be compared with a 4 star modern hotel. But, compared with motels in its price range, it is excellent: clean, quiet, comfortable rooms. Basic amenities, average menu in the attached bar. Free parking. Easy access to highways, shopping, attractions. It is 7 minutes to the waterfront.
The best thing about this place are the people who work there. They are genuinely friendly and helpful. When I told the maintenance manager I wanted to see whales without having to take a boat tour, he told me of a cove 30 min away where the whales were feasting on Capelin (Tors Cove). We went there that morning. We saw over 20 whales from the shoreline.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank petertoronto2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RNeary, General Manager at The Guv'nor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2017

Thank you for your lovely comments. We do pride ourselves our clean, comfortable rooms, with fridges and microwaves. Even though we are not downtown as you mention we are not far. We will of course pass on your comments about our genuinely friendly and helpful staff. That makes us proud.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews