We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
32
28
15
4
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
32
28
15
4
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews off leash trails for hiking dog beach nova scotia enjoyed our stay would stay here again campers playground ferry halifax overflow
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 88 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2015

Part of a municipal park with a supervised beach on a small lake. The lake is part of a series that are connected by a historic canal bridging the Bay of Fundy to Halifax. Great for hiking and jogging. the Campground was well organized with good service. Washer/Dryers were available but not that great. Washrooms were basic but roomy and relatively clean. Fire pits and firewood were available

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Reinhard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2015

The staff and management at Shubie Park went above and beyond any of our expectations during our parents recent stay while our dad was having surgery. We are all forever indebted and grateful for their kindness and compassion during a difficult time for our family.
The Hartling Family.

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 19, 2015

We have stayed at Shubie several times over the past few years and will continue to return in the future. We have travelled across North America and have had some outstanding - and some horrible parks. Shubie is still one of our favorites. The staff are extremely helpful, knowledgeable and work hard to ensure all campers have an enjoyable experience. It is clean, well-kept and secure. Our site had beautiful trees and flowers. The location is fantastic, in the midst of Shubie Park, one of the most beautiful multi-purpose (walking, running, biking, paddling, tennis, swimming) parks you will find AND it is in the city. You are minutes from sightseeing in Dartmouth and Halifax, and have easy access to the highway.

Date of stay: May 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Momentum355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 17, 2015

My family's last stay at Shubie was for just under a week from June 30 to early July (2015). It was another enjoyable experience for us (we are in a motorhome, so we don't encounter a number of the challenges of a tenter).
In popping back in to Trip Advisor to update one of my previous reviews (and to see what other people enjoy about the park), I came across what I would have to characterize as a strident email regarding unfulfilled personal preferences.
We do not all visit camping parks for the same reasons. I camp at Shubie for the amenities available to me at a convenient place within the city. I like to have a fire in the evening, but my (age-mature) family's night ends about 9 or 10pm and we huddle/cuddle in the quiet enjoyment of a clear sky and (relatively) quiet surroundings. Shubie provides this for us and this peace is well-guarded by night staff (another reason we like to stay in this park).
Camping parks are like cruise ship lines in many ways - they have a certain demographic as the largest (and target) market. Anyone can stay, but not all will enjoy the style of the service.
Following the cruse line analogy, a party-all-night preference would travel on a Carnival Cruise ship (younger demographic), and others with more sedate tastes might prefer to travel on a Holland-America ship, or those with high end tastes may wish to sail on a Cunard vessel, like the Queen Mary 2 (if you didn't realize - they are all controlled by the same company - just for different markets).
Shubie Campground is a comfortable "Holland-America" style of park and I choose it because of that style.
We all sign off on the same facility rules when we check in, and the unfortunate reality is that some of the rules that chafe some visitors are in place because of campers who have left a legacy of requiring such a rule. It is not about 'you', but about the campground as a whole.
My family is booked in for two further periods this year. I look forward to seeing you in the campground (but not after 11pm).
regards,
A multi-year Shubie return-camper

Room tip: This is a campsite - it does not have rooms, but sites with various grades of amenities. You must bring your own room.
Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Sailor548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 17, 2015 via mobile

Campground is located in a nice setting with close proximity to amenities.Staff are all fantastic and help to make your stay enjoyable.Showers should be $1.00 as opposed to the present .50c,as loonies are easier to come by and the cleanliness of the bathrooms warrants.

Date of stay: July 2015
1  Thank Randy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews