We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is FANTASTIC”

Charlotte Lane Cafe & Crafts
Ranked #1 of 18 Restaurants in Shelburne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$30
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Charlotte Lane Cafe & Gift Shop.Best Small Restaurant in Nova Scotia Award from RANS 2013, Best Restaurant Chef Inspired Casual Dining by Taste of NS 2011, Best Restaurant outside of HRM by Chronical Herald. Follow the fabulous aromas down our quaint little lane in the historic district of Shelburne, Nova Scotia, step inside our heritage building and enjoy the warm hospitality and fine dining. Our restaurant offers innovative dishes and fine wines presented with attentive service in a cheerful setting. Since opening in 1995 we have attracted loyal and appreciative clients from near and far, and we invite you to join this happy circle.
Reviewed December 14, 2018

The food is delicate and flavourful. It is literally a surprise in this small town - a restaurant I would equate with some of the big gastronomic establishments in New York or Toronto.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Kathlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 312 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2018

Tonight was a typical fall nor'easter in Nova Scotia: windy and wet. So the perfect antidote was a trip to Charlotte Lane Café. Their menu is always a delight, but it's especially enticing when they change things up a bit and add new items. I loved my scallop and shrimp fritters with steamed vegetables (which, by the way, were moist and steamed to perfection) and potato rösti. My husband enjoyed his chicken l'orange with steamed vegetables and potato rösti! The calm, quiet atmosphere and wonderful table service completed our evening perfectly. Clearly all the other guests enjoyed their escape from the storm as much as we did!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank messengrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2018 via mobile

Had the Zucchini Picatta, seafood chowder and the seafood selection. Everything was just perfect! The chowder was hot and full of seafood. The zucchini was done in a corn meal batter and had goat cheese and a pesto on top. The seafood sampler was super, plenty of smoked salmon, pickled herring, wood smoked salmon and herring. Wonderful service and great people.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2018

An absolute must-visit restaurant, Charlotte Lane Cafe and Crafts has been in business for more than 20 years now, owned and operated by Kathleen and Chef Roland Glauser. The food is consistently excellent, the staff are friendly and attentive, the atmosphere is great. You enter the building at the Gift Shop where you will find an array of gifts and crafts for sale sourced from around Nova Scotia. I cannot recommend it enough!

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Nblades78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2018

This restaurant truly is a gem in Shelburne. The food was delicious and very well prepared, the wine list was very good, and the service was terrific. Nothing disappoints at this restaurant.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fiamma11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Charlotte Lane Cafe & Crafts also viewed

Shelburne, Southwest Nova Scotia
Shelburne, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Shelburne, Southwest Nova Scotia
Shelburne, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Shelburne, Southwest Nova Scotia
Shelburne, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to Charlotte Lane Cafe & Crafts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing