We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfactory for one-night stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Digby
Vancouver
Level Contributor
103 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Satisfactory for one-night stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

This motel is very near the ferry to St John, NB and overlooks the bay. We had one of the lower motel units. The room was older-style, spacious, with a/c. We used the computer in the lobby(free) but did not use the indoor pool. Breakfast was a la carte, with a partial discount if you stay here. This place was OK.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    109
    52
    13
    7
See reviews for
90
100
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

We travelled with two children (2 and 6) and appreciated the convenience of parking outside the door to our room. The ocean view was fantastic; our children enjoyed spotting fishing boats and ferries. The dining room had a similar great view. Both the dining room and the pool were convenient to get to.

The toilet/bath and sink are in separate rooms and are quite tiny. The dining room service was slow, and like the motel, a bit overpriced. Would likely stay there again because of its family friendly features.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Long-lost-dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

the rooms were clean and it is close to the ferry. we tried to get breakfast but was told breakfast wasn't served after 10. asked what time it was and manager said 10;01. (honestly our watch said 9;58. it is not even a free breakfast, shows me poor customer relationship.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank perk722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pugwash, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed one night at the Digby Admiral Inn which overlooks the Bay of Fundy and offers breaktaking sea views. We had a standard room on the ground floor which had two queen sized beds, a coffee maker, tv, large bathroom, and a helpful binder of information about the facility and local attractions. Take the time to read this as you might find discounts available on admissions at the front desk. The motel is old and in need of some updates,personally I'd prefer no carpet in the bedroom,but it is clean and provides more than most, including an indoor heated pool, and a fabulous restaurant on site, above the front lobby. We really enjoyed our supper here, had the linguini, perfection, and were amazed they offered creme brule for dessert. The wine was fabulous too, it came from a nearby winery. I was a bit worried it would be noisy facing the parking lot but slept very well, the windows open, and that lovely sea breeze worked its charm. Next time we will try one of their cottages in back of the motel to give it more of a vacation vibe. We had a good breakfast there too, and were pleasantly surprised to get $6 off in coupons towards the cost with our room receipt. Overall excellent value, the owners are friendly too.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank westhoffen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynnwood, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

This is an older but well maintained motel/inn with some nice amenities - on-site restaurant (had some very good meals there), laundry facilities and a pool. The staff were very nice. We were in one of the upper rooms with a small balcony - well worth the extra cost to sit outside and watch the boats and birds. The room was quite large. The area was quiet. The location was very convenient for us as we visited sites north and south of Digby and access to the roads leading each direction were very accessible. The ferry from Saint John, which we took, is just down the road from the Inn.

Room Tip: Would definitely spend the money for a room with a balcony and view, especially if you're stayin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GEdmonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

Travelled 1100kms on Motorcycles today.We arrived at 2.30 am on the ferry , were greeted by Ian and Carol and shown to our room(sorry we were grumpy guys it was a long day) , they had turned the heat and lights on because they said it was a little chilly, room was very clean , a little retro , but thats what made this place cool. Scallop Omletts in the morning, rode around the area and visited secret sites thanks to Jacky and the ever on duty Carol. Supper in the evening was not Motel food, great little menu , met Tom the chef who is a Manchester United fan, its on his liscence plate, great place , lovely staff, and owners that really seem to want you to enjoy yourself.Best part $85 last night

Room Tip: Deluxes have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blandblond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Revelstoke, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2010

Hubby and I stayed at this great older Inn for two nights on our month long exploration of the Maritimes. We prefer to stay at Independant or family owned places vrs Hotel Chains.
The Admiral Digby is a two storey Inn all with beautiful views of the water. The first floor suites have two double beds and the second floor have one queen. The rooms are clean and spacious and include a TV,fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Bathrooms are European layout with tub and toilet in one room and sink with vanity in a separate area. Our Queen size bed was comfortable and the pillows good.
There is an on site-restaurant and lounge which is on the second level again beautiful views from the large windows. The service was not very good that night , the restaurant was full and only one waitress. There is also a laundry room with two washers and two dryers (coin operated).
It was easy to find and very handy for the sightseeing we were doing in the area. I would readily stay here again or recommend it to anyone touring in Nova Scotia.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janbo96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Digby
5.0 km away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#1 of 2 in Smith's Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
21.0 km away
Annapolis Royal Inn
Annapolis Royal Inn
#1 of 1 in Annapolis Royal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
3.6 km away
Coastal Inn Digby
Coastal Inn Digby
#6 of 7 in Digby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa
3.1 km away
Seawinds Motel
Seawinds Motel
#3 of 7 in Digby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
5.6 km away
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#2 of 14 in Digby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages

Property: Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages
Address: 441 Shore Rd | Nova Scotia, Digby, Nova Scotia B0V 1A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Digby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Digby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages overlooks the Digby Harbour and Bay of Fundy. All rooms and Cottages have an ocean view. We are rated 31/2*. We have an excellent Restaurant on site serving fresh homemade seafood, etc, lounge to relax and unwind, public laundry, indoor pool and very friendly staff. We are a minute drive from the Saint John/Digby Ferry. Whale watching, Beaches, Historical sites close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Digby Inn & Cottages Ltd Hotel Digby
Admiral Digby Inn And Cottages Ltd
Admiral Digby Inn And Cottages Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing