We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Not a bad stay in Yellowknife” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn & Suites Yellowknife

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Yellowknife
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Yellowknife
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
242 reviews
239 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Not a bad stay in Yellowknife”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

Yellowknife itself is a really quiet town. We went up to see the Aurora Borealis and this seemed to be the best option. While it was central, there is no free parking - you have to park at a meter. We had a car but didn't use it much and you really don't need one.

The hotel is right in the city center and the few restaurants (most of which were closed due to the holiday weekend) are near by.

The hotel is attached to a mall/shopping arcade (that was pretty sad) and the restaurant L'attitudes which was not that impressive (but it was open).

The rooms were a little small but seemed to have been renovated relatively recently. They also had free wifi which was nice!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DAL504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    67
    87
    34
    31
See reviews for
45
39
40
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tammela, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

Paper thin doors (one could hear everything from the corridors), not too friendly staff in reception, quite expensive (well, all hotels in the area are not too cheap...). Positive to have free transportation to the airport and ice machine in the corridor.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ykinnmanager, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Yellowknife, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Good afternoon,
I am sorry to hear that your stay was not what you had exspected with us. I am not to sure why you would have had an issue with your door as all our guest room doors are fire rated doors with an average thickness of just under two inches. Maybe it could have been someone outside your room in the hallway at the time however I can not say at this point. As for the unfriendly experiebce that you had with the Front Desk I have brough this to the attention of my Guest Services Manager to look into it further.
If you do choose to return to Yellowknife please do let me know and I would be happy to take care of you upon your next visit. It is out policy to do what we can to make our guest happy when they are away from home.

Thank You and happy travels in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Yellowknife hotels

Hanilton, Ontario
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Yellowknife Inn ...rooms were nice , staff were friendly and the location was awesome as the Yellowknife Inn is right downtown . Had dinner at Mackenzie's lounge and it was very good. Overall a great place to stay in Yellowknife.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ykinnmanager, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Yellowknife, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Hello,
Thank You for taking the time to write a review on our property. I am glad that you had a great stay with us and I hope that we will have the privilege to having you stay with us again in the future.

On behalf of myself and my staff Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge Bay, NU
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

The people and the accomodations were excellent
nd I would not hesitate to come back !

Bob Aknavigak
Cambridge Bay, NU

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank heygoodlooking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ykinnmanager, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Yellowknife, responded to this review, 31 August 2011
Good afternoon Bob,

Thank You for your kind words. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, PA
Level Contributor
199 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

This hotel is nice inside, but has no air conditioning (probably not an issue most of the time). Our only complaint was with the noise coming from people in a parking lot next door - seemed to go on all night.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Birdguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ykinnmanager, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Yellowknife, responded to this review, 31 August 2011
Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I appreciate your comments and yes unfortunately we cannot control what happens in the streets of Yellowknife. I do hope that you have the opportunity to return to Yellowknife in the near future and if so we look forward to having you stay with us again.

All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

My two daughters and I were made to feel welcome the minute we checked in. Our stay was short, but the level of service remained the same throughout. Very clean, and comfortable room, and Central location made it easy to explore the city.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Red082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

After a tiresome 7 hour flight, I was looking forward to having a good night's sleep. I found the hairs on my pillow, the bad internet connection, and a crushed beer can on my balcony a little offputting. Hoping to put these issues behind me, I went to sleep at 10pm only to be woken up at 11:30pm by what sounded like a steam roller riding past my window. It was actually some workers on the rooftop below my window cleaning out the restaurant. After lying awake for half an hour listening to the noise, I called the front desk to ask about the noise and when it was going to stop. In a Laissez-faire attitude, the staff member had indicated that the workers are just cleaning the restaurant and that the noise will stop soon. However, the machinery noise, coupled with the voices of the workers yelling over the machinery, continued. At 1:30am, after several frustrated attempts to use earplugs, pillows and a tv to drown out the noise, I decided to sleep on the bathroom floor. Needless to say, sleeping on a cold, hard, tile floor was not worth the $150/night stay, nor was it worth dealing with a luke warm hotel staff member. In retrospect, I should have asked for a room change (or better yet, maybe an apology for the inconvenience and room change should have been offered up by the hotel staff). I sincerely hope that this experience is anomalous and that this doesn't happen to other patrons.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nishnawbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yellowknife hotels
0.4 km away
Explorer Hotel
Explorer Hotel
#1 of 10 in Yellowknife
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.4 km away
Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife
Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife
#8 of 10 in Yellowknife
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
2.0 km away
Super 8 Yellowknife
Super 8 Yellowknife
#3 of 10 in Yellowknife
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Coast Fraser Tower
Coast Fraser Tower
#2 of 10 in Yellowknife
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.6 km away
Capital Suites Yellowknife
Capital Suites Yellowknife
#4 of 10 in Yellowknife
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.5 km away
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
#5 of 10 in Yellowknife
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Yellowknife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Yellowknife

Property: Quality Inn & Suites Yellowknife
Address: 5010 49th St., Yellowknife, Northwest Territories X1A 2N4, Canada
Region: Canada > Northwest Territories > Yellowknife
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Yellowknife
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Yellowknife 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Totally renovated end of 2008, all the rooms have new duvets and covers, pillow-top mattresses, new furniture and free Wi-Fi. In the heart of the city with onsite restaurant and lounge, also adjoining the largest mall in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Evoline ltd, Choice Hotels, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Yellowknife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellowknife Hotel Yellowknife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing