We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (789)
Filter reviews
789 results
Traveller rating
378
286
83
23
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
378
286
83
23
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main building boutique hotel halliburton house grand suite great location continental breakfast free parking no lift small hotel downtown halifax within walking distance mobility issues third floor yogurt boiled eggs nova scotia double bed
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 789 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2018 via mobile

Don't be fooled by the charming website pictures. This is not an updated downtown boutique inn its just OLD and very dated building.
There is no elevator in the inn which was a surprise to us and we had to carry our luggage to the second floor to our petite room.
The room and bed is hardly suitable for one person not to mention a couple.
The TV in the room is a 21 inch monitor which is hardly viewable even is the petite room.
The location is great and allow walking to the great selection of restaurants and pubs downtown Halifax has to offer.
The inn stuff is very friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank hcohen24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2018

A great location near the waterfront and the Maritime Museum and the downtown area. Large spacious room with sofa and chairs, decorated with a 1900s turn of the century look. Very clean and attractive with a modern bed mattress. Fantastic Breakfast the next morning can not be surpassed.

Room tip: The stairs are narrow and can challenge the elderly.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DayTriper20165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2018

We stayed in October. This is a historic set of 3 townhouses that have been converted to a hotel. As such, the rooms are not as big as more modern hotels but are adequate. The decor is well-maintained. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was quite small and the shower was ok. There is no individual temperature control - they did supply a fan in the closet, and the literature said there was a space heater there as well but we didn't find that. Breakfast was ok - light continental with some boiled eggs and sliced ham available. Parking was limited - they did provide a pass for the public parking lot nearby but that also meant that we had to go move the care in early morning or risk a fine, and that was not happy. The best part was being able to walk around the city once the car was finally situated.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suntracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2018

A convenient position for all the downtown sights of Halifax, it is within a 10 minute walk to the bars and restaurants of the Waterfront.
The staff were welcoming, our room was in the older building overlooking the street but we were not bothered by any noise. It was on the first floor and there is no lift but we were offered help with our luggage.
Breakfasts were adequate.
I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone planning a short stay in Halifax.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LadyGAxbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 10, 2018

The check-in process with friendly, helpful staff was quick and easy. This 3-building boutique hotel was reachable and within a 10 minute walk from the VIA train station. If you are opposed to climbing stairs and your room is not on the first floor of either of the 3 buildings, then this is not the place for you. The buildings are not interconnected; therefore, getting to your building/room with heavy or numerous pieces of luggage could be quite tedious, especially in inclement weather. The room itself was charming, spacious,clean and comfortable with vintage atmosphere. The continental breakfast was better than I expected with a wide range of selections. The location was ideal with quick access to both the waterfront and the downtown areas. Check the internet for room rates, as they do vary.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews