We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
32
28
15
4
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
32
28
15
4
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews off leash trails for hiking dog beach nova scotia enjoyed our stay would stay here again campers playground ferry halifax overflow
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 88 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2016 via mobile

Great place within a treed park, we loved it! The spots are a little close, but the campground comes with so many other perks, it didn't matter to us. A heaven for dog owners/dogs and shoppers. Within walking distance are a lot of trails, many dedicated off-leash, and even a dog beach. Not to confuse with the kid's beach that obviously doesn't allow dogs. Also in walking distance is a huge shopping mall with numerous restaurants (on the other side of highway). Many stores are dog-friendly!

The card operated gate worked fine. Three washers and driers worked fine ($2.50/wash or dry). Washrooms were clean, the two showers had tiles and great water pressure, you get 3.5 minutes for 0.50$. More than enough for us! Playground, tennis court and baseball field close by.

Spots #77 and up seem to be the overflow spots, those are not too great since they are next to a gravel road that gets dry and dusty in the summer. Some traffic goes past there to the baseball field.

Anyway, all in all a great place to explore Dartmouth and Halifax. 4 instead of 5 stars since the spots are very close. But there are trees as well, which makes it nice.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Silke & Rolf T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi W, Public Relations Manager at Shubie Campground, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are happy you enjoyed your time at our campground, that you found it clean and that the prices were reasonable and that you found it was great for your pup! We look forward to welcoming you back again. The Shubie Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2016

Lovely area, the canal is a great area to visit. Did you know that you can travel 112 km from Banook Lake, thru the canal, several lakes and the Shubenacadia River to the Bay of Fundy. A three day canoe trip.

Date of stay: August 2016
Thank MFGiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2016

This review is for the free public beach and the trails.

Right in Dartmouth not known to many people is this hidden gem of a free public beach with lifeguards to boot. Water is clear. The beach is small but in great shape. The trails that go all around the campgrounds offer hiking, canoeing opportunities. Bring a bag of peanuts for the squirrels.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank SoyKabAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2016 via mobile

Seriously...
We are camping in the "rally area".
Uneven ground, 500m walk to showers and toilets, the park only has an uncontrolled dump station that is the favorite of the locals, and the "campsites" are on either side of the main road to the local ball diamond.
No internet at all, no security at night.

Avoid.

We would leave if they didn't already have our $140 for 3 nights, and it is the long weekend, so everything is now full. Wished I had read a review like this BEFORE booking here.

Pleasant girl at the front desk tho.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi W, Public Relations Manager at Shubie Campground, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2017

I am sorry you didn't enjoy your camping experience with us. We are an "urban campground" at the edge of a city park with lots of green space, access to a lake and full wifi and security. I am sorry it did not meet your expectations. I am happy to read that you found the staff friendly. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 9, 2016 via mobile

We have stayed at Shubie at least once a summer for the past number of years and it continues to be our favourite family spot! Our kids love to bike around and swim at the life guarded lake just a walk down the hill. Ice cream and fries always hit the spot from the canteen, and of course s'mores around the campfire! There is a "village" feel to it as you stroll through the camp ground. It's close to theatres and shopping for those rainy days (15 min walk). The park goes on and on for scenic walks! The staff always have a smile and are there to help! Can't wait for our next stay!

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews