We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It been awhile”

Finbar's Portland Hills
Ranked #16 of 312 Restaurants in Dartmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed October 13, 2017

I think this restaurant has great chooses and one of the best services I have ever receive when things when wrong and it was my fault the made all ever to fix and make up for it ...I love going her . They have Gluten free choices and the aim to pleases

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KAREN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinbarsIrishPub, Owner at Finbar's Portland Hills, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2017

Karen - we are so happy that our hospitable servers took great care of you! See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 128 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2017

After working all day, my husband & I decided that we didn't want to cook, so we decided on Finbar`s. What a great decision. The Boxtey of the day was a delicious Haddock, Leek & Red Pepper concoction in a Cajun Cream sauce. Absolutely fabulous! My husband had the Beer Battered Fish & Chips with a side of gravy- equally wonderful. For dessert we shared an incredible flour less Brownie with a Salted Caramel Sauce, complete with a scoop of vanilla ice cream & whipped cream. Divine- one of the best desserts we have ever had.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kellyholdsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinbarsIrishPub, Owner at Finbar's Portland Hills, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2017

Kelly - I am hungry just reading that! We are so grateful for your thorough review and look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 5, 2017 via mobile

We visited for dinner with 8 family members. The service was outstanding. .a server from Newfoundland. We ate steak and Guinness stew. .very tasty. Others had chicken curry and enjoyed it. Would definitely be back.

Thank EstherC996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinbarsIrishPub, Owner at Finbar's Portland Hills, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2017

Esther, thank you for the kind words. We are so happy you had such a wonderful experience. We are lucky to have some Newfies on the team - a couple of treasures! Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed another visit with our monthly lunch friends.
I enjoyed a new item on menu the potato skin pizza.
Another tried the new boxty offering.
Had a great server & was a nice experience for all.

Thank lynnsurette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinbarsIrishPub, Owner at Finbar's Portland Hills, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2017

Hi Lynn,
Thank you for the review. We are delighted that you enjoyed our Loaded Potato Skin Pizza, it's pretty new to the menu so it's great to have some feedback. Our servers are some of the best and we are happy you enjoyed your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed a great dinner and our Server was really good There was an issue in the kitchen and our food was slow coming but our server continually apologized and made it right with us in the end
I had daily Boxty which was very good. My husband had smoked salmon club sandwich and said it was a excellent

Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinbarsIrishPub, Owner at Finbar's Portland Hills, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2017

Hi Jane. Thank you for the feedback. We are happy to hear that your server worked diligently to resolve your issue and very happy that your food was delicious! We hope you and your husband will consider us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Finbar's Portland Hills also viewed

 
Dartmouth, Halifax Region
Dartmouth, Halifax Region
 
Dartmouth, Halifax Region
Dartmouth, Halifax Region
 

Been to Finbar's Portland Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing