We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (264)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveller rating
212
43
7
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
212
43
7
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscharlotte laneglass of winehappy hournova scotiasocial hourlovely gardenpancakesgreat hostsb and bsmall roomharbour suitesecond floorin townview of the waternext morninglovely breakfastspent one night
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 265 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2016

This was a second visit to the Cooper's Inn, but the first under the present ownership. The room was comfortable and lovely, overlooking the garden. We booked under the"History on the Harbour" package. We were given a lovely basket of local gifts. Every evening, our hosts had a welcome reception out in the garden if weather permitted. This was a great way to meet the other guests. Our package included gift certificates to Charlotte Lane which I had been looking forward to trying for some time. Breakfast was wonderful. Our hosts were very helpful with suggestions on what to do and arranging reservations. Our entire stay was truly enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded January 3, 2017

Your comments are music to our ears! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 10, 2016 via mobile

The inn was super, the host were very welcoming and pleasant. The breakfast was very tasty and plentiful. We would recommend this Inn. Great place. The location with the walkway on water st.is great to watch the water activities.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank jwrlafrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded October 11, 2016

We get up each day and look at our amazing Shelburne Harbour and feel very privileged to be able to live on her shores. Thank you for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 9, 2016

Right at the water, the Cooper's Inn is hosted by a delightful couple attending to your every need. A historic property with a fenced private garden for guests to sit and relax. All the guests (it seemed) meet for happy hour, with or without wine and some snacks. It was great fun to chat with fellow travelers, we have never done that before and it was a great way to get to know people and share thoughts. The breakfast was fabulous! The night we were there the place was full, so make your reservations! Closed in the off season, so check when that is too! Would be happy to stay there again when in the area.

Room Tip: The town of Shelburne is quite small and very quite in the evening.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauralovescroatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded October 11, 2016

The social time is really what makes the difference for Pat and I too. A chance to live and learn about so many topics. The Local and broad view of History that we missed in School as well as how often there are connections to be made that had never been imagined. Hope to see you visit again. Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 5, 2016

The Harbour Suite at The Cooper’s Inn was a perfect spot for our group of 9 to gather for our weekend meetings and camaraderie. Pat and David Chute are wonderful hosts who made us feel so welcome - from that first sip of aromatic French-pressed coffee with a made-to-order breakfast, to early evening wine in their delightful garden. The breakfast offerings have something for everyone with little delicious twists on the ordinary like whipped yogurt and two-toned (orange and cranberry) juice. It seems that Pat and David enjoy treating their guests like royalty and they go out of their way to provide extra touches that make guests feel special - the personalized, hand-written welcome notes, the focus on local products for breakfast, the complimentary glass of Nova Scotia wine and the helpfulness of their staff. This Registered Heritage Property (c.1784) is charmingly decorated and all our rooms were spotlessly clean with extra comfy beds.

Stayed: October 2016
Thank samchap2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded October 7, 2016

Thank you so much for your thoughtful comments. We do appreciate the opportunity to meet and greet new and returning guests. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2016 via mobile

This B&B was really great. Pat and David, who own and run this establishment were very friendly and helpful. The room and bathroom were nicely furnished. The only downside was the fact that there was no elevator and the stairs were very narrow. Breakfast was a feast with a lot of choices. Well worth the cost.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank npdteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded October 5, 2016

Thank you for the kind comments. Historic properties often have their challenges and stairs are one of them. That being said, the design of the outside staircases were architecturally designed and engineered for safety and to best use the space available. Our ground floor rooms are popular because of ease of access.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews