We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (521)
Filter reviews
521 results
Traveller rating
147
250
100
14
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
250
100
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscomfortable hotelfront desk staffprince of walesnorthern heritage centreshoppers drug martplace to staywould definitely stay here againpolar bearold townfree airport shuttlearctic charframe lakebusiness tripnorthern lightsmidnight suncomfortable bedsaurora village
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 521 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2017

The Explorer Hotel met all our basic needs. Yes, the Sunday brunch at the Trader Grill was a force to be reckoned with - they had everything! But we were thrilled each morning to dine on their Frobisher eggs Benedict with Arctic char and a side order of delicious berries. To cap off a day of explorations, the local fish and chips in the hotel bar were much appreciated. Their northern salad took the prize for best salad ever with fantastic: greens, fresh berries, feta, candied pecans and birch sauce! I could eat this salad every day! The laundry service was excellent, although not cheap. But then the laundromat wasn't that cheap either. Our room was clean, spacious and well-appointed. We were even able to watch the aurora from our bed. (A plus at 2 am)

Everyone there was very kind and helpful. and the location was ideal for getting around town. A free shuttle made regular runs to the airport.

I would happily stay there again for convenience.

The view out over Frame Lake and the Prince of Wales Cultural Heritage Centre on one side is rivaled only by the view of Niven Lake from the other side, with the houseboats and Old Towne in the distance.

There was some construction going on during our visit, but what can one do! We also found the internet connection very slow.

All in all, we would definitely go back again!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisama2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl S, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2017

Thank you! We were absolutely delighted to read your review of your stay at the Explorer Hotel. We take pride in our hotel and we're happy you enjoyed every aspect of your visit with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

regards

Karl H Schaefers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2017

We made reservations and the rooms weren't ready. Everything was average. Food was okay. The staff were okay. Nothing was above average. There is a water cooler in the lobby with lemon slices in it. Service in the lounge was very slow.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl S, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. We look forward to seeing you again Karl H Schaefers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2017

We stayed at the Explorer Hotel a few weeks ago in mid July 2017. Very impressed. Loved their occasional themed meals (like the Outta-Texas BBQ they had while we were there). Very clean, quiet, rooms. Because the hotel is located above the city, the views from our room were spectacular - seeing the sunset very late into the night was incredible. Everything was within a few minutes walk: bars, shopping, open market on the waterfront/park on Tuesdays. Awesome. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TallSmileyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl S, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2017

Thank you! We were absolutely delighted to read your review of your stay at the Explorer Hotel. We take pride in our hotel and we're happy you enjoyed every aspect of your visit with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

regards

Karl H Schaefers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2017

So disappointed with latest visit. Usually split annual trip between this hotel, camping and another local hotel.
Check-in staff was rushed and did not ask for ID which I found odd.
Food was eh, will not return. check out other hotels in town first

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank smptraveller19791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl S, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2017

I am very sorry to hear of your experience. I assure you this is certainly not our standard of service. Please contact me directly to discuss further. Regards KH Schaefers

gm@explorerhotel.ca or 867 873 3531


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2017

Great location, great food and good amenities. Yellowknife is a fabulous place to visit. Lots to see and do. Quaint town with interesting local culture. Must hike a few trails and visit a few lakes. Bullocks and NWT Brewery also must dos.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl S, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2017

Thank you! We were absolutely delighted to read your review of your stay at the Explorer Hotel. We take pride in our hotel and we're happy you enjoyed every aspect of your visit with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

regards

Karl H Schaefers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews