We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
113
13
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
113
13
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pitlarinda's landinga great vacationpeggy's covethe crow's nestnova scotiathe cottagesan easy drivest margaret's bayshort driveperfect locationliving roommeadow cottagewouterhalifaxlaundrytub
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 128 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2017

Everything was excellent except the weather . The only thing that would have made our trip better would be to have two queen size beds instead of a queen and double. Larinda's is centrally located to all the places we wanted to see.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LARRY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 31, 2017

We stayed in the Crow's Nest for 6 nights a few weeks ago. The cottage was very clean, spacious, and nicely decorated. The bathroom was recently renovated and had a very large shower/tub with plenty of room for toiletries and tons of hooks for hanging towels, robes, etc. We had some pretty chilly mornings when we were there so the separate heater in the bathroom and the gas fireplace in the living room came in handy. The bedroom loft was very nice with plenty of room to put all your things. And the view from the room was awesome. I can't speak to the kitchen much because we had all our meals out so the only appliance we used was the fridge. Everything in the kitchen looked fine though. The outside grounds are very pretty and relaxing. I did use the laundry while we were there and it was in good working order and convenient. The customer service was outstanding. We had 2 minor issues when we arrived and Wouter was very helpful in quickly resolving both. Note that they do not have "live" TV, only an Android TV where you can get various shows from channels like Netflix. This turned out to be a welcome respite for me because we're from the States and I got a whole week's break from Trump news.
The location was pretty convenient, being only a few miles from Route 103. 10 minutes from Tantallon which has a lot of chain stores and gas stations, etc. Less than 1/2 hour to Chester which we found had some of our favorite restaurants and shops in the area. Definitely recommend the Rope Loft for dinner and the Kiwi Cafe for breakfast. Also, a really scenic drive from Larinda's to Peggy's Cove. I was thinking tourist trap but we went anyway and I'm glad we did because it was one of my favorite spots in Nova Scotia (as long as you get there early). Larinda's was also fairly convenient to Halifax. The waterfront area was nice but there was so much construction going on that it wasn't the most pleasant experience. We did the Harbour Hopper tour and it was ok but a bit of a snoozefest. But I did learn some interesting things about Halifax and I guess that's the point. Overall, we had a great first trip to Nova Scotia and Larinda's only added to the experience. Btw, if you've never been to Nova Scotia, they seem to have a lot of the friendliest people in the world.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank busytraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larinda, Manager at Larinda's Landing Oceanfront Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2017

Hi There,

Thank you very much for your lovely words and your excellent review on TripAdvisor! We truly appreciate the great feedback from our guests and I am pleased to read that, despite not having regular TV available during your stay, that you still were able to truly enjoy your cottage, the property and the surrounding area!

I wanted to take this opportunity to inform you and any future guests that, as of this week, we will have Satellite TV installed in all our cottages for our returning and future guests to enjoy!

We will be looking forward to welcome you back to our property in the future!

Warm Regards,

Management,
Larinda's Landing Oceanfront Cottages

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2016

A great long weekend getaway. A short trip from Halifax but felt like a different world. Easy access to ocean and biking trails and beaches as well. Brought our own kayaks and bikes. Easy drive to local sites.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 347suzetted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 30, 2016

We loved Larinda's Landing. It was a terrific cottage, right on the water, for a reasonable price. The decor and furnishings were very nice with a nautical theme. We were able to watch and listen to loons while sitting at the dining table. And the locations was esp. convenient for museums in Halifax and Peggy's Cove.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lynnmC470ZR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 23, 2016

We stayed for 2 nights while visiting family in the area and were pleasantly surprised! We will be back next season and plan to stay longer. The cottages offer a "home away from home" feel, We can't say enough good things!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Suemna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews