We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
52
36
20
7
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
52
36
20
7
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walking trails off leash dog area camp manager bathrooms were clean downtown halifax laundry facilities campers rv tennis tenting motorhome sewer highway convenience ns
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 126 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2019

I don't usually leave bad reviews, but sometimes it's necessary. Shubie staff should take a course in customer service 101. We booked a Full Service site months ago. When we got there the site was only hydro and water only... apparently in Nova Scotia, Full Service means no sewer. The site next to us that had sewer service and was empty through most of our stay. We found the staff, they were cold and unyielding. When I asked what they were going to do about it, they had a "too bad, so sad" attitude. We could pay for showers at $1.00 for 4 MINUTES and pay for a pump out at $15.00. We planned this vacation for a long time and it started off on a very bad note. We couldn't wait to leave.

Date of stay: July 2019
2  Thank GrandTour48351307925
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi W, Owner at Shubie Campground, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am so sorry that this was your experience and that we were not able to accommodate you with a full service site for the duration of your visit. We are working very hard with our team to improve our customer service standards so that experiences like this never happens again. I hope you will accept my apology and give us the opportunity to host you again in the future and make it right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 30, 2019

Growing up in Halifax I loved the ferry. It's a cheap harbour cruise, and the easiest way to get to downtown Halifax. Parking is free, and the ferry is only about 10 minutes from Shubie Campground.

I recommend you get a card to open the gate if you're planning to have dinner in Halifax.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FromPictou
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi W, Guest Relations Manager at Shubie Campground, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2019

Thank you for your lovely review and for sharing these great tips with your fellow campers! We hope to see you back at the campground very soon.

~The Shubie Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 8, 2019

We are going to be staying here in our trailer. Just wanted to know how to find it before bringing our fifth wheel trailer. Came first tenting. Smaller campground with very hard ground. Friendly people working here. They provide lots of help and printed instructions. We took the bus, following provided instructions. Noisy campground because it’s downtown. Vehicles travelling all the time. Walking trails just outside the gate. Come and enjoy for yourselves. Only a few full hookup spots for trailers. Very clean washrooms and laundry facilities.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristi W, Guest Relations Manager at Shubie Campground, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2019

Thank you for your kind worlds. We pride ourselves on our friendly staff and clean washrooms. I am glad you were able to get around OK and that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to hosting you again this summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 27, 2018 via mobile

Beautiful trails flowing endlessly throughout this park by the canal, lakes, and throughout wooded areas. Smooth trails are easy to walk on--though they might be difficult for a wheelchair. Lots of dog walkers.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank johnbyl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2018

If you're looking for a campground very close to Halifax and convenient for visiting the city, this is perfect. Because it was super easy to take the bus to the ferry downtown, we decided not to bother driving our camper van into the city and take this fun adventure with our 5-year-old. On our way back, there was a nice restaurant right at the ferry dock that was the perfect ending to our day of touring.

The campground had a fine playground for our child, and if we had more time, we would have enjoyed swimming in the lake. Great value for being so close to Halifax!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AmaCQH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews