We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorry...busier than expected !”

Finbar's Portland Hills
Ranked #14 of 282 Restaurants in Dartmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 5 September 2017

I have given Finbars in Portland Hills high ratings in the past for food quality, value and service. On this last occasion, we waited 20 minutes to be seated ..less than estimated.We ordered in about 20 minutes and then waited approximately an hour for the meal.. My favourite meal at Finbars is fish and chips but,on this occasion ,it disappointed with fries that were a soggy and barely warm.
Since this pub has earned top marks in the past, it is to be hoped that this Labour Day visit was an isolated problem of inadequate staffing in the kitchen.
At the same time,the practice of donating 15% of the tab on this date to the leukemia and lymphoma society is a fine example of giving back to the community and hopefully an inspiration to other pubs.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Barrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinbarsIrishPub, Owner at Finbar's Portland Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Hi Barrie, thank you for giving us the benefit of the doubt after an unexpected experience with us. We agree that your wait time is unacceptable and we are confidently working toward ensuring this does not become a chronic problem. We truly hope you'll give us another shot at the Beer Battered Fish & Chips.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

Whenever we visit this place, an order of nachos is a must. Very tasty. Many delicious dinner options to choose from.

Thank Mark_L68_Habsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinbarsIrishPub, Owner at Finbar's Portland Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Hi Mark - we agree, our Finbar's Famous Nachos are the best! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

Finbar's is one of our favorite spots. We live very close by so we go there frequently. Food is excellent; décor is lovely, staff is helpful and friendly. It can get noisy at times with lots of people and loud music, but it's a very happy atmosphere. Also, an outside patio for those who enjoy the sunshine while eating.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 765glennab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinbarsIrishPub, Owner at Finbar's Portland Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Hi Glenna. Thank you for the kind words! We pride ourselves on our fabulous staff and we are grateful for your recognition. We hope you'll be in for a patio beer soon ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

We've been going to Finbars at least once a month since they opened in Portland Hills. Love the staff, food and atmosphere. We've never had a bad experience. I highly recommend the Dublin Club and onion rings.

Thank MrsRy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinbarsIrishPub, Owner at Finbar's Portland Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Yum, the Dublin Club! Thank you for the review, Marly. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

Why are the weekends gray and dreary? We went to Finbar's for lunch on Saturday. My partner had the Dublin Club and I ordered the Loaded Steak Sandwich. Typical pub fare, but elevated. All of the food at Finbar's has that little extra twist that makes it special.
The enthusiasm of the wait staff was enough to turn a dull, cloudy day into a good day out.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinbarsIrishPub, Owner at Finbar's Portland Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Wow John - we are delighted to have had the power to brighten your day :) We cannot wait for your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Finbar's Portland Hills also viewed

 
Dartmouth, Halifax Region
Dartmouth, Halifax Region
 

Been to Finbar's Portland Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing