We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A welcome sight!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maritime Inn Antigonish

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maritime Inn Antigonish
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Antigonish
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
149 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A welcome sight!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

We had a long drive from Wolfville on a very rainy day in August and stayed at the Maritime Inn to visit St. FX University (which is magnificent). The location was easy to find within the picturesque town of Antingonish. There are lots of amenities within walking distance - i.e. banks, pharmacy, library, etc. We had a lovely large room on the second floor with two beds that had lots of room for our family of four (including two teenagers). The bathroom had a separate bath and toilet area and the sink was located just outside the bathroom. The toiletries were quite nice. We ordered room service which was prompt and delicious and ate downstairs in the restaurant for breakfast (about $60, including tip for the 4 of us).

Room Tip: If you like to park your vehicle in front of your room - you can request a first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fortitudeX4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    67
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
46
48
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2010

Not being at all familiar with Antigonish, we had researched several places for our stay and finally decided on the Maritime Inn. We were very glad we did!

Our newly renovated room was on the ground floor with parking outside the door. The room was spotlessly clean, spacious, with a very comfortable king size bed. We ate several meals at the Inn's "Mainstreet Cafe", and each time the service was friendly and the food was excellent. The Maritime Inn is ideally located in the heart of town on Main Street, where we enjoyed daily walks to browse the shops or grab a bite to eat. All in all, a great place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelpair55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

I had a very long trip to make to Antigonish from Alberta for a friend's wedding and I'm very glad I decided to stay here. I had been travelling for over 14 hours by the time I arrived. It was very hot and humid outside and to my relief the a/c had already been turned on for me upon opening my guest room door. My bed was extremely comfortable and my room spacious. Being an Executive Housekeeper I've made it a habit to thoroughly check rooms for cleanliness as soon as I arrive and to my relief the room was completely spotless. Getting ready for the wedding I needed a few cleaning rags to clean my shoes and they were immediately provided, however I did need a sewing kit and comb which they were not able to provide but very kindly directed me to a store that could sell them to me. Restaurant had an amazing breakfast and very friendly staff. My check in and checkout were completed flawlessly. Anyone planning a stay near Antigonish would do themselves a favour by staying here. For the rate I paid I think that I should have had a microwave in the room.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StevoCanmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2010

Apart from the annoying featherweight shower curtain that blows in against you, the cheap soap that dries out your skin, and the in-room coffee maker that only makes extremely weak coffee, it was okay. The receptionist when we checked in was very friendly and helpful. We didn't try the restaurant as there was a new place in town called the Prissy Pig which just opened that we are going to try for breakfast (to be in a future review).
With my CAA card we paid $119 for the night, and that's with three adults and two young children.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2010

My recent stay at this hotel was terrific. I was in one of the recently renovated, spotless rooms that featured: very comfortable soft leather chair, comfortable queen bed and pleasing, modern decor. It was very quiet, the staff were friendly and the food/service at the restaurant was great.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeD11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baddeck, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2010

The Maritime Inn on the main drag in Antigonish is great. From check-in to check-out we were pleasantly surprised. We don't often stay at hotels in this area as we live only 2 hours away, but we were attending a conference that spanned 3 days and it's nice to have a comfortable bed close by. We got one of the newly renovated rooms on the ground floor. The bed was just right and the high speed was wireless and free!

Dinner in their restaurant was great as well. There was a fellow playing the guitar there on Friday night, which I guess is a regular feature. The special the night we ate dinner there was a seafood pasta and it was awesome.

The staff was friendly, helpful and you never had to go too far to find someone when you need anything. All in all a great trip.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dom21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Antigonish
2.4 km away
Antigonish Evergreen Inn
Antigonish Evergreen Inn
#1 of 6 in Antigonish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
6.8 km away
Coastal Inn Antigonish
Coastal Inn Antigonish
#3 of 6 in Antigonish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.9 km away
Claymore Inn
Claymore Inn
#5 of 6 in Antigonish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Homeward Inns of Canada
Homeward Inns of Canada
#6 of 6 in Antigonish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
1.9 km away
Oasis Motel and Campground
Oasis Motel and Campground
#4 of 6 in Antigonish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
21.1 km away
Red Roof Bed and Breakfast
Red Roof Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in McArras Brook
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritime Inn Antigonish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritime Inn Antigonish

Property: Maritime Inn Antigonish
Address: 158 Main St, Antigonish, Nova Scotia B2G 2B7, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Antigonish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Antigonish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritime Inn Antigonish 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, contemporary lodging to suit your needs. Whether you're with us on business, or staying as part of your vacation, we're happy to offer a variety of accommodations to ensure a perfect fit. Enjoy our four star amenities with all the charms Antigonish has to offer. Our cozy, full service location in the centre of this bustling university town is within walking distance to campus, walking trails, shopping, theatre and special events. Choose from spacious double rooms, convenient drive-up rooms, Premiere rooms upstairs, or our 2 bedroom suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Maritime Inn Antigonish reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritime Inn Antigonish Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing