We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveller rating
212
44
7
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
212
44
7
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews charlotte lane glass of wine happy hour nova scotia other guests social hour twin beds lovely garden great hosts b and b place to stay small room spent one night harbour suite view of the water in town extra touches
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 266 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2016

Comfortable "historic" room, ours was in the front of the building and so nominally had a view of the water. Breakfast was terrific. Unfortunately, only one restaurant was open on the Monday we were in Shelburne, and it wasn't great. The (closed) restaurants did not look very inspiring.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnpE908TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded September 18, 2016

You're right. The dining choices are limited on Mondays. Pub fare is pretty much the only choice. The reviews are generally favorable, that being said. For outstanding food the area boasts a variety of choices with Charlotte Lane (4 minute walk from The Cooper's Inn) being the favorite and Capt. Kat's Lobster Shack in Barrington Passage ( 30 minute drive) being very desirable. The other option for groups of 4 or more (in Season) can be Shelburne Harbour Boat Tours for a Lobster or Steak Cruise. And yes, we're proud of our breakfast selection too! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2016 via mobile

This B&B is lovely with nice rooms and a pleasant outdoor patio to sit and enjoy the garden. The location is great and allows you to walk around this quaint and historic town which has several museums and galleries to visit. Because we only stayed one night which was a Monday the restaurant choices were quite limited but the innkeeper recommended a pub like restaurant that was fine. Breakfast at Coopers Inn is outstanding. You get a choice of several breakfast items and everything was delicious. The inn could be a destination by itself but the town of Shelburne is definitely worth a stay.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ChrisB0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded September 16, 2016

Thank you for your thoughtful comments about the Inn and our wonderful Shelburne Town and County. Return and more extended visits are always welcomed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2016

Pat and Dave treat this as their home and it is meticulously maintained--well appointed and excellent sheets, pillows and a chime in the garden that sings you to sleep. We were cycling the Yarmouth loop with FreeWheeling Adventures and they had booked us for two nights at Cooper's. The breakfasts were outstanding, french pressed coffee, everything fresh and it is by the sea so lovely breezes and 18th century buildings all around. The town was our favorite and there is no place around like Cooper's Inn so the combination, along with Charlotte Lane's restaurant, is a place to stay a week--come and go always knowing that Dave and Pat will guide you carefully and treat you like family. Simply lovely, thanks!!! Mary and Benno

Room tip: The rooms are lovely but upstairs so one should be healthy ready to climb. We loved it!!
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MEM1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded September 5, 2016

You and all that visit us are indeed like family...you know...the good kind!

Thank you for your kind comments and observations. The chimes do add a 'zen-like' sense of peace and calm. They feel right in our garden.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2016

Nice room and nice hosts! Enjoyed the peace and quiet. Walking distance to all you need. Most restaurants closed on Monday. Right near the water so lovely! Happy hour to meet fellow travelers. Good stay!!

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paige D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded September 4, 2016

On Mondays the Seadog Saloon is pretty much the best bet for atmosphere and good pub style cuisine in the Dock Street Historic District. Local craft beers, a well respected Chowder and more. And certainly the best view in town, including the yacht club marina. We do love the interactions between guests and all. Such a small world, as we often discover.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2016

This was the best spot we stayed at during our 9 days in Nova Scotia, exploring the Southern Shore and Annapolis Valley. And I use superlatives sparingly unlike many reviewers. The owners of this bed and breakfast provide a beautifully maintained lodging in a glorious spot. And the breakfast is excellent. We contemplated another visit soon, staying a week, if we could. A fully equipped kitchen was in our suite.

Room tip: we stayed at the suite on the 3rd floor.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ydeng1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded September 4, 2016

Shelburne has a way of capturing the calm. It's easy to feel at home. You feel the way we feel.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews