We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommended!”
Review of Waverley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waverley Inn
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Recommended!”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Just returned from 4 nights at the Waverley Inn and hope to return. It provided exactly what I value in a stay: clean, friendly staff, safe feeling for a solo woman, good housekeeping, good food, historic atmosphere, understated elegance, great location, free parking.

True - noise could be a problem, as the rooms have obviously retro-fitted wall partitions.
It seems that there is no elevator which could be a problem for some guests. One is informed of that situation when making a reservation directly by phone.

Room Tip: The rooms are a good value, at least in April. I do not know the summer rates. A guest noted that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gladwewent17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    208
    64
    12
    4
See reviews for
52
299
45
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed here for two nights and will be back whenever in Halifax. Friendly staff (including the housekeepers, who greet you in the mornings in the hallways), beautiful inn, free parking, free wi-fi, free breakfast, comfortable rooms with an historic vibe, and the location is perfect (downtown, near the waterfront). Prices are excellent. Really no downsides to the Waverley Inn, based on our experience. Book it. You'll enjoy it.

Room Tip: Room 122 is the Oscar Wilde room. He stayed there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gregglatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for one night. Very beautiful and historic inn (was most excited to read that Oscar Wilde once stayed here), and very comfortable and pretty (although smallish) room with nice private bathroom. Good free breakfast, free parking and wifi, and we very much appreciated the free hot tea/coffee and cake throughout the day/evening. We asked for and received a great recommendation from reception for a pub (The Henry House) 4 doors down where we had an excellent and reasonably priced dinner (boutique beers on tap). We also had a 5 minute walk to the harbour and 15-20 to the Citadel, with many restaurants around, so it is a fabulous location. There is also a big supermarket 5 minutes walk away. Only slight negative was a very noisy small bar fridge in our room which kept me awake in the night (and drops this rating down one star from what would otherwise be 5). Highly recommend.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cybermags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I'll admit I chose the Waverly mostly because of its close proximity to the wedding reception my partner and I were attending... But regardless, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this charming inn! Our room's decor managed to honour the heritage of the building with flair, while also offering all the modern amenities you could ask for. My favourite part was how the afternoon sun would filter through the gorgeous stained glass piece in the bathroom, making for a most relaxing jacuzzi bath after a long day of exploring downtown Halifax by foot. The staff were also very helpful with directions and were kind, even allowing us to peek into some of the other (unoccupied) rooms to view the stunning antiques and furniture. Finally, the location turned out to be better than I'd thought (having never travelled to Halifax) - it was within walking distance to several excellent restaurants and pubs.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Lovely old hotel, impeccable condition. Rooms are wonderful, high ceilings (1st floor), nice breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbtechnical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
128 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

You can't miss in Halifax with the Waverly Inn. That's if you enjoy homey, antique filled, honest, clean, happy, unusual, free parking, wifi, and walking distance to everything. Book the Oscar Wilde room to sleep where the legendary author slept. I loved it here but no hot tube, pool or bar. A great stay with simple breakfast. Great livingroom to sit and relax. It even had hot cider and scones in the hallway. Charming, charming and privately owned.

Room Tip: Oscar Wilde room to sleep where a legend slept.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shavian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Just returned from a few days at the Waverley Inn in Halifax. As you can see from the photos it is a beautiful Victorian hotel that still has a lot of charm and beauty. As you would have expected our room was filled with Victorian era furniture which was elegant and comfortable. The room included a flat screen tv with cable, refrigerator, full bathroom, and all the usual niceties. The bed was comfortable as we're the selection of pillows. The included morning breakfast was nothing fancy but filling. It included breads, bagels, muffins, cereal and a selection of hot foods such as French toast, ham, boiled eggs and pancakes. The staff were very friendly and helpful. One of the best features of the Waverley is its great location. There are great restaurants surrounding the Inn of a variety of cuisines from flatbreads to pub grub, two Thai restaurants to ribs and pizza. Places of interests including Pier 21, the Marine Museum, the Art Gallery of Noa Scotia, the Alexander Keith brewery, etc are a short walk away. The habour with all of its activities is likewise a ten minute walk. There is a full grocery store within ten minutes walk. Spring Garden Rd, which is about a ten minute walk, offers a number of stores for shopping.Fresh coffee and tea are always available in the lobby with occasional baked treats. The only drawback could be for people having difficult climbing stairs. Ask for a ground floor room. Great location, comfortable hotel, quiet area and very reasonable price. We will definitely stay here on our next Halifax visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanHOntario_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
The Halliburton
#6 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waverley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waverley Inn

Property: Waverley Inn
Address: 1266 Barrington St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1Y5, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > South End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#10 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waverley Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully restored and centrally located inn close to all of downtown Halifax's major attractions. Thirty-four antique-filled rooms all with en-suite bath, many with Jacuzzi. A non-smoking property offering free parking, continental-plus breakfast buffet and high-speed wireless. History and hospitality join hands at Halifax's Waverley Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waverley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waverley Hotel Halifax
Waverley Inn Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing