We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveller rating
55
7
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
55
7
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walk in closet heated seat manager chris room hotel the general manager dinner reservations luxurious rooms yogurt perfect location bedroom suite heated floors our night stay water street business trip stayed nights minute walk within walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 65 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2018

Just stopped in for drinks before dinner on a Friday evening. The bartender was friendly but working alone at a busy time and did not appear to be a confident mixologist. The menu is fun and the bar is well stocked. I take issue with the cheap jugs of Compliments juice on the workstation it really ruins the upscale sleek vibe the place is going for. I'm not saying I need fresh-squeezed grapefruit juice, but anywhere that wants to be upscale should have that kind of ingredient decanted into a more fitting container.

Ordered a Manhattan and received an Old Fashioned.
The other drink ordered was also made wrong as it should have had soda in it.

3/5 - Has the makings of a nice place but service and details could be better.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank TMcKenn02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wander786411, General Manager at The Luxus Boutique Hotel and Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our cocktail lounge TMcKenna02.

I am sorry we did not meet your expectations, and will use your constructive criticism to improve our service, and be better prepared for our next guest.

Have a great day, and we look forward to serving you again.

Chris Woodley
General Manager
The Luxus Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2018

We recently spent five nights at the Luxus Boutique Hotel and had a wonderful time. Chris, the manager, was so helpful when we were mistakenly routed to St. John New Brunswick. We finally arrived in St. John's very late, and he waited up for us! Our room was very quiet, comfortable, and luxurious. The rooms have a partial view of the harbor, as the Alt Hotel across the street blocks the full view. The room had complimentary snacks and bottled water, along with a refrigerator. We had a continental breakfast each morning, but a new cafe is coming soon. The bar was lots of fun and the staff members Danny, Heather, & Tristan were extremely helpful with our dinner reservations. Newfoundland is a long trip for most of us, but so worth it. There are lots of lovely things to see and do here, and don't miss the Luxus.

Room tip: All rooms face Water Street and the Harbor.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank D A F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wander786411, General Manager at The Luxus Boutique Hotel and Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2018

Thank you for your review of our Boutique Hotel D A F.

We pride ourselves on our fantastic amenities, and on our staff who will go out of their way to ensure you have a great experience while visiting St. John's.

Thanks as well for mentioning our Luxus Cafe. This should be up and running any day now, and will certainly accentuate our current offerings to our guests.

I hope you have a pleasant day, and look forward to seeing you again one day in the future.

All the best.

Chris Woodley
General Manager
The Luxus Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

From the outside this hotel looked quite ordinary. Once we stepped inside however we saw immediately it was a hotel with a difference. You check in at the bar area and by the way we got two free cocktails with our room which were excellent. And then we were taken to our room. It was super large and luxurious. We had two bedrooms, a very fancy bathroom with a Toto toilet which had all kinds of fun functions, and two flat screen TV’s, one which was enormous. There was an assortment of snacks and soft drinks in the room all which were complimentary. Breakfast was set up in a nearby room down the hallway and complimentary. (Their café is opening soon and in the future breakfast will be available there.) The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is centrally located within walking distance to most everything in town. The top notch Raymond’s restaurant is right across the street. We loved our room and would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded August 27, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our Boutique Hotel Margret S.
We have some fantastic amenities, that set us apart from other hotels, which I am glad you had the chance to enjoy.
Have a great day Margaret S., and we look forward to your return.

Chris Woodley
General Manager
The Luxus Boutique Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2018

The Luxus Boutique Hotel is simply spectacular and was the perfect place to stay. The rooms are gorgeous, spacious beyond expectations and beautifully appointed. Quiet, peaceful and elegant, the hotel is small (only 6 rooms) and wonderfully kept and staffed. A small kitchen area just outside the front door of our room had everything we needed for breakfast (fresh pastries every morning along with fruit and cereal and Nespresso coffee maker) and late night snacks. Chris, the general manager, was always available with anything we needed and offered up perfect advice for touring and places to see. We had planned to stay only one night and extended for two just prior to our arrival . Fortunately, we were able to stay and enjoy the beauty of this fantastic hotel.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded August 20, 2018

Thank you for this review of our hotel Liz L.

I am glad we were able to accommodate your request for an extra night, and pleased that you had an exceptional stay. We strive to meet all of our guests expectations, and it does our hearts good to know we exceed them.

Have a great day Liz L., We look forward to hopefully seeing you again one day soon.

Chris Woodley
General Manager
The Luxus Boutique Hotel St.. John's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 3, 2018

We dropped into the bar before going for dinner downtown, Michael the bar tender was charming and manged our eclectic taste in drinks well and created a fabulous cocktail for our most fussy guest. Will definitely be going back

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded August 9, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our Cocktail Lounge Catherine S. We have a the finest cocktail lounge, and our bartenders truly enjoy handcrafting some specialty drinks with our fresh berries and fruit. You may be interested to know we are in the process of opening the Luxus Cafe in the near future.
Have a great day and thanks again.

Chris Woodley
General Manager
The Luxus Boutique Hotel, Lounge and coming soon Cafe!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews