We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveller rating
119
13
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
119
13
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fire pit larinda's landing a great vacation peggy's cove nova scotia the crow's nest the cottages necessary amenities an easy drive st margaret's bay short drive perfect location beautiful deck living room meadow cottage wouter halifax
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 134 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2018

Lovely cottages (housekeeping)! Very well equipped. Marrianne and Wouter are very hospitable and work hard you keep you comfortable! The customer service was outstanding.

We (family of 3 and friend) recently stayed for 3 nights here, in the

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Trek93248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 21, 2018

An excellent home away from home. It had all the conveniences you could ask for and the staff was great. When the restaurant reopens, this will be the most popular place to stay on the south shore. We will definitely be back as much as possible.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mandtsmith2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 16, 2018

We have stayed at Larindas Landing on several occasions and have enjoyed every moment of our stay.This time, just two weeks ago , in the sweet little Willows Meadow cottage , our stay was every bit as wonderful as before-perfect in every way!The cottage was lovely, quite private and very cozy . It was beautifully decorated and had everything we needed. After watching the sun set while enjoying a campfire on the beach, we relaxed on the deck and listened to the slapping of the waves with the cool breeze against our face- simply breathtaking.
Larindas Landing is a little piece of paradise- so good for the soul!
The staff ,as always, were welcoming, pleasant and helpful and attended to our every need.
Love, Love Larindas Landing!
We are SO lucky to have such a beautiful place to come to so we can relax and unwind from the busyness of life.
Thank you for your hard work to make sure our visits are always memorable.
We shall return again soon.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ali L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 5, 2018

The staff was great from the minute we arrived. We were early and exhausted but the team cleaned our cabin quick and got us in 3-hours early. So great. The cottage was amazing and the beach was a treat! No hassles and only 45 mins to most tourist attractions.

Room Tip: Willow’s Meadow- amazing studio accommodation for two! Everything you need including hair dryer and Tupperware
Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Exploration752985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 3, 2018

The glowing reviews got us here, but nothing could bring us back. The beach that looks so pretty and wide and clear and sandy in their outdated photos is actually very narrow and was covered in seaweed and rocks with an offensive smell when we arrived in mid-June. Management excused it as due to storms but didn't explain why they didn't clean it up nor why they weren't upfront beforehand about what we could actually expect. Building sandcastles, if one brought children, was out of the question. The smallest cottage--our choice only because it was on the so-called beautiful beach and the larger one wasn't available even six months ahead--required lugging baggage over grass and gravel because no path for rolling them was provided. Inside was not what I'd call well-appointed--and we had come straight from a TRULY well-appointed vacation rental in Wedgeport with a thoughtful owner/host--providing no coffee (we had to drive some 6 to 8 kilometers to purchase some), no bedside clock, a bathroom so small that we had to use the kitchen counters for toiletries. On the positive side, the porch was nice and the bed was comfortable; that's all we had to console ourselves with till our three days were up.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larinda, Manager at Larinda's Landing Oceanfront Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2018

Dear Lauren K,

First and foremost, thank you for your comments and feedback on TripAdvisor. We would like to let you know that we take each and every comment serious, positive as well as negative.

I am very sorry to read about your experience and wish you had addressed your concerns while staying with us in order to give us a chance to make your stay more enjoyable. We were not informed of any complaints prior to your check-out at which time you were offered to speak to a manager which you declined.

This review comes as a true surprise to us as the cottage you stayed in (Willow’s Meadow) is a favorite among many guests and has been completely renovated from top to bottom in 2016 with all furnishings and contents being new. On your request, we even purchased a sofa to replace the chairs that were originally in the cottage.

We would like to let you know that we take great pride in our property and the care of it as well as each cottage. Mother Nature sometimes causes seaweed to come in on the beach which is beyond our control and when this happens it is cleaned up immediately. We have a full maintenance man who tends to this daily. As far as the size of the beach. The beach size has never changed, and the size is obvious when viewing the website pictures.

Unfortunately, your first-choice cottage (#5) was already booked over 6 months in advance and no longer available for your requested dates. We have many frequent guests who enjoy staying with us and book far in advance to ensure they have their preferred cottage for their selected dates. This just underlines the popularity of our property and loyalty of many of our guest’s who do truly enjoy staying with us. The cottage of your stay (#7) is fully described on our website and even states the square footage of this unit to ensure people are not misunderstanding the size of the cottage. The cottage features enough space for two adults to enjoy their vacation. The bathroom is a sufficient size with a full tub and shower and a free-standing vanity with space on the counter as well as under the sink in the cupboard and in the drawers. We are sorry that this was not enough space for you.

We proudly confirm that the cottage is TRULY well-appointed with a fully equipped kitchen with stainless steel appliances, a gas range stove and dishwasher. There is plenty of counter and storage space and all dishes, cutlery and all other utensils and knives are present to make a chef’s meal. Outside is a large modern BBQ with direct propane supply and comfortable patio furniture on a private deck. As mentioned earlier, the sofa has been brought in specially for your reservation and is only a couple of months old. I am sorry that the bedside clock went missing however it has been replaced when guests (after your stay) brought this to our attention. All cottages are self sufficient, and our guests are responsible to bring their own groceries.

This being said, we invite anyone considering this review to view the photos of this unit (Willow’s Meadow) on our website, which accurately depicts it. You will clearly see that the bathroom is sufficient in size and storage, the décor is lovely, fresh and new and our property is beautifully landscaped and maintained. We do appreciate your feedback however, after careful consideration of this review and the fact that you felt that our premier historical Museum (Maritime Museum of the Atlantic) was not worth the admission, and as you left in your review, was in quote “for the birds”. We cannot help but wonder if your expectations are much, much higher then the majority of travelers seeking a lovely cottage vacation and a typical maritime experience.

Once again, we are sorry that your stay with us did not live up to your expectations however, as always here at Larinda’s Landing, we strive after a high standard of comfort in all our cottages, the property and guest services. This is validated by our previous reviews as well as our certificates of excellence by TripAdvisor going back from 2014 to present. Unfortunately, your representation of the property as described above is far from accurate as you can read from many other testimonies on TripAdvisor, Facebook, Google reviews, Expedia, Airbnb and on our own website. I would like to point out that we are extremely proud of these testimonials from other previous guests.

Trusting the information and reply given above addresses your concerns. Once again, thank you for sharing your opinion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews