We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much nicer than the picture!”
Review of Cooper's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cooper's Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Shelburne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2016

In a small town you would not expect to find such a high quality B and B.
The hosts are helpful, without being intrusive. The social hour, which is open to any guest, is a fantastic way to casually meet people from all over. The Cooper Inn is a lovely place to stay (and follow their suggestion for dinner at Charlotte Lane!)

Room Tip: All rooms seemed well equipped, and offered a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joan909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 September 2016

Many folks discover how truly remarkable small town Shelburne can be. It makes us proud to live here. Thank you for your thoughtful comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2016

Comfortable "historic" room, ours was in the front of the building and so nominally had a view of the water. Breakfast was terrific. Unfortunately, only one restaurant was open on the Monday we were in Shelburne, and it wasn't great. The (closed) restaurants did not look very inspiring.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnpE908TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 September 2016

You're right. The dining choices are limited on Mondays. Pub fare is pretty much the only choice. The reviews are generally favorable, that being said. For outstanding food the area boasts a variety of choices with Charlotte Lane (4 minute walk from The Cooper's Inn) being the favorite and Capt. Kat's Lobster Shack in Barrington Passage ( 30 minute drive) being very desirable. The other option for groups of 4 or more (in Season) can be Shelburne Harbour Boat Tours for a Lobster or Steak Cruise. And yes, we're proud of our breakfast selection too! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

This B&B is lovely with nice rooms and a pleasant outdoor patio to sit and enjoy the garden. The location is great and allows you to walk around this quaint and historic town which has several museums and galleries to visit. Because we only stayed one night which was a Monday the restaurant choices were quite limited but the innkeeper recommended a pub like restaurant that was fine. Breakfast at Coopers Inn is outstanding. You get a choice of several breakfast items and everything was delicious. The inn could be a destination by itself but the town of Shelburne is definitely worth a stay.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank ChrisB0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 September 2016

Thank you for your thoughtful comments about the Inn and our wonderful Shelburne Town and County. Return and more extended visits are always welcomed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016

Pat and Dave treat this as their home and it is meticulously maintained--well appointed and excellent sheets, pillows and a chime in the garden that sings you to sleep. We were cycling the Yarmouth loop with FreeWheeling Adventures and they had booked us for two nights at Cooper's. The breakfasts were outstanding, french pressed coffee, everything fresh and it is by the sea so lovely breezes and 18th century buildings all around. The town was our favorite and there is no place around like Cooper's Inn so the combination, along with Charlotte Lane's restaurant, is a place to stay a week--come and go always knowing that Dave and Pat will guide you carefully and treat you like family. Simply lovely, thanks!!! Mary and Benno

Room Tip: The rooms are lovely but upstairs so one should be healthy ready to climb. We loved it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MEM1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 September 2016

You and all that visit us are indeed like family...you know...the good kind!

Thank you for your kind comments and observations. The chimes do add a 'zen-like' sense of peace and calm. They feel right in our garden.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016

Nice room and nice hosts! Enjoyed the peace and quiet. Walking distance to all you need. Most restaurants closed on Monday. Right near the water so lovely! Happy hour to meet fellow travelers. Good stay!!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paige D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 September 2016

On Mondays the Seadog Saloon is pretty much the best bet for atmosphere and good pub style cuisine in the Dock Street Historic District. Local craft beers, a well respected Chowder and more. And certainly the best view in town, including the yacht club marina. We do love the interactions between guests and all. Such a small world, as we often discover.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016

This was the best spot we stayed at during our 9 days in Nova Scotia, exploring the Southern Shore and Annapolis Valley. And I use superlatives sparingly unlike many reviewers. The owners of this bed and breakfast provide a beautifully maintained lodging in a glorious spot. And the breakfast is excellent. We contemplated another visit soon, staying a week, if we could. A fully equipped kitchen was in our suite.

Room Tip: we stayed at the suite on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ydeng1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 September 2016

Shelburne has a way of capturing the calm. It's easy to feel at home. You feel the way we feel.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

Lovely B&B. Pat and Dave were very accommodating and the fish cakes Dave made for breakfast was a wonderful treat. Happy hour in the garden with all the other guests was a lovely way to meet new people.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank AnneB11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 September 2016

Fish cakes are fun! Great to have you celebrate 'la difference'. Meeting fellow travelers and learning by their experiences certainly broadens our appreciation of what a wondrous world we all live in. Safe travels always!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelburne
1.1 km away
Mackenzie's Motel and Cottages
0.4 km away
Inner Harbor Inn
Inner Harbor Inn
#2 of 5 in Shelburne
4 reviews
1.0 km away
Wildwood Motel
Wildwood Motel
#2 of 2 in Shelburne
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Roseway River Cottages
Roseway River Cottages
#1 of 5 in Shelburne
52 reviews
37.6 km away
Yesteryears  Bed & Breakfast
40.1 km away
Argyle By The Sea Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cooper's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooper's Inn

Address: 36 Dock Street at Mason Lane, Shelburne, Nova Scotia B0T 1W0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Shelburne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Shelburne
Price Range: $148 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cooper's Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cooper's Inn B&B is a 7 room and 1 suite ensuite Inn on Historic Dock Street on Nova Scotia, Canada's Shelburne Harbour. Most facilities are within easy walking distance of the Inn. Museums, restaurants, landmark properties, hiking, biking, trails, parks, Harbour Tours, Kayaking and more. All rooms have private entries, Flat Screen TVs, Free WIfi, Free off street paring, coffee makers, robes, hair dryers, harbour views and easy access to a delightful Garden. Breakfast is included in the rates and offers a diverse selection from an ample menu. Many dietary needs and personal eating requirements are addressed. The Museums on Dock Street draw much attention. The Loyalist History is a popular area of interest. The nearby Black Loyalist Heritage Museum is a world class facility. Eascape the ordinary, where history meets hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Cooper's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cooper's Inn Shelburne, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing