We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the hotel to stay!”
Review of Explorer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Explorer Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Yellowknife
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This is the hotel to stay!”
Reviewed 24 October 2011

I find the Explorer Hotel to be the best hotel to stay when I am in Yellowknikfe. It is Central - it is in easy walking distance to downtown. The hotel has a resaurant, but it is rather pricey.

The rooms are clean, the saff are very helpful and pleasant.

Shuttle service is free to and from the airport.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinker407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    199
    84
    14
    6
See reviews for
53
79
37
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nunavut
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

I've stayed at the Super 8, Chateau Nova and Explorer in Yellowknife.

I really like the Explorer. The rooms are clean, beds are very comfortable, if you get a room facing the lake you get a very nice view out your window.

The curtains block out all the light which is very good for the summer.

I'd like to stay at the YK Inn sometime but I'm very satisfied with the Explorer so unless there are no rooms at the Explorer I won't book anywhere else.

There is an Extra Foods grocery store two blocks away. The visitors centre is just across the street as is Shoppers Drug Mart, Black Night Pub and Overlanders Sports.

If you want to be down town I definitely recommend Explorer.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siutiapik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

I stayed at the Explorer Hotel from September 25 to September 30, 2011. I found the staff every friendly. The rooms were very clean and inviting, the beds were extremely comfortrable and I had an awesome view of the water when I woke up in the morning. The room was extremely cold when I arrived but was fixed shortly after I arrrived and was perfect for the rest of the week. Breakfasts were very good with lots of variety. I did not like the surcharge tacked on to the bills though. I always leave a tip so to find out there was an added charge was a bit of a surprise. The drinks in the bar were very expensive. Overall my stay was very good.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trannie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, ON
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

I travel to Yellowknife about 4 - 5 times a year. There are lots of accommodation options, but I find The Explorer Hotel to be the best one for me. The rooms are comfortable and clean, the full service restaurant and pub downstairs means I have good eating options onsite and location means I am in close walking distance to anything downtown. No surprises is what I like. As with anywhere else in the north, the cost of things is much higher, so I'm not surprised by $20 breakfasts. It seems to be the meeting place for people in the 'Knife.

Room Tip: The Explorer recently added a new wing; I always ask for a room in the new wing and away from the el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnT.D.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

I have stayed in the Explorer more times than I can count.

Pros: Clean, parking is easy, excellent views, fridges in rooms. Free airport shuttle. Overall it is a fine hotel.
Cons: In rooms close to the elevator you will hear the elevator grinding its way up and down all night. The biggest issue with the explorer is HVAC related. During a stay last November with a number of colleagues also in the hotel, some rooms were way too hot, others too cold. Adjustments to the thermostat took days, not hours to really change the temp. And the windows do not open. So if you get in your room and its too hot, ask to change rooms.
Front desk staff are generally cold, some appear to be poorly trained.

Also the Traders restaurant is very hit and miss. They have a new executive chef so let's hope things get better and consistency improves.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the elevators and on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spuzzum72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

The Hotel is clean and neat, the rooms are in good condition, all though the sink and bathtub need to be replaced. The food in the restaurant was fair to good but very over priced. With the tip breakfast was $20 should have been $12, lunch and supper same sort of price issue. The free shuttle to and from the airport is good, as is the central location in town.There was an argument between a couple of drunks down my hall at around 2 am in the morning and I could hear it quite well. From what I hear from others this is still one of the better hotels in Yellowknife

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dwayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
235 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

The free shuttle to/from the airport is a nice feature, saving you $15-20 each direction. I stayed at the Explorer recently for business and was pleased. I had stayed at this hotel once before about 4 years ago, but have recently stayed in other hotels in Yellowknife due to company requirements. Thank goodness the other hotel was all booked up for this visit so I got to stay at Explorer. Check in was quick and the staff were friendly. My requests for room location was accommodated. Although I was on a low floor, I still had a great view. My room was clean, and it was quiet. The sheets were nice and soft and the bed was quite comfortable. Lots of tv channels, and free wifi in room. Sadly, the art gallery/gift shop is closed and that area is now used to store baggage some of the time. It would be nice for the hotel to put something bright in there; perhaps some art could be rented or loaned from a local gallery? Hotel is a few block walk to the business district. Lots of restaurants and shopping in the area. I expecially enjoy the rocky terrain and Inukshuk all over the property. Great stay overall.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms have best views of old town and scenery
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrincessGolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yellowknife hotels
0.1 km away
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
#4 of 10 in Yellowknife
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
1.0 km away
Coast Fraser Tower
Coast Fraser Tower
#2 of 10 in Yellowknife
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
2.2 km away
Super 8 Yellowknife
Super 8 Yellowknife
#3 of 10 in Yellowknife
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife
Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife
#8 of 10 in Yellowknife
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.9 km away
Capital Suites Yellowknife
Capital Suites Yellowknife
#6 of 10 in Yellowknife
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.4 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Yellowknife
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Explorer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Explorer Hotel

Property: Explorer Hotel
Address: 4825 49th Avenue | Box 7000, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories X1A 2R3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Northwest Territories > Yellowknife
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Yellowknife
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Explorer Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Explorer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Explorer Hotel Yellowknife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing