We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“oh my, where do i start......charges like no other campground” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cove Oceanfront Campground

The Cove Oceanfront Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Annapolis Royal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Cove Oceanfront Campground
stewiacke
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“oh my, where do i start......charges like no other campground”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2010

Because i love the ocean i decided to book us at this campground. Yes the campground has a lovely view of the ocean but the lack of proper customer service (we should have been advised of addition charges for using our credit card, reservation fee, no refund policy, which sites costs what, garbage fee, on and on and on....)We wanted to see the ocean yes but we didn't need to stay in a $72.00 nite site to see it. We weren't told that. We could have stayed across the road from our site for half the cost with the same view. I was (had, fooled, tricked, etc, u get my drift) the first time but never again. I don't understand it, in my book u give get customer service and u get repeat customers right?I guess it doesn't matter to them, o well.............In closing , if u are planning on staying at this location do your homework first, ask alot of questions, don't use your credit card unless u don't mind the additional charges ..............

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oceanfan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    7
    10
    8
    22
See reviews for
24
23
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2010

We're a family of two adults and one child and we've been travelling for the last seven weeks on a roadtrip - stayed at around 30 campsites - this was the most expensive and the least characterful. If you want a place with a lot of rules, very carefully mown grass, a view across the water, and you have around fifty dollars a night to spare, go for it. But I've been at quite a few lovely campgrounds on the ocean in Nova Scotia that cost around 30 dollars. It's nice enough, but I'd advise you to do more shopping.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PhilippaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Annapolis Royal hotels

ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2008

1. Over charges:
Add 2.5%if you pay Credit Card
Add $10.00 for on line reservation
Add $7.50 for handling fee
Add $8.00 of each on 3rd adult and more

2. full charge if you cancel the reservation

3. No refund if you wanted to change the site

4. They sent us e-mail to confirm the reservation but did not mention about the over charges at all, when the time we arrived, we were shocked about the charge, almost double as we were confirmed.

5. Our RV hook system is on the back Left, we have to back our RV to our original signed site, since only one RV (us) there, so we decide change to the other site. They allowed to change but refused to refund us the difference.

During the dicussion, the attitude of the owner is I got you, I had your money. What else can you do?

6. Yes, they might have a good view, but you don't have to drive a long way to get there. You can find everywhere in the island.

Trust me, Horrible place.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank hwmliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2008

First off before I get into our experience at The Cove let me first say that we are a couple in 30's and early 40's who wanted a relaxing weekend away together. We love the outdoors and thought that we would like a change of scenery and camp by the ocean.

Upon booking at the campground we were told that as well as our $39.95Cdn fee per night to stay there would also be a $7.50 reservation fee. I have seen reservation fees when calling a 1-800 to reserve at a National or Provincial park but never one that was privately owned. When I asked if we could reserve a specific site they indicated that it would be an additional $5 fee. We opted against this. The $7.50 reservation fee and first night is automatically charged to a credit card.

Upon arriving the young girl at the desk was helpful and the additional second night was charged to our credit card. When we reached our site (which was a tent trailor site) we found the site to be very wide but not deep although the view was beautiful and looked out over the Bay of Fundy. We did find however that the sites were not laid out properly and one was directly across from another which didn't allow for alot of privacy. We set up and decided to enjoy our first evening there.

We walked down on the "very rocky" beach and did some exploring and watched the sunset which was also very nice. The tides at this place are crazy. They rise and fall very quickly and come up or go out very far.

Our troubles began when we returned to our site. Upon walking back to our site we noticed kids and adults hollering, running around everywhere and pretty much taking over the park. The sites directly across from us that were vacant when we left for the beach was now like something from "Daddy Daycare".

When checking in you are given two pages of rules that are to be adhered to. What we were witnessing was far from that. We tried to ignore the kaos going on around us but it was impossible to do. At 10:30pm that night the kids were still running around everywhere screaming and there was no campground employees to be seen anywhere enforcing quiet time. The adults were loud and obnoxious as well as drinking heavily and yelling at all the kids. This party occupied seven sites within our area.

We decided enough was enough and walked up to the office in hopes to find someone to complain to. One of the owners was there and told us that this party had already been spoken to twice and that she would again. The owner did speak with the party again but they didn't listen nor did the owner or any other employee of the campground make rounds to ensure that things had quieted down. At almost one in the morning we were still hearing horns and car alarms being set off as well as profanity from the adults. What was suppose to be a relaxing stay turned into a horrible experience.

The next morning at 9am sharp when the office opened we went back to the office to request a refund on our second night because we did not want to continue being subjected to this nonsense and have management do absolutely nothing about it. An employee at the front desk said to us with complete assurance that the owner's would not give refunds. She said that the only thing that may happen would be a possible credit towards another night's stay (well that won't happen).

We were very, very upset after spending over $100 up front for two nights but only received one very crappy night's stay. With all the rules and regulations they have in place none were enforced and in the end the rowdy campers within the seven sites won over and were allowed to stay and us who just wanted some peace and quiet and a relaxing weekend lose our money and were treated like we were the bad guys. We believe what it came down was that the owners felt they would make more money off keeping the rowdy bunch there then having to worry about us.

We cut our loses, packed up our site and left first thing that morning and headed to Keji National Park where we spent our second night and enjoyed ourselves immensely.

By the way, be sure to bring quarters if you do decide to stay at this campground. Along with your site charges, if you want to stay clean they charge 0.50 cents for a 6 minute shower and go early because there is only one of them.

On the upside Annapolis Royal is beautiful and just down the road from The Cove is a fish market where you can purchase lobsters, scallops and other fish. The prices are very reasonable and we enjoyed the best lobster and scallops we have had in a long time. All this while sipping our wine in a secluded wooded site at Keji.

My recommendation would be to skip this place all together and spend your money somewhere else. The scenery here is beautiful but who knows what you might encounter while staying there.

Happy Camping!

  • Liked — The scenery
  • Disliked — Management was a joke!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nsbeachbums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2008

Expensive...and every thing cost...showers... wood...visitors...extra adult, table pool pay by the hour.
Not permitted to burn wood from the beach... there is no written law on this...and they cannot legally keep anyone off the beach.... (The waterways and beaches belong to the government ).....so they can sell their junk wood with 2x2 cubes of wood...what a rip off.
Also they practically ran into my daughters car when she arrive to get their $10 stay over fee...extra tent on site...$25...extra car....$20.
Rude to my daughter when she arrived on our site..."Can I help you " in a nasty tone....then went on about parking fees...money to stay etc. And the free parking space they boast about is outside the gate...let the locals raid your car while the inside parking is empty.

This was my 4th trip back over the years...and my last....must be new owners...wonder if they are Americans...Oh and quiet hour at 10 pm...that is crazy. Guess the camp day ends early.
I will not be back unless their are new owners..they nickle and dime you to DEATH!!!!!!

It is a beautiful camp ground...but the owners are money hungry!!

Helpful?
8 Thank Camperdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Annapolis Royal
8.9 km away
Annapolis Royal Inn
Annapolis Royal Inn
#1 of 1 in Annapolis Royal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
2.0 km away
Mountain Top Cottages & Campground
Mountain Top Cottages & Campgrou...
#2 of 4 in Granville Ferry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
30.4 km away
Cliffside B & B
Cliffside B & B
#3 of 14 in Digby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
A Seafaring Maiden Bed and Breakfast
8.1 km away
Queen Anne Inn
Queen Anne Inn
#3 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
8.2 km away
Hillsdale House Inn
Hillsdale House Inn
#2 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cove Oceanfront Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cove Oceanfront Campground

Property: The Cove Oceanfront Campground
Address: 4405 Shore Road West | Parker's Cove, Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Annapolis Royal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Annapolis Royal
Number of rooms: 91
Also Known As:
The Cove Oceanfront Campground Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing