We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
38
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
38
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no shortage fish midnight sun aaron pike adventure lakers wilderness land aurora
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 41 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2018

Our 2 families (4 adults and 2 young boys) travelled to Yellow Dog Lodge to celebrate a birthday - we had an absolutely incredible time. Gord, Aaron, Alicia and Paddy made sure our trip was an unforgettable one! They were all very thoughtful and made sure we enjoyed our couple of days away from it all.
The location is breathtaking, a wonderful lodge on Braden Davis Channel, between Duncan and Graham Lakes. We had the opportunity to fish for lake trout and northern pike on both, and our guide helped us find a big one! We also got to enjoy the outdoor hot tub and an evening around the fire.
The food was excellent, and the staff even prepared a birthday surprise for us, complete with birthday hats and homemade cupcakes! Definitely above and beyond our expectations.
We stayed in the main lodge, the rooms were comfortable, with the added bonus of having a half bath in each room - a nice addition in a fishing lodge in Northern Canada!
I would certainly recommend Yellow Dog Lodge to other travelers!

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gillian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 29, 2018

If you come from Australia in summer and land at Yellow Dog Lodge in the middle of winter, you are in for one great experience. The Lodge is predominantly a fishing lodge which usually open for the summer months and shoulder season into winter.

Gord is the hard working laid back owner who along with his brilliant staff will ensure your stay runs smoothly and all aspects are organised. We arrived in the coldest snap for 50 years where ambient temperature fell to -39 degrees celcius, not counting any wind chill factor.

Gord and the staff had landed 2 days prior to stoke the fires, defrost all the lodges and stock up food and drinks. Over the next three days we ate like kings, played puzzles, snowmobiled on the frozen lake, caught a couple of fish from ice holes drilled in the ice just out the front, went for walks, saw an arctic fox, spotted the aurora every night bar one and were treated to a Super New moon, fireworks and a spectacular aurora on New years Eve.
The best thing about the Lodge is the people there, sincere down to earth friendly people who love the Wilderness and you get the sense they would do it all for free if they had to. This is not a five star luxury hotel, in the middle of winter the toilets dont flow and you need to get up at night every 3 hours to put a log or two on your fire in your tiny warm lodge. But if you come with the right attitude and a sense of adventure you will be guaranteed the trip of a lifetime. Even getting there is sensational flying in on a single prop tin can Beaver aircraft. So cool!!
Just do it.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brendan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2017 via mobile

This is my 3rd time at this lodge and I'm never disappointed. The staff great and knowledgeable. The fishing is second to none. I stayed in cabin off the main lodge and the bed was really comfy and duvet kept me warm. The cabin also had a wood stove inside in case it got chilly. The food was great and desserts even better. Thanks again to the staff at Yellow Dog Lodge for taking such good care of us and I hope to see you again next year!

-Kyra

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Kyra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 15, 2017 via mobile

7 guys . We've been all over North America and the fishing here is 2nd to none. Huge lakers and no shortage of pike.

Gord, Aaron and Alexandre "Ron" looked after us very well.

Food great and flannel sheets make sleeping under the midnight sun a treat.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2016 via mobile

From the friendly, down-to-earth staff to the knowledgable and seasoned fishing guides, Yellow Dog Lodge is a beautifully-maintained slice of heaven where the staff's number one priority is the guest.
You will feel welcomed from the moment you land until it's time for you to leave and head back to reality. Professionalism and courtesy is number 1 at Yellow Dog and you will be shocked at how quickly your time will pass here, so make sure you enjoy it.
The lodge has a full-time chef who is an amazing cook, especially when it comes to homemade baked goods and soups to warm you up after a cold day out on the water. I promise you will not go hungry!
Speaking of the water, the fishing here is beyond exciting - the trout and pike that inhabit the two lakes are the biggest I've ever seen, and in two days, my family and I hooked about 20 fish (we are by no means experienced fishermen), so that should tell you something about how plentiful the fish here are. Gord, who is the owner and one of the fishing guides, and Aaron, the other full-time guide, take it upon themselves to take you to all the areas of the lakes where the fish are typically abundant, and they genuinely care that you catch a fish; it was so nice to see how invested they were in ensuring our experience out on the water was an amazing one.
Lastly, on our last night up, we were able to see the Northern Lights which, for my family and me, is an experience we will never forget.
Thank you to Gord, Aaron, Frankie, and Alicia for a wonderful weekend. We won't ever forget it!

The Garcias

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank estevan86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews