We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Timeless”
Review of Cooper's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cooper's Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Shelburne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2016

We had a wonderful experience at the Cooper's Inn. The accommodation was lovely, the proprietors welcoming, and the breakfast to die for!! It is located in the historic waterfront area, with a beautiful walled garden to relax in. No hustle no bustle. Would return for another stay in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: prepare to be wowed!!
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 January 2017

We do hope you'll visit us again. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
There are newer reviews for Cooper's Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2016

This was a second visit to the Cooper's Inn, but the first under the present ownership. The room was comfortable and lovely, overlooking the garden. We booked under the"History on the Harbour" package. We were given a lovely basket of local gifts. Every evening, our hosts had a welcome reception out in the garden if weather permitted. This was a great way to meet the other guests. Our package included gift certificates to Charlotte Lane which I had been looking forward to trying for some time. Breakfast was wonderful. Our hosts were very helpful with suggestions on what to do and arranging reservations. Our entire stay was truly enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 January 2017

Your comments are music to our ears! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

The inn was super, the host were very welcoming and pleasant. The breakfast was very tasty and plentiful. We would recommend this Inn. Great place. The location with the walkway on water st.is great to watch the water activities.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank jwrlafrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 October 2016

We get up each day and look at our amazing Shelburne Harbour and feel very privileged to be able to live on her shores. Thank you for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Right at the water, the Cooper's Inn is hosted by a delightful couple attending to your every need. A historic property with a fenced private garden for guests to sit and relax. All the guests (it seemed) meet for happy hour, with or without wine and some snacks. It was great fun to chat with fellow travelers, we have never done that before and it was a great way to get to know people and share thoughts. The breakfast was fabulous! The night we were there the place was full, so make your reservations! Closed in the off season, so check when that is too! Would be happy to stay there again when in the area.

Room Tip: The town of Shelburne is quite small and very quite in the evening.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauralovescroatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 October 2016

The social time is really what makes the difference for Pat and I too. A chance to live and learn about so many topics. The Local and broad view of History that we missed in School as well as how often there are connections to be made that had never been imagined. Hope to see you visit again. Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016

The Harbour Suite at The Cooper’s Inn was a perfect spot for our group of 9 to gather for our weekend meetings and camaraderie. Pat and David Chute are wonderful hosts who made us feel so welcome - from that first sip of aromatic French-pressed coffee with a made-to-order breakfast, to early evening wine in their delightful garden. The breakfast offerings have something for everyone with little delicious twists on the ordinary like whipped yogurt and two-toned (orange and cranberry) juice. It seems that Pat and David enjoy treating their guests like royalty and they go out of their way to provide extra touches that make guests feel special - the personalized, hand-written welcome notes, the focus on local products for breakfast, the complimentary glass of Nova Scotia wine and the helpfulness of their staff. This Registered Heritage Property (c.1784) is charmingly decorated and all our rooms were spotlessly clean with extra comfy beds.

Stayed: October 2016
Thank samchap2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 October 2016

Thank you so much for your thoughtful comments. We do appreciate the opportunity to meet and greet new and returning guests. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

This B&B was really great. Pat and David, who own and run this establishment were very friendly and helpful. The room and bathroom were nicely furnished. The only downside was the fact that there was no elevator and the stairs were very narrow. Breakfast was a feast with a lot of choices. Well worth the cost.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank npdteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 October 2016

Thank you for the kind comments. Historic properties often have their challenges and stairs are one of them. That being said, the design of the outside staircases were architecturally designed and engineered for safety and to best use the space available. Our ground floor rooms are popular because of ease of access.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Lovely house for bed and breakfast. Very welcoming hosts, lovely breakfast with a menu and an evening wine with the hosts. All very nice ineed. We spent four weeks tourin Eastern Canada and this was a stand out.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 September 2016

We do take pride in our home and our welcome. Thank you for your kind thoughts. Much appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelburne
0.4 km away
Inner Harbor Inn
Inner Harbor Inn
#3 of 5 in Shelburne
3 reviews
1.0 km away
Wildwood Motel
Wildwood Motel
#2 of 2 in Shelburne
93 reviews
1.1 km away
Mackenzie's Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
40.1 km away
Argyle By The Sea Bed and Breakfast
3.2 km away
Roseway River Cottages
Roseway River Cottages
#1 of 5 in Shelburne
50 reviews
37.6 km away
Yesteryears  Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cooper's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooper's Inn

Address: 36 Dock Street at Mason Lane | 43.762288, -65.324503, Shelburne, Nova Scotia B0T 1W0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Shelburne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Shelburne
Price Range: $148 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cooper's Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cooper's Inn B&B is a 7 room and 1 suite ensuite Inn on Historic Dock Street on Nova Scotia, Canada's Shelburne Harbour. Most facilities are within easy walking distance of the Inn. Museums, restaurants, landmark properties, hiking, biking, trails, parks, Harbour Tours, Kayaking and more. All rooms have private entries, Flat Screen TVs, Free WIfi, Free off street paring, coffee makers, robes, hair dryers, harbour views and easy access to a delightful Garden. Breakfast is included in the rates and offers a diverse selection from an ample menu. Many dietary needs and personal eating requirements are addressed. The Museums on Dock Street draw much attention. The Loyalist History is a popular area of interest. The nearby Black Loyalist Heritage Museum is a world class facility. Eascape the ordinary, where history meets hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Cooper's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cooper's Inn Shelburne, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing